1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Poll How old is your main PC?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by Arie, 2016/06/02.

?

How old is your main PC?

Poll closed 2016/06/30.
  1. Less then 1 year

    29.6%
  2. Between 1 and 3 years

    22.2%
  3. Between 3 and 5 years

    18.5%
  4. 6 years

    7.4%
  5. 7 years

    7.4%
  6. 8 years

    7.4%
  7. 9 years

    3.7%
  8. 10 years or more

    3.7%
  1. 2016/06/02
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,912
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    So a poll to have a lok at the current hardware we're all running...

    In the hay-days of personal computing you had to update your PC frequently to keep pace with new technologies... But those days are long gone.

    So how old is your main PC? Let's say we define the age of your PC by the age of the motherboard. So if you updated all kind of components, but you are still using that 2009 motherboard, your PC would be 7 years old...
     
    Arie,
    #1
  2. 2016/06/02
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    My computer is 5 and a half years old but its still working well and does everything I need it to do. It was a generic HP system when I bought it and since then I've upgraded every hardware part except for the motherboard. I'm waiting for AMD to release their Zen CPU's then I might consider building a new system from scratch.
     
    Howattee likes this.

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/06/02
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,457
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    I had a big splash with my main comp. I built it with ALL new parts just for a change. I figured that it will probably be my last build at my age - so what the heck! :D
     
  5. 2016/06/02
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    My Motherboard + CPU are of 2009 (ASUS P6T WS PRO). My video card and PSU are of Nov 2010, my current memory is of Nov 2012, main SSD drive of Mar 2015.

    I am tempted to change the Motherboard + CPU, although that would also require new memory (and scrapping the video card).
     
  6. 2016/06/03
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    I just put together this new system this past February for W10. This is my first PC (for me) that is all SSD. I will never go back to HDs!
    And likely a new OS license too. And a new graphics card may require a new PSU too - but then with a new mobo, new CPU and new graphics, why not feed them all new power? I've been using EVGA Gold 550W and 650W PSUs in my recent builds - great (and super quiet) PSUs. And might as well go all they way, IMO, and step up to a motherboard that supports DDR4.
     
    Bill,
    #5
  7. 2016/06/04
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    I have plenty of OS licenses courtesy to Microsoft ;). Since I have a Corsair AX 850 Gold PSU, I won't need a new one. I won't need a graphics card either most likely, since I'm looking at an ASUS Z170 WS with a i7-6700T CPU.
     
  8. 2016/06/04
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,713
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    The majority of time I spend using my 2006 Latitude d830, original battery too, and still get 3-4 running time on it. Does all I need it to do. Desktop system I built about 4 years ago.
     
  9. 2016/06/04
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    My 2007 Dell Latitude D820 is also still going strong. Running Win10. I did have to change the MB though a few years back, as the nVidia graphics chip was faulty, and I put in my first Intel SSD when I got a new Samsung SSD for my Desktop.
     
  10. 2016/06/04
    fdamp

    fdamp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2009/04/09
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    I ran an eMachines desktop with Windows XP for about 12 years. Last December i bought a Dell Inspiron 15" lap-top, initially with Win 8.1 now with Win-10. I still have the old box, but I'm gradually removing the software and it will be gone in a few more months.
     
  11. 2016/06/04
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    I finally semi retired my desktop after 16 years. Built in 2000. It start out with ME, then XP Pro and finally 7 Ultimate. For some dumb reason I just can't part with it.
     
  12. 2016/06/17
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Three years old for me.
     
  13. 2016/06/21
    elcajongunsfan Lifetime Subscriber

    elcajongunsfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2012/01/01
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    El Cajon California
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    6 years. ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5QL/EPU Win 7 pro with Intel Celeron 2.5gig CPU. One ½ gig Seagate HD. Grafix card is your basic 512MB NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS.. Rock solid machine except for one hickup several months ago
    that was fixed by just cleaning the gold contacts on the GeForce card. I was telling my spouse, "I didn't realize it's so old. It's gotta die sooner than later" I'm bummed--This was a great build
     
  14. 2016/06/27
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Hi,
    With my 13-month-old HP system, I am looking to upgrade to an SSD and am trying to figure out an action plan for cloning the drive, such that I can simply replace the HD with the SSD.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks very much,
    -a.
     
  15. 2016/06/27
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
  16. 2016/06/27
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced

Share This Page