1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved IE 11, Empty Tab

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by boyracer, 2014/01/06.

  1. 2014/01/06
    boyracer

    boyracer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/12/11
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    beginer
    I've recently begun to experience a new problem with my IE 11 on this computer only.

    An example would be clicking on the FAQ link for this section. I'll get the new tab but, no content.

    My other computers are unaffected by this. I believe I may have accidently disabled or enabled a feature that would cause this. I've searched all my settings and have been unable to resolve this.

    Is there a place I should look that would have a setting for this?
     
  2. 2014/01/06
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi boyracer. Try this, click Start< type Command Prompt. In the search results right click on Command Prompt and select Run as administrator.

    When the Command Prompt window opens type regsvr32 C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\ieproxy.dll and hit enter.

    You should get a confirmation that registering the dll file succeeded. Reboot the computer for the changes to take effect and see if that solves the problem.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2014/01/06
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
  5. 2014/01/06
    boyracer

    boyracer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/12/11
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    beginer
    Neither of the methods above worked.

    Using the Command Prompt brought the following response: binary c:\program failed to load

    I reset the IE settings as suggested and that failed also.
     
  6. 2014/01/07
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Did you try Start IE 11 Go to Menu Bar\Tools\Internet Options\Tabs. When a new tab is opened, open: You get three options. 1. A blank page. 2. A new tab Page 3. Your first home page. Choose one option click OK then click Apply and OK. I hope this is what you are looking for.
     
    lj50,
    #5
  7. 2014/01/07
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced

    Because that path contains one or more spaces, try the command:

    regsvr32 "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\ieproxy.dll "

    instead.



    You might try using Windows' "System Restore" to roll Windows back to a previous state when your computer was functioning correctly. System Restore allows you to undo system changes without affecting your personal files, such as e-mail, documents, or photos.
     
  8. 2014/01/07
    boyracer

    boyracer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/12/11
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    beginer
    Windows Restore was the first thing I tried.

    I tried the command regsvr32 "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\ieproxy.dll" and I got the same response.

    I then looked into Windows Explorer to see if ieproxy.dll was present and it was. Then I went into local services to see if I had accidently turned something off. But, I didn't see any way to restore my missing function.

    After resetting IE I no longer have the toolbar across the top of the browser page.
     
  9. 2014/01/07
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Right click the top of the web page right next to the address bar and select Menu Bar.
     
    lj50,
    #8
  10. 2014/01/08
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    How is IE11 performing now after resetting it? Is it still the same?
     
  11. 2014/01/08
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced

    Try this:
    1. Using your mouse, highlight the entire following red command:
      regsvr32 "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\ieproxy.dll "​
      then right-click the highlighted command and select "Copy ".

    2. Click the Windows 7 Start orb, right-click in the "Search programs and files" box, select "Paste ", press the [Enter] key and you should get a little "RegSvr32" pop-up stating:

      Code:
      DllRegisterServer in C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet 
      Explorer\ieproxy.dll succeeded.
     
  12. 2014/01/09
    boyracer

    boyracer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/12/11
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    beginer
    I entered this line as copied from the above post.
    regsvr32 "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\ieproxy.dll
    The result was the same
     
  13. 2014/01/09
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Does the file "ieproxy.dll" exist in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer" folder on your system?
     
  14. 2014/01/10
    boyracer

    boyracer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/12/11
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    beginer
    ieproxy.dll does exist and it shows as having been modified on 11/26.2013 at 1:22 AM EST
     
  15. 2014/01/10
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Okay, then let's try this:

    1. Click the Windows 7 Start orb, type in:

      cmd

      and press [Enter].

    2. At the command prompt, type:

      cd /d "c:\program files (x86)\internet explorer "

      and press [Enter]. Your command prompt should now look like this:

      C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer>

      If not, type "exit" without the quotes to close the CMD (command) Window.

    3. At the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer>" command prompt, type:

      c:\windows\system32\regsvr32.exe ieproxy.dll

      and press [Enter] and you should get a little RegSvr32" pop-up stating:

      Code:
      DllRegisterServer in C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet 
      Explorer\ieproxy.dll succeeded.
     
  16. 2014/01/12
    boyracer

    boyracer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/12/11
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    beginer
    I got as far back as C:|windows and typed in \system32\regsvr32.exe ieproxy.dll. The module ieproxy failed to load.
     
  17. 2014/01/12
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Get into the same folder as the "ieproxy.dll" file and then run the "c:\windows\system32\regsvr32.exe ieproxy.dll" command.
     
  18. 2014/01/12
    boyracer

    boyracer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/12/11
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    beginer
    I haven't done any command line stuff since the late 80s so I'm real rusty working with it. My real problem seems to be getting the syntax correct.

    I did however manage to get into c:\Program files but haven't made it into the internet explorer directory were ieproxy.dll resides.

    I'll keep working at it.
     
  19. 2014/01/13
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Try:


    c:
    cd "c:\program files (x86)\internet explorer "​

    or:

    c:
    cd "c:\program files\internet explorer "​
     
  20. 2014/01/13
    boyracer

    boyracer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/12/11
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    beginer
    Ok, now I think we're getting somewhere. I typed

    c:\Program Files\Internet Explorer>c:\windows\system32\regsvr32.exe ieproxy.dll

    I got this message: The module "ieproxy.dll was loaded but the call to DllRegisterServer failed with error code 0x80070005" and that I should look it up online. Which I will
     
  21. 2014/01/13
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough

Share This Page