1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Windows Phone Mobile OS v 10 SD CArd Errors

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices' started by AlexH, 2018/05/13.

  1. 2018/05/13
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Hello everybody and Happy Mothers' Day!

    Once again, I need your help. Sometime, recently, about three months ago or less, upon restarting my phone, I began getting warnings that my SD Card [Lumia 950] needed to be scanned and fixed. So I clicked to let the system go ahead.

    Apparently, if there were errors, they were fixed ... until the next time. Not every time, but occasionally after that I got the same messages, with the same results. And yes, I did report it through the Feedback system, each time.

    Long story short, I tried to insert a brand new SD Card; the same size as the original one, 32GB. The phone recognized a new card and did its little dance welcoming the card. Very little of what had been installed on the first card made it to the new one, even though I had the phone connected to my desktop PC.


    I don't claim to be an expert on this - or much of anything anymore - so I tried to reinstall things like Twitter, Amazon, and a few others, as they had begun to be unavailable. Every one of them returned an error code - the same error code - of 80073CF9 or 80073D0D.

    Since then I have tried two other brand new cards and neither one of them allowed for success. I even changed the option of on which "drive" to install the apps - to the device itself or the SD Card.

    No joy!


    My phone contract with ATT is up as of yesterday and I cannot find any reason to stay with a Windows phone, other than the fact that I love the OS and don't care if I cannot install a plethora of apps I never use anyway; okay, there are some I'd like to use.

    So I can't find a reason not to change to a new Android - Samsung comes to mind - with one exception: the ATT people tell me that migrating my "stuff" from the Windows phone to an Android must be done by me, and done manually.

    Has anyone run into these phone issues and if so, were you able to resolve them. If so, please tell me how, before I make a mistake and go back to Android.

    One other issue is that I am using the advanced version of Windows 10 Mobile on the phone as I do on the PC. Which is probably the reason for all these issues. About returns Win Mobile 10, OX Build 10.0.15254.369. Version 1709.

    I know that I can try the reset phone option, but wonder how much I will lose doing that. It may be an exercise in futility or … who knows?

    Once more, Happy Mom's Day.

    Cheers,
    -a.
     
  2. 2018/05/13
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/05/14
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Here's another link on YouTube which has a lot of happy campers.
     
  5. 2018/05/14
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Sorry, still no joy.
    thanks,
    -a.
     
  6. 2018/05/15
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Clearing the cache (temp files etc.) and a Reset haven't had any effect?
     
  7. 2018/05/16
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,947
    Likes Received:
    380
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Try this: Do a soft reset of the phone by going to Settings > Storage Sense > Phone > Temporary files > Delete > Internet Explorer settings > Delete history. Once you are done with that, press and hold the down volume button plus the power button until the phone vibrates and reboots.

    A soft reset just resets the system and dumps cache etc, it doesn't affect user data.

    Also check your regional settings in Settings > System > Region. Make sure it's correct. Next turn on location service in Settings > Privacy > Location then restart your download and allow location service when prompted.
     
    Arie,
    #6
  8. 2018/05/19 at 02:48
    felicityblue

    felicityblue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2014/09/09
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I'm do have same question and thanks for posting some help. I'll do that also.
     
  9. 2018/05/23 at 18:42
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    You guys had any luck yet with your phone problems?
     

Share This Page