1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Lost disk drive

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lynn1102, 2016/08/03.

1. 2016/08/03
    lynn1102

lynn1102 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

I have an XP Pro machine the works great. I need it cause I'd have to spend over 1K to upgrade all the software. I've been using the same configuration for several years with no problem. The other day, while booting up, I got a real quick flash of a message that went too fast to read. When it finished booting, my one disk drive didn't show up. Rebooted and same thing without the message. The drive shows up in bios, it shows up during the boot sequence, and it shows up,with no problem, in device manager. It does not show up on my desktop. This is a sata 1 terabyte drive and has worked for years.
    Today I picked up a new drive and get the same problem - drive is everywhere except the desktop. I tried switching cables and replacing cables with no luck. With sata there are no jumpers to worry about. I tried safe mode and get the same results. I'm missing something, but don't know what.

My systen is: Win XP Pro, 4 core AMD chip, 8 gig memory. Disk drives all sata; Drives c and d partitioned on the same drive, also have drives F and G, and dvd burners E and H. Missing drive should be I. So I have 4 physical disk drives, one with two partitions, and 2 dvd burners. There are 6 sata connectors on the mother board, so no doubling up.

2. 2016/08/03
    retiredlearner

retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

Do you mean My Computer icon?

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2016/08/04
    lynn1102

Not sure what you mean here. When I open my computer, it shows three disk drives and 2 burners, but does not show the 4th disk drive.

5. 2016/08/04
    Arie

Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

6. 2016/08/04
    lynn1102

7. 2016/08/04
    retiredlearner