1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Computer Freezes - Drivers failed to load?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by shieldsr, 2009/07/21.

  1. 2009/07/21
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Hello,

    I was wondering if somebody could help me. Around 2 weeks ago, my computer froze on startup - I managed to log into Windows, and then around 30 seconds later my computer froze and became unresponsive.

    I can now only start my computer in safe mode, and when I looked into Windows Error Reporting I see that when I'm trying to start my computer the following drivers are failing to load - Fips, intelppm, SAVRT, SYMTDIF.

    I recently started a thread in the Security section believing it to be a malware problem.The link to my thread is here:

    http://www.windowsbbs.com/malware-virus-removal/85380-active-suspect-virus-drivers-failed-load.html#post465918

    Now I believe most of my malware issues to have been resolved, so I have been directed to start a thread here in order to fix my remaining Windows issues.

    Any help/advice that can be given would be very much appreciated.
     
  2. 2009/07/22
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    As far as I can tell from searching the net, my problems with SYMTDI and SAVRT are problems with my Symantec antivirus software. Intelppm is the driver for my processor I believe Fips is something to do with hard drive partitioning.

    Any ideas as to what I can do next anybody? Please?
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2009/07/23
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    There are several approaches to solving this problem. but it will be a case of trial and error .....

    First I would check out the hard drive using the manufacturer's disk diagnostic software .....

    Disk Diagnostic Software ....

    ExcelStore

    Hitachi/IBM

    Samsung

    Seagate, Maxtor, Quantum

    Western Digital

    If the drive gets a clean bill of health the next step is to run System File Checker - I am not certain that this checks .sys files, but worth a try. Can be run in Safe Mode ....

    Start > Run > sfc /scannow > Enter - you need an installation CD at the same Service Pack level as the OS on the hard drive - a Recovery CD will not suffice.

    You could try uninstalling Norton and removing all traces using the Norton Removal Tool

    Fips.sys is a Windows Crypto driver, presumably related to drive encryption.

    Bottom line is that the best solution may be a Repair of XP for which you require a retail CD, not a Recovery CD and a full backup of all your data as insurance - you should have this anyway :)
     
  5. 2009/07/23
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Is there any way of finding who manufactures my hard drive without opening my case? I've done a google search but no luck so far.
     
  6. 2009/07/23
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
  7. 2009/07/23
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    ^Thanks for the help!

    I have a Seagate Barracude 7200.9 80GB. I've downloaded SeaTools for Windows, but I cant install it. I double click the setup icon, but a Windows Installer dialog box pops up and tells me that "The system administrator has set policies to prevent this installation ".

    Back to square one :mad:
     
  8. 2009/07/23
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Not exactly, download Seatools for DOS - read the tutorial and boot from the CD or floppy you make.
     
  9. 2009/07/24
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Right, managed to buy some CD-RW's today and I have just run Seatools. Did both a short and long scan, and Seatools tells me that my hard drive passed without needing any sort of repair etc.

    Is my next step to now check the system files? Is it possible to do this without having an XP cd? I do not have one of these unfortunately, where would the best place to get one be?

    Many thanks for your help so far.
     
  10. 2009/07/24
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Running System File Checker with out access to an installation CD of the same Service Pack level is not possible - I wonder if you have a friend with one?

    Let's take another approach - does your computer have a Recovery Partition - if you have access to the manual look for System Recovery. At this stage please simply respond yes or no - take no action in this respect.

    If you have means of recovering the computer to the as delivered state this would be the most ecconomical way of dealing with this problem - Win XP installation CD's are becoming scarce as you might imagine - Dabs have some and there are offers on eBay.
     
  11. 2009/07/29
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    From a PM ....
    Yes - that should work .....

    Slipstreaming Windows XP Service Pack 2 and Create Bootable CD

    Slipstreaming Windows XP Service Pack 3 and Create Bootable CD

    You will need to slipstream SP2 first, then SP3 - there is no need to burn the SP2 slipstreamed CD.

    The slipstreamed SP3 CD should also enable you to make a repair install of XP if necessary - you must use your COA of course - should be on a label on the case.
     
  12. 2009/08/05
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Hello again,

    Finally received my XP SP1 cd, and have downloaded the SP2 updates as per the instructions on the link you posted. I have also copied the contents of the CD onto my hard drive.

    Now I am having problems with Command Prompt, I'm quite unfamiliar with this. Been many years since I have used anything like this. I'm trying to follow the instructions on the link as best I can, I have set up the folder names etc to be identical - but I am still getting stuff like this.

    :confused:
     
  13. 2009/08/05
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Apologies, I have managed to do this now. I did not know that you can simply drag and drop folders into the Command Prompt window. A useful tip for novices!
     
  14. 2009/08/05
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Having some more problems now. Sorry about this. I have downloaded the SP3 updates provided in the link, and started the Slipstream process like normal. However, the files begin to extract like normal, until a window pops up that has Windows XP SP3 setup Switches at the top. It has an OK box at the bottom, which i have clicked, but then the integrate process ends. Thats all that happens. I'm bamboozled.

    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2447/3792493478_29ff266a8a.jpg

    Edit again: Apologies yet again, I was typing in the Command Path incorrectly. Using \ instead of / in integrate:D:/XP-CD

    Sorry.
     
    Last edited: 2009/08/05
  15. 2009/08/05
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Would you please confirm that you successfully slipstreamed SP2 into XP SP1 as a first step.
     
  16. 2009/08/05
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Yes, I have now slipstreamed SP2 and then SP3. I am now having problems creating a bootable cd. NTI CD & DVD maker isn't really helping me at the moment.
     
  17. 2009/08/05
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Try ImageBurn - often recommended here and freeware :)
     
  18. 2009/08/05
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I have now created a XP SP3 cd using NTI, I'm hoping that it will work okay.

    Is the next step now to run System File Checker as you previously mentioned? This won't reinstall Windows completely will it? Erasing my files and programs etc?

    Thanks.
     
  19. 2009/08/05
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Yes
    Not at all - System File Checker checks only the System Files and replaces them if necessary from the dll cache or from the instal CD.
     
  20. 2009/08/05
    shieldsr

    shieldsr Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/07/08
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Lancaster, England
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Tried running System File Checker and I'm getting an error. Its telling me that "The RPC server is unavailable ".

    Error code 0x000006ba.

    Any idea what I should do next?
     
  21. 2009/08/05
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    If this is the message you are seeing ......
    This happens if the Windows File Protection (WFP) is disabled in the registry - according to here The article points to a registry edit to enable Windows File Protection - fortunately - for you :) - a reg file is provided.

    Download sfcenable.zip and save it to your hard drive, unzip it and you will have a .reg file - sfcenable.reg. Right click on it > Merge and the info will be written to the Registry.

    I have no idea if this will resolve the problem or not, but try running System File Checker again.
     

Share This Page