1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

CD Burning Software: Nero or Roxio?

Discussion in 'Other PC Software' started by James, 2004/11/22.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2004/11/22
    James

James Inactive Thread Starter

I'd like to get a good burning program... one in which I can select which items I'd like to remove and leave the rest untouched... one which is very user friendly given the fact that I'm not technically savvy... one in which I can move things around and place them in different folders after burning them (or is that even possible?). Thanks.

2. 2004/11/22
    KevinSaul

KevinSaul Inactive

Moving files around on the CD is only possible if you use re-writable CD's.

As for burning software that's mostly user preference. I've been using Roxio for years and find it easy to use, others swear by Nero. There are other programs available as well.

The only thing I can suggest is to go to their web sites and read all about them, down load trial versions or free versions and see which you like best.

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2004/11/22
    James

Fair enough. I suppose it only makes sense to give both a try out and see which I prefer. I was trying to avoid having to later remove the unwanted program from my hard drive and so I was hoping to go to school on the experiences and preferences of others.

I know that a friend of mine has Roxio and before he even starts burning he has to spend at least half an hour formating the cd. Is this standard practice (I'm a newbie to this sort of technology)? Is it the same for Nero?

5. 2004/11/22
    PeteC

PeteC SuperGeek Staff

James,

If your friend is formatting a CD he/she is using packet writing software - this enables the CD to be used much like any disc drive and is not typical of CD burning. The Nero equivalent for packet writing is InCd.