1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

blue screen when installing windows 2003 server r2

Discussion in 'Windows Server System' started by w.young, 2010/03/26.

  1. 2010/03/26
    w.young

    w.young Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chicago
    Computer Experience:
    Knowledge is POWER !
    I have a Dell Optiplex 960 and i'm trying to install Windwos Server 2003 Standard R2. when installing Windows server 2003 it gives me a blue screen with 0x0000007b

    This Pc has Windows XP on it already and trying a dual boot. I've done this before with other Pc's that have Windows XP on it already.

    I've even FDISK'd another Pc and tried to put the WIndows Server 2003 Standard R2 on a clean HD and same thing.

    any ideas...
    Help!!!!!!
     
  2. 2010/03/27
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    What is the source you are using to install from?
     
    Arie,
    #2

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2010/03/29
    w.young

    w.young Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chicago
    Computer Experience:
    Knowledge is POWER !
    I've downloaded the program from
    https://www.microsoft.com/licensing/servicecenter/home.aspx
    download section per the info from Microsoft licensing people.
    i've downloaded Windows 2003 Standard R2 iso file.
    burned to disc.
    it starts fine takes the key then during the process it goes to the blue screen stated above "blue screen with 0x0000007b "
     
  5. 2010/03/29
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Let me re-phrase: Are you trying to install from a USB CD drive?
     
    Arie,
    #4
  6. 2010/03/29
    w.young

    w.young Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chicago
    Computer Experience:
    Knowledge is POWER !
    sorry, installing from a CD
     
  7. 2010/03/29
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Yes, a USB CD is also a CD :(
     
    Arie,
    #6
  8. 2010/03/29
    w.young

    w.young Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chicago
    Computer Experience:
    Knowledge is POWER !
    its an internal CD drive
     
  9. 2010/03/30
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Arie,
    #8
  10. 2010/03/30
    w.young

    w.young Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chicago
    Computer Experience:
    Knowledge is POWER !
    from what i'm finding, it talks about server 2003 now knowing about SATA HD controllers.
    I'm going to try to find a Pc that has the ATA style HD and see....

    I'm not aware of a SATA work around.
    Are you???
     
  11. 2010/03/31
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Yes: Load the drivers during setup!
     
  12. 2010/04/02
    amdace

    amdace Inactive

    Joined:
    2009/09/08
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Livonia, Michigan
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Normally, during a server install it will prompt you to hit F6 during the install if you have to add drivers for controllers that windows does not have drivers for.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.