1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved [Windows Media Player: Trying to play a CD and DVD, noting happened...]

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by kevinjustine, 2013/05/23.

  1. 2013/05/23
    kevinjustine

    kevinjustine Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/11/18
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    beginner
    [FONT= "Tahoma"][/FONT]Hello again. . Well I did it one more time. I recently tried to play a CD and then a DVD, both times noting happened. When I looked at the E drive the display showed 0 bytes free 0 bytes found. I tested both disks, on my wife's laptop, and both did what they were supposed to do. I am trying to use Windows Media Played that came with Win7. I have no earthly idea what happened or what I can do to fix the problem. In the past your help allowed ne to fix the problems and educated me.
    :confused: Please help :(
    Thanks
    Kevin
     
  2. 2013/05/23
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Seems like a hardware & not a software problem to me.

    Your DVD drive is not working properly. Before doing anything, try cleaning it with a cd cleaner disk.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2013/05/23
    kevinjustine

    kevinjustine Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/11/18
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    beginner
    RSINFO. . . I'll pick up CD cleaner disk and give it a try.

    T
    Thank you
    Kevin
     
  5. 2013/05/23
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
  6. 2013/05/24
    kevinjustine

    kevinjustine Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/11/18
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    beginner
    I purchased and tried to run a laser lens cleaner. The instruction said to click "Play" when it appears on ther monitor. Nothing appeared. After reading Doc's suggestion I attempted to use the disk. I copied a CD into the system and then wrote it back to disk. This was successful. This leads me to believe that I have a software problem. Is there anyway to run a test on the software? If it is bad how can I download new software?

    :confused:Kevin
     
  7. 2013/05/24
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Windows Media Player 12 is included in the Windows 7 "Starter ", "Home Premium ", "Professional ", "Ultimate ", and "Enterprise" editions.

    To check and see if it's enabled, click the Start orb, type in appwiz.cpl and press [Enter]. Click the "Turn Windows features on or off" link. Click the little [+] (plus sign) next to "Media Features" and then make sure the little box next to "Windows Media Player" is checked/ticked.
     
  8. 2013/05/24
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi Kevin. To make sure that Windows Media Player is set up properly to play DVD's, download and install the K-Lite Codec Pack Standard 9.9.0.

    See if Windows Media Player is able to correctly play DVD's after installing that codec pack.
     
  9. 2013/05/24
    kevinjustine

    kevinjustine Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/11/18
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    beginner
    1. Windows Media Player is checked.
    2. I downloaded K-Lite Codec Pack Standard 9.9.0 and sorry to say I had the same result when I tried to play a CD. After installing 9.9.0 a screen came up and said a 9.9.4 is available. Should I have downloaded 9.9.4?


    :confused:Kevin
     
  10. 2013/05/25
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    No, the 9.9.0 version is the latest one that is out now. There is no need to install a later version at this time.

    I would try running the Fix It program in this link and see if it restores your functionality with being able to read DVD's and CD's, Fix problems with CD or DVD drives that can’t read or write media.
     
  11. 2013/05/25
    kevinjustine

    kevinjustine Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/11/18
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    beginner
    Evan I ran the Fix It program. The message said the Media in the CD/DVD is not readable. I checked the CD on my wife's laptop and it played. I'm starting to feel very embarrassed about this problem. Beside using this PC as an anchor is there a next thing to try?

    :confused:Kevin
     
  12. 2013/05/25
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
  13. 2013/05/25
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    It sounds to me like the CD/DVD drive has failed and you will have to get it replaced. Follow SpywareDr's link and you can buy a replacement CD/DVD drive.
     
  14. 2013/05/26
    kevinjustine

    kevinjustine Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/11/18
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    beginner
    Evan / Doc I ordered a new CD/DVD drive this morning. I I'm going to leave this open until I get one of my sons to install the drive . I'll close it then and tell how great it works.

    Kevin
     
  15. 2013/06/06
    kevinjustine

    kevinjustine Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/11/18
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    beginner
    I just received the new CD/DVD burner. However one if my sons bought me a new Desktop. My burner problem was solved by throwing money at it.

    Thank you
    Kevin
     
  16. 2013/06/06
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Cool son. Enjoy your new Desktop! :)
     
  17. 2013/06/06
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Thanks for the update. :)
     
  18. 2013/06/06
    kevinjustine

    kevinjustine Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/11/18
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    beginner
    Thanks Doc, but do you have any suggestions how I can turn back the clock of progress? I've done a lot of "research" and It appears to be just to big a change for me to absorb in one bite.

    Kevin
     
    Last edited: 2013/06/06
  19. 2013/06/07
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    OMG, he didn't get you a computer running Windows 8 did he? :mad:

    If so,
    1. I take back that "Cool son" . . . ;)

      and

    2. If possible, replace Windows 8 with Windows 7,

      or if you don't want to spend any money, replace it with Zorin OS.
     
    rsinfo likes this.
  20. 2013/06/07
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Cool. Specially that Zorin part.
     
  21. 2013/06/08
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    :) It's on my keychain.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page