1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved [Windows update gives error 80073712 trying to update]

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by colinito, 2012/09/02.

  1. 2012/09/02
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    Hello Everyone,
    For family reasons, I have been away for 8 months and have returned to try to find missing updates.
    When trying to search I get a message stating that "An error occurred while checking for new updates for your computer." Code 80073712
    I tried to obtain help for this error and have been unable to do so.
    Does anyone have any advice please?
    Colinito
     
  2. 2012/09/02
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,916
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2012/09/02
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    There are so many of them, do I have to download ALL of them, and they are numbered - I have no idea which I have missed - or is there one which will work for all the downloads that I have missed?
    Colinito
     
  5. 2012/09/02
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    I'm sorry, but the Microsoft article gives you exact & clear instructions what to do, so take a minute to actually read it please.
     
  6. 2012/09/02
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced

    So many of what, instruction steps or Windows Updates?
     
  7. 2012/09/02
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    System Update Readiness Tools.
    However, I will go back, as Arie says, and see if I can see more on the subject. When I opened the page there were pages and pages of SURTs underneath oneanother! So I foolishly didn't go any further to check what happens further on!
    I shall return and let you know!

    Colinito
     
  8. 2012/09/02
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    I returned to the page and was directed to File- Windows, 6.1-KB947821-v22.x86.msu
    I chose English and saved it and then installed it.
    The instructions said - "This tool is being offered because an inconsistency was found in the Windows servicing store which may prevent the successful installation of future updates, service packs, and software. "
    I thought that that was good and, after it was installed I thought I would check to see if there were more updates that I'd missed since December 2011 because that must have cleared the problem. On clicking Windows update -
    I got the error message again - 80073712.
    I am a bit at a loss - I realise I do not have any great computer skills, but I suppose I am doing something wrong.
    My apologies if I appear a bit dense by writing all this, but I know no other way of explaining.

    Colinito
     
  9. 2012/09/02
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
  10. 2012/09/02
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,591
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
  11. 2012/09/02
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    Hello Spyware Doctor,
    I tried that and ran the Fix programme. I tried to update aftyerwards and got the same 80073712 error message.
    I filled in the following pages of the fixit programme - which reported 'Repair W.Update Components' (twice - one beneath the other) and a 'fixed' with a green tick/check beside both.
    The fixit programme ended by stating that there 'were no components to fix'!

    Colinito
     
  12. 2012/09/02
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    I have SP1 installed.
    I tried the scan, After I started the scannow, it came up with "Beginning system scan. This process will take some time. "
    Then - "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation "
    Then - "C:\Windows\System32>_ (and the underscore is flashing and has been doing so for 20 minutes)
    I suppose it will not do any scanning for some reason?

    Colinito
     
  13. 2012/09/03
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,916
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
  14. 2012/09/03
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    Hello Arie,
    Thank you for your reply.
    I followed the instructions listed in your link.
    I repeated the instruction that I had done earlier -running the System File Checker with the sfc /scannow directive. I had the same result - I was informed that "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation." So I exited the programme, as before.
    I then went to the System Restore option.
    I had only 9 dates. 5 of them dated between 2010 and 2012 were unobtainable. I chose the oldest which was 28.8.2012.
    After the system was restored, I tried to update windows - I received the same error - 80073712
    Back to "sqaure one" again!

    regards

    colinito
     
  15. 2012/09/03
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,916
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Do this:

    • Click Start, and in the Search programs and files box on the start menu, type CMD, then press Ctrl+Shift+Enter (this will get you an elevation prompt for an Administrator command prompt).
    • At the command prompt, type net stop wuauserv, then press Enter.
    • Next type cat /dev/null > %windir%\WindowsUpdate.log then press Enter (ignore the error that 'cat' isn't recognised... it still does what it is supposed to do).
    • Lastly type net start wuauserv, then press Enter.
    • Now repeat the action that normally leads to the Windows Update error.
    • Once completed, enter %windir%\WindowsUpdate.log in the Search programs and files box on the start menu and copy/paste the contents of the file in your next post.
     
  16. 2012/09/03
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    Hello Arie,

    I tried to, post the log but I got this message-

    "The text that you have entered is too long (1561318 characters). Please shorten it to 55000 characters long. "

    How much of it do you want, or can I post it as an attachment? (I have copied it to a Word document and saved it in my computer)

    Rregards

    Colinito
     
  17. 2012/09/03
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    You should be able to attach it, but save/attach it as a TXT file.
     
  18. 2012/09/03
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    Thanks, Arie, I'll try.
    It is saved in my computer as a text document. I can find no way to re-save it in any other form.
    I have tried attaching it but I am informed that it is an invalid file.

    (sorry to appear a bit silly but my computer skills are somewhat wanting!)

    Colinito
     
  19. 2012/09/03
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    When you have the %windir%\WindowsUpdate.log open, select File > Save As from the menu. Change the .log extension to .txt and save it to your desktop.

    Then attach here.
     
  20. 2012/09/03
    colinito

    colinito Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/12/06
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    South of Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner/Intermediate
    Arie,
    More problems. I did another scan and clicked on the File on the finished scan, chose 'Save As." When I went to the bottom Save As Type choices there were only Text Documents (*.docx) or All FIles (*.*) NO other choices.

    Regards

    colinito
     
  21. 2012/09/03
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    No idea what you mean by "scan ".

    As I posted before: enter %windir%\WindowsUpdate.log in the Search programs and files box on the start menu.
     

Share This Page