1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved External HD not display free space.

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by BobbyScot, 2016/01/24.

  1. 2016/02/17
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Yes, I have obtained a couple of RMAs without any problems but that was a few years ago. I do not know what they're doing now. Maybe they're not backing up their products like they used to. Makes me wonder if I should keep recommending or even use their products anymore.
     
  2. 2016/02/17
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Actually regarding this WD Elements and contact with WD, enough is enough there is no immediate signs of a solution and I am calling it a day, finished. I thank you all for the assistance and interest given, Bobby.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/02/18
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Today WD Support contact, requesting my shipping address to enable them to send an RMA to me for the return of the HD. My last E-mail to WD was very abrupt, as I said my replacement of this HD will in no way be manufactured by WD.
     
  5. 2016/02/18
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    That's progress :) Persistence pays off! Keep us posted re. outcome.
     
  6. 2016/02/18
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Glad WDC finally responded to you in a positive manner.
     
  7. 2016/02/18
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Not out of the woods yet. Instructions are, that HD be returned in an ESD Bag and inserted into a proper card board container. I certainly have not an ESD Bag. I have contacted WD informing them of not being able to provide "ESD Bag ". Will await for their response.
     
  8. 2016/02/18
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    WD replied that ESD Bag applies only to internal drives. Shipment for external drive is sufficient packaging of bubble wrap and cardboard container. It only remains to post the HD in question to WD. Will post any further development as it arises.

    It requires for attention that shipment label must be s attached and RMA number in bold figures are printed on each of the three outer sides of the box. Failure will constitute non acceptance of HD and failure for replacement.
     
  9. 2016/02/18
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Thanks for the update. Fingers crossed.
     
  10. 2016/02/19
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Only a note of possible interest. WD insists that their RMA returns label must be applied to the front of the parcel. Well according (fact) that the fist entry being my address, parcel will be delivered to my address and not WD's. PO
    did kindly score it out.
     
  11. 2016/02/22
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Current update on WD. RMA that I raised with WD, is, that they claim to never have had an issue over returns being lost. Now with regards to the returns of HD's returned under warranty:: it appears that returns are strictly in "Recertified" working conditioned but not "New ". In my case this will mean that the returned "casing" could be scratched or well handled. My case it was in pristine condition, after careful handling. I certainly hope this information maybe of interest to anyone having to return their hard drive under warranty. Bobby.
     
  12. 2016/02/22
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    I should have informed you that the replacement drive was a refurb. My apologies. They replaced two of my drives with one a 3.5" internal drive with a refurb. The other was a 2.5" 500gb internal drive that was defective so WDC replaced that one with a 2.5" 750gb drive which I installed win 8.1 pro on then later win 10 pro which I swap between my win ultimate drive..
     
  13. 2016/02/22
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    No wonder of the old saying "You are never to old to learn ". Yes now I know that I should have kept the drive, it was after all still working except for the missing free space/capacity. Did the refurbished drives run satisfactory and still do? Well some lucky person at least will have as new case. Mind you, I sent an E-mail informing them of my not being happy of perhaps receiving a badly scratched case, probably will receive back the HD as sent.
     
  14. 2016/02/23
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Both WDC HDDs work flawlessly and still do. They test and inspect the refurb drives better than then the new ones. Both HDDs did not have any scratches or cosmetic flaws. I've sent back two WDC My Passport Essentials 2.5" External HDDs. Both looked brand new and they're working with out any problems still and it's ben a few years.
     
    Last edited: 2016/02/23
  15. 2016/02/23
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    lj50 thanks for the latest information appreciated. Perhaps I should have waited until the HD was returned in 9-11 days time, before contacting WD with my comments. Thanks Bobby.
     
  16. 2016/02/24
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    You're welcome.
     
  17. 2016/03/02
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Final stage!!! WD Elements replacement received back from WD, well packed and in pristine condition. Now the bad news!! HD is exactly the same showing the total capacity of 2.72TB but free space remains as 2.72TB with 0.30TB software loaded. A quick answer from WD, say it is my OS that is causing the error and an issue with Microsoft OS and not their HD being the cause. I have pointed out to them, Why? is this error not applying to the other 3x3TB hard drive in current use in my computer. Their comments on this - WD personnel have very limited knowledge in MS OS. Microsoft just remains silent on this issue. possibly making this error unique just to me.
     
  18. 2016/03/02
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Sorry my suggestion didn't work out for you. Other than the original problem, Is the drive functioning properly?
     
  19. 2016/03/02
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    The drive is working as it should except for the Free Space not correctly showing. WD has sent me confirmation that they are now closing the case. They included a new 12v transformer that is of no use to me as it is 2 pin, it should be three pin for the UK system. However, I have had enough of trying to solve this "error ". Thanks for help in trying to solve this problem, apparently unique to me.
     
  20. 2016/03/02
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Is the drive listed in My Computer(Computer) if so can you right click on it and select Properties. Is the free space available showing there correctly?
     
  21. 2016/03/02
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    lj50, under the Computer Icon, selecting the WD Elements (D), clicking its Properties, shows :- 2.72TB - Used space 1.95GB. A purple coloured circular image of drive is completely solid, no marking to show the 1.95GB used space. It appears for some reason not to display this information on the Drive (D). Thanks Bobby for asking.
     

Share This Page