1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Windows Hard Drive info

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by JAK, 2018/09/06.

  1. 2018/09/06
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    A friend had trouble with her Win 7 computer. I couldn't get it to go so she took it to a store and they upgraded to Win 10 Home. It all went fine but it boots and programs run very slowly. I went to take a look at it. (She has to have it handy because of her ongoing photography business.)

    I am curious about her hdd set up. I know she has a SSD drive. And she has a 1 tb HDD.
    The C drive is listed as 200 gb and has Win listed in directory. Then there are 2 other drives. The B is 250 gb and has Win listed in its dir, and the J is listed as 750 gb. Where would the system files be kept? And then the 1 tb HDD is split into 2 partitions?

    Thanks. I've never dealt with 2 internal hard drives before.
     
    JAK,
    #1
  2. 2018/09/06
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,923
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi JAK, I think the OS should be installed on the SSD and the 1TB HDD handles everything else.
    If it's running slow - check and ensure all MS updates are installed and generally as the OS settles down it gets up to speed in it's operation.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/09/06
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    So the other part of the HDD, 250 gb is open for general storage just like on the 750 gb area? Why would that 1 tb be split into 2 sections?
     
    JAK,
    #3
  5. 2018/09/06
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,923
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    The 1 TB drive is usually just for mass storage and the 250GB SSD is for speed of work/gaming.
    I would imagine you can set the size of the Partition/s for whatever you require.
     
  6. 2018/09/07
    Christer

    Christer Geek Member Staff

    Joined:
    2002/12/17
    Messages:
    6,095
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Sweden
    Computer Experience:
    I'm trying!
    This shouldn't be right, I think. Apart from the strange drive letter (B), two Windows installations shouldn't be the result if the installation of Windows 10 was supposed to replace Windows 7. Was it a clean installation of Windows 10 or an upgrade? A mistake may have been made, getting Windows 10 installed on the 1 TB HDD (on a 250 GB partition), with Windows 7 still on the 250 GB SSD.

    Were both the SSD and HDD installed while on Windows 7?

    If so, was the HDD in a single partition?

    If so, some fiddling around has been done to repartition the HDD in two, without loss of data.

    I would disconnect the SSD to find out if Windows 10 boots from the HDD.

    If it doesn't, I would reconnect the SSD and disconnect the HDD and try again.

    If still no luck, it seems to need both drives to boot and that's not the way it should be.
     
  7. 2018/09/07
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    The quick way to find where Windows is installed is to open System Configuration > Disk Management and look which drive is listed as "System, Boot,...)

    If you're still unsure, get the Disk number of the partition listed as your System drive (from the same Disk Management screen), open Device Manager, expand disk drives, and check each dive listed. If you open the drives properties, select the Volumes tab, click Populate, you wil see the disk number that corresponds with the Disk number from Disk Management.
     
    Arie,
    #6
  8. 2018/09/07
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    You know I don't remember if it was called B. It was upgraded not clean install. They were both on Win 7. I believe it had 3 drives showing on Win 7 as well.

    Heading on vacation so I will have to follow up on my return. Thanks.
     
    JAK,
    #7
  9. 2018/09/17
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    I'm back but I think I'll have to put this off a month or so. She has a photography business and using this comp for editing video/pics. She's limping along on it and it will have to do until later. Then I can have at it and get this straight. Thanks!
     
    JAK,
    #8

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.