1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Full Screen / F11 Function not working properly

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by WFC_Exile, 2003/05/21.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2003/05/21
    WFC_Exile

    WFC_Exile Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    too much not enough
    (This is a repost. No solutions were previously suggested - Still have the problem)

    The ability to toggle between Full Screen and regular view has been lost on my IE6 installation. As before, F11 (or selecting full view on the View drop-down menu) causes the appearance of the narrow toolbar of mini icons, however - the other toolbars, address bar, links bar, etc., which normally are hidden in Full Screen, instead stay visible as well. So, the net result is that Full View is less of a full view than regular view!

    Additionally, the little black box in the upper right hand corner, with the IE logo in it that normally appears under the "-â€, resize, and "x" becomes many times larger becoming, top to bottom, as high as the stack of toolbars is high.

    All MS IE updates are installed.

    I've run IE repair more than once - no joy.

    Haven't found a reference to this on the BBS. Any ideas?
     
  2. 2003/05/21
    BruceKrymow

    BruceKrymow Inactive

    Joined:
    2002/03/20
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    Computer Experience:
    Whatever...
    Hi, WFC ~

    What OS are you using?
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2003/05/21
    WFC_Exile

    WFC_Exile Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    too much not enough
    Duh..sorry!

    Win 98 SE - all updates and SP's installed
    512 megs ram

    IE ver 6.0.2100.1106IC

    Worked properly until very recently.
     
  5. 2003/05/22
    Lonny Jones

    Lonny Jones Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/12/16
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location:
    Washington state USA
    Computer Experience:
    Typeos-are-Us
    Hi

    I have a feeling that c is the problem
    IE ver 6.0.2100.1106IC
    where did you get IE ?
    If I recall corectly c means made with IEAK by a corparate administrator.usualy though it would be CO ..
    some ISP's do this also, not a good idea to let an ISP update our
    Internet explorer.( I wouldnt)

    You know you can customize that full screen window toolbar the same way you would with a normal ie window,
    some may have to unlock the toolbar before going into the f11
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;296374

    full screen window right click on an empty spot on the toolbar remove the check for locking, then try f11 do same thing r/click
    or use the [view] drop down context menu...

    Mine lists in f11 mode(R/C,context menu)
    menu bar
    address bar
    links
    -----
    auto hide
    customize
    so while in full screen mode remove the checks :)

    Lonny
     
  6. 2003/05/22
    WFC_Exile

    WFC_Exile Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    too much not enough
    Lonny,

    Thanks. No IEAK customization of IE took place with my knowledge. Road Runner may have slid something by when I installed a year ago but the problem is recent. I think my About Internet Explorer window has alswat said it was a customized version - probably a Dell thing, since they puy stuff in the Toolbar.

    Toolbar unlocks OK, No problem there. Removing icons really wouldn't solve my issue anyway.

    You sent me looking for add-on's. In add/remove there is one for Internet Explorer Q813489. Interesting because all other IE listings in "add/remove programs" start with "Microsoft" Internet Explorer. Not just Internet Explorer.

    Searching Q813489 reveals 813489 (no "Q" - is that significant?) is the April 2003 cummlitave patch for IE. That's about the time the problem started I think. I'm tempted to remove it to see what happens, however I also know that doing that may blow the while thing up in my face. Any thoughts?
     
  7. 2003/05/22
    Lonny Jones

    Lonny Jones Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/12/16
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location:
    Washington state USA
    Computer Experience:
    Typeos-are-Us
    Hi WFC_Exile

    Internet Explorer Q813489. in addremove is normal
    I think they just didnt want to take any chances if anyone
    had problems they could uninsatll, thats what they should have
    done with the two prior umm fix's.
    you could try uninstalling it --can always get it again.
    " "Any thoughts?" "
    Yes look around this forum for win 98 and that pacth,
    its been talked about alot..


    I dont understand how removeing the address bar and other toolbar icons while in f11 mode wont do what you want, gee, I thought thats what you wanted a normal f11 mode.

    Could be a combination between that patch and whatever del has done?
    Ive been playing with a new tool, it allows us to change the titlebar or logo
    and set restrictions if wanted,(without useing regedit)
    It is safe or I wouldnt recomend!!Its freeware,

    Ill run spybot and an AV check--all clean!!

    but more it may alow you to undo what del has modified

    "it can also revert back the default settings of Internet Explorer
    from customized versions of Internet Explorer." "
    without changeing youre security settings and such...less you tell it to..

    so I take that to mean remove customizations from del
    and its customizations.
    Very simple to use.

    Internet Explorer Personalizer final release 3.00
    http://accesscodes.hypermart.net/product01.html

    Lonny
     
  8. 2003/05/22
    WFC_Exile

    WFC_Exile Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    too much not enough
    Problem solved!

    Lonny you nailed it when you wrote ... "You know you can customize that full screen window toolbar the same way you would with a normal ie window, some may have to unlock the toolbar before going into the f11...."

    I focused on the unlocking the tool bar part. However, the key was the fact the both regular mode and full screen mode have their own right-click customization menu that controls that specific view. You wrote it. I did not get it at first.

    What I was seeing was full screen mode customized to have all tool bars turned on while in that mode - Bingo...double tool bars in F11 mode so less full screen than non full screen.

    Real mystery is how they all were turned on. I am the only one using this computer and I am certain I did not do it. I now suspect it was a website that trapped me by removing all the window control areas. I escaped it by hitting F11 which made some control areas visible again. I had the problem from that point forward.

    Anyway, it is fixed now. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction
     
  9. 2003/05/22
    Lonny Jones

    Lonny Jones Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/12/16
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location:
    Washington state USA
    Computer Experience:
    Typeos-are-Us
    Good to hear :)

    In you're IE title bar does it say microsoft Internet explorer and has del or any of you're ISPs modified the little icon top right corner ?

    While surfing IF any website modifies my IE panel ,(dont go there again) and close that examply of IE, If a site's links or shortcuts
    popups have a modified window(I hate that) where they change the size, or toolbar some even make it so we cant close the window (if that happens I use the close program diolog box)
    ctrl alt del, anyway my point is - not to surf with any popups or modified ie windows close them and keep going with original ie window Blaaaa hard to spit that out

    Lonny
     
  10. 2003/05/22
    WFC_Exile

    WFC_Exile Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    too much not enough
    Microsoft icon is still in the upper right hand corner and the banner over the toolbars says Microsoft Internet Explorer - so I think I'm OK there.

    Thanks for the tip on closing the window when control has been hijacked - I'll use it in the future.

    Again - thanks
     
  11. 2003/05/22
    BruceKrymow

    BruceKrymow Inactive

    Joined:
    2002/03/20
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    Computer Experience:
    Whatever...
    Hi, Guys ~

    You probably already know this, but for other following that may encounter the modified browser windows with no tools to close, simply hit ALT+F4 to shut that puppy down. :cool:
     
  12. 2003/05/22
    Lonny Jones

    Lonny Jones Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/12/16
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location:
    Washington state USA
    Computer Experience:
    Typeos-are-Us
    Thanks Bruce

    ALT+F4 shortcut key to close current microsoft window's

    "You probably already know this "
    Guess I did but had forgot :)

    Lonny
     
  13. 2003/05/23
    WFC_Exile

    WFC_Exile Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    too much not enough
    Thanks. Good one to know.

    Is there a shortcut key to close all open Internet Explorer windows, in addition to the active window?
     
    Last edited: 2003/05/23
  14. 2003/05/23
    BruceKrymow

    BruceKrymow Inactive

    Joined:
    2002/03/20
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    Computer Experience:
    Whatever...
    Hi, WFC ~

    There is no one shortcut to actually close all the windows, but there is a rather easy way to accomplish this:
    • Hold CTRL while clicking on the taskbar buttons of the windows you want closed
    • Right-click anywhere on the taskbar and select 'Close Group'
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page