1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

[Windows ME: How do I connect DSL?]

Discussion in 'Legacy Windows' started by APRIL228, 2008/08/31.

1. 2008/08/31
    APRIL228

APRIL228 Inactive Thread Starter

i have dsl hooked up on my Windows XP. but i also have another computer its a Windows ME, im wanting to unhook my dsl from my Windows XP and hook it up to my Windows ME so i can get my pictures and things off of it, but i dont know what computer adjustments i have to do to get it to work because the Win.ME has never had dsl hooked up on it. so if anyone can help i would highly appreciate it. thanks so much...

p.s im new at this.....:eek:

Last edited: 2008/08/31
  2. 2008/08/31
    dlsayremn

dlsayremn Inactive

Several questions. Information will make it easier to help.

!. Do you just want move your pictures and files from the ME to XP computer or do you want to upload them to a site on the internet?

2. What make/model dsl modem do you have? (modem/router)

3. Is your dsl connection ethernet?

4. Do you have an ethernet card in the ME machine?

5. Is your dsl modem wireless capable?

There are several possiblities depending upon what you have.

1. If you have ethernet card on the ME and your dsl modem connects by ethernet, you should be able to just plug the cable from the modem into the ethernet connection on the ME and get to the internet. You may have to go into Internet Options and make some changes if you have used the ME for dial-up.

2. If you have ethernet on ME and more than 1 ethernet connector on the modem (modem/router}, you can connect the ME with a second ethernet cable. This will let you share the dsl connection, and you can set up your own home network. This will allow you to transfer files from one computer to the other.