1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Network magic shows no connection, but I am on the net

Discussion in 'Other PC Software' started by mhguda, 2014/10/11.

  1. 2014/10/11
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    Hi,
    I have been running network magic for years, and all of a sudden it shows I'm not connected to the internet, the LAN shows fine. But I AM connected!
    It also shows that Network magic may think you are unconnected if your firewall settings are set up incorrectly. And that seems to be the issue.
    I run Norton Internet security (also for years) and it has, I think, disabled the windows firewall. I cannot now, for example, get Online help from Microsoft - I cannot connect to the server.
    I thought maybe the Norton firewall was not permitting Network Magic to connect, but when I try to add it to the programs that are allowed, Norton crashes.
    I think I have one problem that manifests as multiple issues, but I have no idea how to resolve it... can anyone help me?

    TIA.
     
  2. 2014/10/11
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Upon installation NIS does indeed disable the Windows Firewall. Are you connected wireless or wired.
     
    lj50,
    #2

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2014/10/11
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Use Windows System Restore to roll Windows back to a point in time when your computer was functioning correctly. It allows you to undo system changes without affecting your personal files, such as e-mail, documents, or photos.


    If that doesn't help, try restoring an earlier system image or backup.
     
  5. 2014/10/11
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    lj50: I am connected wired. This only happened yesterday, before that, I had no problems with the firewall or network magic. And my connection is still functioning, although something prevents me from accessing Microsoft online help.
     
  6. 2014/10/11
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    spywaredr: I want to understand first what happened and undo it if at all possible, before rolling back to an earlier system date. I am not too conscientious about maintaining system backups, so not sure if that will do what I want...
     
  7. 2014/10/11
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    A simple System Restore doesn't take more than maybe a couple of minutes.
     
  8. 2014/10/12
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Have you tried resetting your ISP's modem? If not. Preform a normal shut down of your computer. Unplug the modem for 30 seconds to one minute. Plug the modem in and let it reboot completely. After the modem reboots start the computer. Try to connect to the internet. http://www.ehow.com/how_7448910_troubleshoot-network-magic.html
     
    Last edited: 2014/10/12
    lj50,
    #7
  9. 2014/10/12
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced

    A stray photon, on it's way from the Sun out to Pluto, whizzed right through your equipment and flipped a bit?

    Believe it or not, it could happen. :)
     
  10. 2014/10/12
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    I have tried all the suggestions. Reset the ISP's modem (I do that routinely every day because I shut the whole system down at night). There was no difference in how the system performed.
    Restored the system to a previous day when everything worked normally. When I did this, the problem remained. I reverted to a still earlier day - and then could not connect to the internet at all! I therefore undid the restores. I am back where I started.
    I thought the last Microsoft updates, which were dated 9 october and 1 october, were the culprits. I uninstalled the october 9 update. It made no difference. But I still cannot connect to a Microsoft server, so I also cannot reinstall the update.
    I do know for a fact that prior to october 9, my system was working normally.
     
  11. 2014/10/12
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Will it connect in Safe mode with networking?
     
  12. 2014/10/12
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    Will try that next.
     
  13. 2014/10/12
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    No, I have the same problem in safe mode. The internet connection is active, but I cannot get online help from Microsoft.

    Additionally, the internet connection troubleshooter cannot find a problem.
     
    Last edited: 2014/10/12
  14. 2014/10/12
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    What is the URL to the Microsoft website that you cannot access?
     
  15. 2014/10/12
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    I don't have the problem using a browser - then I can access Microsoft's web site. But when I try to get online help using the Help system, or connect to the update server using Windows update, I get a message that says I'm not connected.
     
  16. 2014/10/12
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,884
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi mhguda, It always makes it easier to give help if we know your System Details. :confused:;)
    What OS you use and the equipment model and brand. Please take the time to fill in at UserCP > Edit System Specs.
    Don't forget to scroll to the bottom of the page and SAVE before you close out. Cheers Neil. :)
     
  17. 2014/10/12
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    1) Who's online help system: Windows, Word, Excel?

    2) Windows update for: XP, 7, 8?
     
  18. 2014/10/12
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    So far, only tried Windows. Update for Windows 7 64bit. Home premium.
     
  19. 2014/10/12
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,884
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    This is from a Review of the above and I have to ask, Has the Wizard been of any help to you.

    In answer to your question about the PSU:http://pcsupport.about.com/od/componentprofiles/p/p_ps.htm
    This is a unit that would be the biggest and heaviest single unit in your computer. It has to supply adequate voltages for all the requirements of your system. Neil.
     
    Last edited: 2014/10/12
  20. 2014/10/12
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    In the past, Network Magic solved connectivity problems for me and was always successful.
    But it has been bought by Syslink and put out to pasture, no support is available anymore, and right at this juncture, it tells me it cannot solve my problem.
    However, I'm starting to think it may be a Network Magic problem after all. Just now, an icon popped up: Windows Update notifying me that two updates are available - the very ones I uninstalled earlier, when trying to restore the system to an earlier point in time. Maybe I was not able to reach Microsoft because of something server-side.
    I did make one change: I changed the primary DNS from OpenDNS to my local ISP (using a fixed IP address) - not sure if this contributed. Network Magic still says I'm disconnected. Which obviously I am not.
     
  21. 2014/10/13
    mhguda

    mhguda Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/04/19
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    Short update: I could install the Windows Updates, but still can't connect to Windows Online Help. Situation thus far unchanged.
     

Share This Page