1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Windows Installer keeps popping up

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Greg Golden, 2008/12/05.

  1. 2008/12/05
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    Running XP Media Center Edition, SP3. Following some unknown activity by my son, the machine now gets a popup window of "Windows Installer/ Preparing to install..." very often, as much as several times per minute. If you cancel the popup, it just pops up again. It normally does not name any particular program, but on occasion it refers to the Roxio Media Player.

    1. In the Add/Remove Programs list, there is nothing Roxio.
    2. I have run Spysweeper and PCcillin antivirus regularly with no improvement.

    I have run Microsoft's Windows Installer Cleanup Utility but it will not run properly, saying that another installation is currently in progress.

    Help-any ideas? thanks/ Greg.:confused:
     
  2. 2008/12/08
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,874
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Did you reboot the computer before running the cleanup utility?
     
    Arie,
    #2

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2008/12/08
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    No Arie, I did not try rebooting before running the Cleanup Utility. Good idea.

    However, I eventually looked in Task Manager, found MSI.EXE running, killed it, and THEN I was able to run the Cleanup Utility correctly.

    We are watching the machine to see if this has corrected the problem. Will post again tomorrow with my progress.... Greg.
     
  5. 2008/12/09
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,874
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Yup, that would also have done it :)
     
    Arie,
    #4
  6. 2008/12/09
    CUISTech

    CUISTech Inactive

    Joined:
    2008/10/28
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Less than I thought
    Now, my research shows msi.exe to be a trojan that captures just online banking passwords and information.

    Just as far as crisis management goes... Would it be better to (a) change your passwords on a clean computer first, and then purge the virus, or (b) purge the virus and change your passwords once your computer is clean?

    I mean, theoretically, the damage is already done. What would be an appropriate way to "triage" this kind of infection, when you're out in the field and encounter something like that?
     
  7. 2008/12/09
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    My original problem has been solved. It's been over 24 hours since I ran the Microsoft Installer Cleanup Utility, and the annoying popup has not returned.

    As far as dealing with viruses and trojans, I have been running Trend Micro PC-Cillin continuously and I can only hope it has dealt with such problems internally. I have seen no other evidence of virus activity on that machine.... Greg.
     
  8. 2008/12/09
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    After more than 24 hours, the problem has not recurred, so I believe the MSICUU2.EXE (Microsoft Installer Cleanup Utility) has corrected the problem.

    As far as viruses and trojans, I use Trend Micro PC_Cillin continuously and I can only hope it has done its job. I've seen no other evidence of virus activity on that machine... Greg.
     
  9. 2008/12/10
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    Well now it's back. The installer window keeps popping up with the title "Roxio Media Manager," looking for a CD to complete an installation.

    There is a process running on this machine called MSIEXEC.EXE (not MSI.exe as I said earlier). There are two instances of it, one under my username and the other under the name "SYSTEM." What prompts MSIEXEC to run? Why can I not stop the process? It keeps restarting itself and I wonder if it is related to the popup message? TIA. Greg.
     
  10. 2008/12/11
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,874
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    msiexec.exe belongs to the Windows Installer Component and is used to install new programs that use Windows Installer package files (MSI).

    I would check Add/Remove Programs & remove anything related to Roxio if I were you...
     
    Arie,
    #9
  11. 2008/12/11
    CUISTech

    CUISTech Inactive

    Joined:
    2008/10/28
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Less than I thought
    Arie... in an earlier post, he said he found "MSI.EXE" and not "MISEXEC.EXE" in task manager. Same thing, different name?

    Just asking... Like I said, my research turned up something different.
     
  12. 2008/12/11
    goddez1

    goddez1 Geek Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    618
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Computer Experience:
    Depends on area.
    I'm seeing a lot of google references tying this into an incomplete or botched "blackberry desktop" install. For example:
    See:
    http://www.google.com/search?q="Rox...s=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

    Could this be a possibility? Do you have a blackberry or was your son trying to connect and install such? Roxio software might be part of another software you picked up and is installing itself as part of the License agreement.
     
    Last edited: 2008/12/11
  13. 2008/12/11
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    Arie- there are no Roxio items in the Add/Remove Programs list.

    Ann- I think you are on target. My wife does have a Blackberry with Blackberry software installed but never used. I suspect the Roxio component came with the Blackberry. I will try to uninstall all the Blackberry components and see if the Roxio installer goes away. Thanks, Greg.
     
  14. 2008/12/12
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,874
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Well, he said
    So I thought that maybe he meant that the earlier mention of MSI.exe was a mistake.

    If it wasn't, I agree, I would do a malware scan.
     
  15. 2008/12/12
    CUISTech

    CUISTech Inactive

    Joined:
    2008/10/28
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Less than I thought
    Missed that. My bad. >_< I fail at proofreading.
     
  16. 2008/12/12
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    Right, I never really saw MSI.EXE running. I saw MSIEXEC.EXE only.... Greg.
     
  17. 2008/12/15
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    Update: I removed the Blackberry desktop software-- took a long time-- and now the Roxio Media Manager "installer" is no longer popping up . Problem solved, thanks. --Greg.
     
  18. 2008/12/15
    goddez1

    goddez1 Geek Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    618
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Computer Experience:
    Depends on area.
    Yeah!

    Thanks for the update Greg. Let's hope it stays gone this time. Should your wife need this again at least you'll know what the root of the problem is and can try solving the problem using some of the googled topics hits for the fix. I suspect it was just a goof in the initial installation of the software or perhaps an updated software package was needed.

    Your most welcome.
     
  19. 2008/12/15
    Greg Golden

    Greg Golden Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/08/22
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Van Nuys, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Plenty!
    Yes, it was some time back that she installed that Blackberry Desktop and I did not pay much attention to it. She has never used it, but I expect one of these days she will need it (to sync and backup her phone) so she will want it installed again. And hopefully it will have an option to skip the Roxio Media Manager part. Next time I will supervise it. Thanks again Ann. ... Greg
     
  20. 2008/12/24
    spice

    spice Inactive

    Joined:
    2008/12/24
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    This has helped me also had the same problem tyvm Greg :) Had this problem over a year when i read how u solved it and i tried it and the nightmare is finally over thanks a million e1 i am so happy have a merry xmas e1 a satisfied member indeed :)
     

Share This Page