1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved How can I prevent Windows Time Service from waking up my PC?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Matthew Wai, 2015/10/19.

  1. 2015/11/12
    Matthew Wai

    Matthew Wai Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/06/28
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Do you mean I can send feedback to Microsoft, telling them that 'Allow wake timers' cannot be disabled actually'?
     
  2. 2015/11/16
    Matthew Wai

    Matthew Wai Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/06/28
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Two days ago, by Windows Update, a new version of Windows 10 was installed, but the problem still exists.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2015/11/16
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Yes, if your OS has a problem - the problem will migrate with the update/upgrade.
    This has been borne out by those who did not make sure that their comp was trouble-free before Upgrading to W10. Any problem that hadn't been fixed/eliminated just gets carried forward.
    I would suggest advising MS via Feedback that you have this problem. Neil.
     
  5. 2015/11/16
    Matthew Wai

    Matthew Wai Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/06/28
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Bingo! I found that Library\Microsoft\Windows\Media Center\mcupdate_scheduled was the culprit, where 'Wake the computer to run this task' had been checked. My computer did not wake after unchecking it.

    Can any one of you do the following test:
    Find out the scheduled time of mcupdate_scheduled and put the computer to sleep before it. Tell me whether it will wake by then.
     
  6. 2015/11/17
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Task Scheduler\Microsoft\Windows\Media Center\mcupdate\Comditions. On my machine the option Wake the computer to fun this task is unchecked.
     
    Last edited: 2015/11/17
  7. 2015/11/17
    Matthew Wai

    Matthew Wai Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/06/28
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Could you check it and see whether your computer will wake while 'Allow wake timers' has been disabled?

    I don't have an account there, so I do not have permission to access this page.
     
  8. 2015/11/17
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Are you sure you're running W10? Media Centre was not part of W10 OS. Neil.
     
  9. 2015/11/17
    Matthew Wai

    Matthew Wai Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/06/28
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I am absolutely sure I am using Windows 10, where Media Center is absent.
     
  10. 2015/11/17
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    4 Ways To Open Task Scheduler In Windows 10 I tried this on both a desktop and laptop: When I put a check mark in the box the computer did indeed wake up. When I removed the check mark the computer did not wake up. My apologies on the link it clearly went to my sign in page so I've removed the link from that post.
     
    Last edited: 2015/11/17
  11. 2015/11/17
    Matthew Wai

    Matthew Wai Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/06/28
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    If I recall correctly, I have never said that I don't know how to open Task Scheduler.
     
  12. 2015/11/17
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    No disrespect intended.
     
  13. 2015/11/17
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.

    Oh wow! I note 4 weeks ago in my first reply (post #12) in this thread, I said,
     
  14. 2015/11/17
    MasterChief

    MasterChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2015/08/01
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Running around in circles is what I call it. We really dont need 4 ways to open it. Now we have the control panel and settings. Ever wonder why Windows keeps growing in size.
     
  15. 2015/11/17
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    MasterChief: I have the time to mess around and test all four ways. That's why I like to try and find or create keys in the registry to fix stuff. It's a lot more fun. If my business machine crashes who cares. I'm retired for a long time. I'll just reinstall the OS and start over. That's why there's backups. Plus I get to go back into the reg. and put back all my hacks. I've been retired for 23yrs and it hasn't been what some people call one big ball of fire.
     
  16. 2015/11/17
    MasterChief

    MasterChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2015/08/01
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Well I'm glad to see you have the same policy about winders as I do when it comes to the OS and starting over. I wish I could give the OP some easy fix for his problem but I personally would have wiped it and started over. Recently retired and broke.
     
  17. 2015/11/17
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    It's not - IF you know what you are doing and have current backups. But sadly, this is beyond the comfort zone for most and tragically, most users do not maintain current backups.

    My big problem with starting over is you can end up months, if not years behind in critical security updates. And if you don't have a fast internet connection, it can seem like years to get updated - all the while you are more vulnerable to the threats you are downloading updates and patches for.

    Also, my other big problem is it is often too easy for some to simply tell others to format and reinstall when really, the vast majority of problems can be resolved without ever resorting that sort of last-ditch, last resort, desperate action.
     
  18. 2015/11/17
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    My Post regarding MC was because I have no trace of MC in W10 Pro OS!
    Originally Posted by lj50 View Post
    Task Scheduler\Microsoft\Windows\Media Center\mcupdate\Comditions. On my machine the option Wake the computer to fun this task is unchecked.
    As Media Center was not included in W10 I'm baffled to see the above. Neil.
     
  19. 2015/11/17
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    I tried it on a win 7 ult comps. Didn't the OP say he unchecked something in Library\Media Center. I took it he wanted too see if a computer would wake up if the task scheduler option was checked if the machine would wake up and Unchecked not wake up. I was just testing a theory.
     
  20. 2015/11/18
    Matthew Wai

    Matthew Wai Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/06/28
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Could you try it in Windows 10 with 'Wake the computer to run this task' checked and 'Allow wake timers' disabled? If your computer wakes, then the bug exists not only at my end but also at yours.

    I already knew that.

    I was too stupid to think of 'Media Center' when I saw 'media programs' four weeks ago. I found it when looking into the tasks one by one recently.

    I have already found the solution. Now I want to find out whether other Win10 computers have the same problem. You can help by doing the test mentioned in my post#44.

    Way 5: Enter taskschd.msc in the Run box.

    I wonder why there are Media Center tasks in my Windows 10, where Media Center is absent.
     
    Last edited: 2015/11/18
  21. 2015/11/18
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    That was the reason for my question as the only reference in W10 is Multi-Media. No Media Center. Neil.
     

Share This Page