1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Windows 10 suddenly requiring password?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by The WobMob, 2017/10/01.

  1. 2017/10/01
    The WobMob

    The WobMob Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/07/20
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Woodland Park, NJ
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I've never had a password to log in to any of my computers. However, this evening it required a password. After a quick search online, I found someone that had a similar issue and had to use their Microsoft password. While I don't have a Microsoft password, I did recently create an Outlook account as I got Office Pro Plus 2016 through work. I thought I might as well use it...
    My question is, why do I suddenly need to use my Outlook password to log into my computer when I didn't set my computer to require a password? How do I turn this off? I know what the password is, it's just an unnecessary annoyance.
     
  2. 2017/10/02
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Start > Windows System > Run > type netplwiz > User account > uncheck users must enter a name and password etc. > OK > enter info on next window and OK out.

    Sorry. I have corrected the above entry - missed the w.
     
    Last edited: 2017/10/02

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/10/02
    The WobMob

    The WobMob Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/07/20
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Woodland Park, NJ
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    It just says Windows cannot find 'netpliz'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again.
     
  5. 2017/10/03
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    I've made a correction to my previous Post. Sorry.
     
  6. 2017/10/03
    The WobMob

    The WobMob Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/07/20
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Woodland Park, NJ
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Thank you!
     

Share This Page