1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Can't convert FAT32 to NTFS

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jpChris, 2013/02/16.

  1. 2013/02/16
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    Hi all,

    I'm trying to convert my friends computer from FAT32 to NTFS. I followed directions in the CMD window: convert C: /fs:NTFS.

    However, I get: Enter current volume label for C:

    OK, so now what? Where is the "volume label "?
     
  2. 2013/02/16
    masterroming

    masterroming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2010/10/07
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    The Volume Label is just what your 'C: Drive' is called;

    Open my Computer
    After C:// what does it say as the 'name' of you drive? e.g. 'local disk' or 'Windows 7'

    This is just a safety measure.

    regards,
    masterroming
     
    Last edited: 2013/02/16

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2013/02/16
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Did you try it with a small c instead of a C? Don't know if that would make any difference or not. I have done several and alway used convert c: /fs:NTFS
     
  5. 2013/02/16
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    @masterroming,

    It doesn't say anything, just C(C:)

    @MrBill,

    Yes, I tried it both ways uppercase and lowercase C. Also, I right-clicked on C: and in the Properties box it says: Local Disk.

    So, should it be: convert C: local disk /fs:NTFS? Are the <spaces> correct?

    I get this when I try:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>convert c: /fs:ntfs
    The type of the file system is FAT32.
    Enter current volume label for drive C: local disk
    An incorrect volume label was entered for this drive.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>cd c:
    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>C:

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>C:\
    'C:\' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>admin
    'admin' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>cd admin
    The system cannot find the path specified.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>cd administrator
    The system cannot find the path specified.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>
     
    Last edited: 2013/02/16
  6. 2013/02/16
    masterroming

    masterroming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2010/10/07
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Try 'Local Disk' (capitalisation)
    and have you tried leaving it blank?
     
  7. 2013/02/16
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Are you sure it isn't NTFS already?
     
  8. 2013/02/16
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    @masterroming,

    What you see is exactly what I tried. I will capitalizing Local Disk and see.

    @MrBill,

    Yes, it says FAT32 in the command window.
     
  9. 2013/02/16
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    This is mt latest attempt:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>convert c(c:) /fs:ntfs
    Invalid drive specification.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>convert c:Local Disk /fs:ntfs
    Invalid Parameter - Disk

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>convert c:(c) /fs:ntfs
    Invalid drive specification.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>convert c: /fs:ntfs
    The type of the file system is FAT32.
    Enter current volume label for drive C: Local Disk
    An incorrect volume label was entered for this drive.

    C:\Documents and Settings\bobnew>convert C: /fs:ntfs
    The type of the file system is FAT32.
    Enter current volume label for drive C: C
    Convert cannot run because the volume is in use by another
    process. Convert may run if this volume is dismounted first.
    ALL OPENED HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID.
    Would you like to force a dismount on this volume? (Y/N)

    What the heck are the last two sentences???
     
  10. 2013/02/16
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Have you rebooted the machine? Do so and then see if it is Fat or NTFS. If Fat, try to do it to NTFS agian.
     
  11. 2013/02/17
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,912
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    The command is convert drive letter: /fs:ntfs

    If the drive would already be NTFS, the command would just show that: Drive C: is already NTFS

    If it asks for a volume name, and your drive doesn't have one, just hit enter.
     
  12. 2013/02/17
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,912
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    You give up too easy ;)

    Since the operating system is on the drive that you are converting there are files that are being used on the volume that you are trying to convert. So select Yes to force a dismount.

    You (probably) will be prompted to schedule the task when you restart the computer because the conversion cannot be completed while the operating system is running. When you are prompted, click YES.

    After you convert, check what cluster size you end up with. Good chance you'll end up with a 512 bytes cluster size, which is a PIG. Best is to do a fresh install & choose to format the drive with NTFS during the process.
     
  13. 2013/02/17
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced

    While still in the CMD window ...
    To see what the current Volume Label is, type vol and press [Enter].

    To change the current Volume Label, type label and press [Enter].​
     
  14. 2013/02/17
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    What has me most concerned are the lines: "ALL OPENED HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID.
    Would you like to force a dismount on this volume? (Y/N) "

    I have no idea as to what this means??? Will I have to remount it? I have no experience with this or how to do it. Also, I need to convert his D: drive to NTFS.

    And, this is a friends computer, not mine. If something went wonky with my computer then I wouldn't worry — I'd just plug-in a backup drive. But if the partition table (or anything) is munged, his original drive is on the verge of dead, and we're out of luck.

    Also, I have a Partition Magic Rescue Disk that has "Convert to NTFS" as one of the options. Could I do "it" with the PM disk?
     
    Last edited: 2013/02/17
  15. 2013/02/17
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,912
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    So why would you want to do something that you have no experience with and aren't comfortable with?

    Good thing you asked, if you don't have a current backup DON'T DO IT. This is a process that can lead to data loss!
     
  16. 2013/02/17
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    Update

    I realized that the error: "Convert cannot run because the volume is in use by another process." was probably ZoneAlarm and Avast running. I shut them down, reran the convert, hit "Y" and it went through a disk check twice. It then said "conversion complete "!!!

    I checked all the programs on D: (and C:) and all appeared OK.

    Feeling brave, I decided to do it with the D drive. This time it went quickly, no chkdsk or anything!

    Again, I checked all the programs, etc., on both drives and all appears to be OK!

    I also did a "Properties" check and it now says "File System: NTFS" on both drives.

    I won't mark this as Resolved until I run it a few days. Thanks to all for your help!!! :D
     
  17. 2013/02/17
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    What is on the "D" drive? Probably the original way the PC was out of the box.
     
  18. 2013/02/17
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    1) I gotta get experience. Now I know to turn off all programs first.
    2) My friend has a 20GB HDD and he's out of room. With a FAT32 file system I can't go beyond 32GB (from all I've read about FAT32). So, that's why the conversion: so I can clone the drive to one of the larger drives. I'll have to get a SATA to IDE converter, though; his MOBO is IDE only.
     
  19. 2013/02/17
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    @MrBill,

    No. I built his computer. It was my error in the first place not checking that it was NTFS.
     
  20. 2013/02/17
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    But that has nothing to do with the new drive. It should be NTFS. Usually when you format a drive, you can do this.
     
  21. 2013/02/17
    jpChris

    jpChris Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/09/21
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    North Hollyweird, California
    Computer Experience:
    Computers?
    As I said, it was my goof that it was FAT32 and not NTFS when I formatted it. :eek: (the original drive; then installed the OS)

    The "new" drive is my old, unused, Hitachi 40GB drive. As soon as a decent deal comes up on another HDD, I'm letting him use the 40GB'er. Hence the need to convert to NTFS to accommodate a new larger drive.
     
    Last edited: 2013/02/17

Share This Page