1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Google Chrome and IE browsers stopping accessing websites.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by ppeetteerr, 2017/11/10.

  1. 2017/11/10
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello All,

    I have a few problems on my HP laptop with my Google Chrome and IE browsers stopping accessing websites.


    I am running Windows Vista, 32-bit, Service pack 2


    When I re-start the laptop the browsers work fine but after a period of time (not sure how long) they stop accessing websites with and error message: ERR_TIMED_OUT.



    I have tried DNS flush, I have run Iobit Malware fighter also Advanced System Care but cannot resolve.


    Network shows as working fine and signal strength is showing as good.


    When browsers stop accessing , I can still get emails.


    My wife has a laptop and she has no browser problems at all so assuming its not a router/network problem??


    Can anyone give advice please
     
  2. 2017/11/10
    Steve R Jones

    Steve R Jones SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    11,848
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    The "Period of Time" - is this while you are using the pc or while the pc is sitting idle?

    Look in Device Manager-> Network Adaptor properties and disable the power management.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/11/11
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    hello, I checked power manager and it was unchecked already.
    Re the period of time, I suspect but not sure that it while the pc is sitting idle.
     
  5. 2017/11/11
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Have you tried sfc /scannow to see if there are errors in the File system?
    Last resort - system restore.
     
  6. 2017/11/14
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello, Have just done scan as suggested. Advised that some files were corrupt and would be rectified on re-boot but some could not be. Will see what happens. Regards
     
  7. 2017/11/14
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    You may have to run a repair to fix corrupt files.
     
  8. 2017/11/25
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello, Ran the repair but stil have problem. Any advise pleas
     
  9. 2017/11/25
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,714
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Post in malware forum.
     
  10. 2017/11/25
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    What condition is your HDD in? Your Laptop is running Vista - how old is that?
     

Share This Page