1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Strange issues with admin rights in Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Lukeno1, 2015/09/05.

  1. 2015/09/05
    Lukeno1

    Lukeno1 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/02/06
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    So, like a lot of people, I've upgraded to Windows 10. However, one annoying thing I've noticed is that there seem to be a lot of games that have some kind of issue with administrator rights. This seems to be a trend for a lot of games made in the period from around 2001 to 2006 or so, although it is far from affecting every single game. Examples of affected games include Football Manager 2005, Need for Speed Underground and ToCA Race Driver 3 - so it's not just one publisher or developer either. A couple of games have this issue fixed by installing official patches that came out years ago, but most of the time, this is not the case.

    Basically, when you go to run an affected game, you will get an error message that says "Access denied - Please login with administrator privileges and try again ". Forcing the game to run in said mode will result in nothing happening at all, and compatibility mode does not work either. Needless to say, this account is an administrator, and there are no other accounts on the system (which is the one in my system specs.)

    This issue has persisted from the initial upgrade install, to a clean install over the top of that installation, and a totally fresh installation on a wiped SSD. I believe I've also encountered this on my Windows 10 Home laptop. I've also tried creating other user accounts without success. Needless to say, I'm completely stumped at this point. Does anyone have any ideas as to how I can fix this, and indeed, has anyone else experienced this?
     
  2. 2015/09/05
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi Lukeno1. This issue that you are describing affects all versions of Windows starting with Windows Vista. Unless you have completely disabled User Account Control, Windows doesn't run programs with full administrator privileges unless you explicitly run that shortcut as an administrator.

    I've played older games that were designed to run on Windows XP and the solution to make them run properly regarding giving them administrator privileges was to right click on the games shortcut, click on properties, then on the shortcut tab click the advanced button. When the advanced properties window opens select the checkbox that says Run as administrator and click on Ok. Click on Ok again to close the properties window. Now the game should run with administrator privileges.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2015/09/05
    Lukeno1

    Lukeno1 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/02/06
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    UAC has been fully disabled, and I think you've missed the fact that I've already tried to force the games via the administrator privileges mode with no success. These games also all worked perfectly on Windows 7, I should point out.
     
  5. 2015/09/05
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
  6. 2015/09/05
    Lukeno1

    Lukeno1 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/02/06
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks for the suggestion, sadly it didn't work though. Same old issue as before.
     
  7. 2015/09/06
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    You aren't the only one experiencing this problem. Did you check their website to see if there is a patch available. There are later versions of the game available.
     
    lj50,
    #6
  8. 2015/09/06
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
  9. 2015/09/06
    Lukeno1

    Lukeno1 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/02/06
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    A couple of games I've been able to apply in-period patches and get them going, but all of these games are way too old to have any kind of continued support (particularly when they're games published by the likes of EA and Microsoft - yep, some MS "Madness" games suffer this as well, as do the original AoE II and Rise of Nations IIRC.) I have looked though.

    I'll have to give that a go in the morning.

    EDIT: Nope, that doesn't work. It removes the "you need admin rights" message, but it still results in nothing happening, even with compatibility mode. Which is bizarre, because these games worked perfectly on 7 and I believe many of them worked for people with 8/8.1 as well.
     
    Last edited: 2015/09/07
  10. 2015/09/21
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    On your main user account, try setting UAC to the default setting and see if you can launch your games properly. I've seen issues with programs not running properly if UAC is completely disabled so that would be the next suggestion that I would try.
     
  11. 2015/09/21
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Have you shut down the comp and re-booted after each change you made? Neil.
     
  12. 2015/09/22
    Lukeno1

    Lukeno1 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/02/06
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Turning UAC back on doesn't make any difference (indeed, given that my anti virus software seems to have a habit of re-enabling it, it was probably enabled at some point anyway.) I'll try rebooting with it enabled, but I'm not hopeful (I think I have rebooted after doing at least some of the potential fixes).
     
  13. 2015/09/24
    jakrooster

    jakrooster Inactive

    Joined:
    2015/09/24
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi, I had the same issue trying to boot up FM2006 on my Windows 8 machine. Turned out a windows update released earlier this month called KB3086255 was the culprit and has been affecting Windows 8 and 10 machines. "KB3086255 basically disables secdrv.sys which is an anti-piracy copy protection that is used by many games developers and some other software companies. The driver, secdrv.sys, is used by games which use Macrovision SafeDisc. Without the driver, games with SafeDisc protection would be unable to play on Windows. "

    For interest you can see the whole conversation here http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...y/8d917d95-1271-413e-8bde-871bdaa4d343?page=4

    Just pop into windows updates, look for the update and uninstall it, it worked for me.
     
  14. 2015/09/26
    Lukeno1

    Lukeno1 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/02/06
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hmm, good call, but I don't seem to have that update; at any rate, I was observing this issue in August (or pretty much day one of having the OS) - and a Google search has revealed that this was the case for others. I definitely concur that it may be my issue (because it fits perfectly with the fact that a no-CD crack fixes the issue) - I tried to force the secdrv service to start via an elevated command prompt, but I got the message "this driver has been blocked from loading" (even after setting it to auto-start).

    Apparently, this was a deliberate move by Microsoft to block the "unsafe" old DRM methods (no matter that they used the same things themselves, of course). This is a pretty boneheaded move from Microsoft, given that they were supposed to have fixed the security issues related to Securom/SafeDisc years ago, and it would be very unlikely for modern hackers to target these things. I do hope someone comes up with a workaround that actually works (without relying on no-CD cracks that can be hard to find) - the ones I've seen don't.
     
    Last edited: 2015/09/26
  15. 2015/10/01
    Negris

    Negris Inactive

    Joined:
    2015/10/01
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I am having the same issue. Post Football Manager 2005 was when the game started to go downhill so this is still the version I play. Just not now because of Windows10. All the same problems as above and tried everything mentioned. This is the only thread I can find discussing this.
     
  16. 2015/10/01
    Lukeno1

    Lukeno1 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/02/06
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    The only solution right now is to find a no-CD crack, but obviously that's not really a 100% suitable solution.
     
  17. 2015/10/01
    broni

    broni Moderator Malware Analyst

    Joined:
    2002/08/01
    Messages:
    21,483
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Daly City, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
  18. 2015/10/04
    Negris

    Negris Inactive

    Joined:
    2015/10/01
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Not sure where to find one of them.
     
  19. 2015/10/04
    broni

    broni Moderator Malware Analyst

    Joined:
    2002/08/01
    Messages:
    21,483
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Daly City, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Did you try my advice?
     
  20. 2015/10/04
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    @ Negris ....
    You will not get any help on this on the BBS - Posting Rules #10
     
  21. 2015/10/04
    Lukeno1

    Lukeno1 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/02/06
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    broni: the take ownership trick isn't going to work here, since it's a particular dll that Microsoft have disabled for a fairly bogus reason.

    Negris: Google is your friend, and I'll say no more than that.
     

Share This Page