1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Windows 10 computer freezes when shutting down.

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Bigalx58, 2018/05/16.

  1. 2018/05/16
    Bigalx58

    Bigalx58 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/05/29
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    My desk top computer, with Win10, freezes when I try to shut it off by using the start menu shut off option or the quick shut off shortcut icon. This freezing will last until I use the power switch to turn the pc off. This problem started about 2 weeks ago. Is there a way that I can set things up so that it will shut off like it used to before? Thanks.
    P.S.
    Just noticed that the same thing happens when I tried to restart the pc. I had to manually shut it off.
     
    Last edited: 2018/05/16
  2. 2018/05/16
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Sounds like you have a lot of programs running in the background. This will cause a computer to freeze when hitting shut down or restart until all running programs are turned off first.
    Check in Task Manager to see how many programs are running in the background.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/05/16
    Bigalx58

    Bigalx58 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/05/29
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Thanks for your reply. I should have mentioned that I have a very basic knowledge of computers. The computer has run all night in the 'freeze' situation in the past....until I shut it off in the morning with the power switch. What do I do in Task Manager? There are multiple columns etc. which ones will help? Sorry to be so difficult.
     
  5. 2018/05/16
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Which specs do we follow? Your profile shows HP 2000 Notebook W10 (Home/Pro/) 64bit, and your signature at the bottom of your Post says W 7 SP1?
    Start > Run > type msconfig > OK > Startup in W7.
    Right click on empty space on Taskbar and select Task Manager in W10.
     
  6. 2018/05/16
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
  7. 2018/05/17
    Bigalx58

    Bigalx58 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/05/29
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Sorry for not changing my specs...it's been some time since I've had to ask for advice. The pc I'm having problems with is a desktop..Gateway DX4850 with Win 10 x64...I'm going to try Evan's suggestion. It might take some time....:(
     
  8. 2018/05/17
    Bigalx58

    Bigalx58 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/05/29
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I'm afraid I'm out of my depth trying to do what is suggested. If there isn't any simpler solution, I guess I'll just have to turn the pc off manually. Please don't take any offence...I do appreciate what people have done for me in the past. Sorry.
     
  9. 2018/05/17
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Please download Autoruns. After you download the zipped folder on your desktop, right click the zipped folder and click Extract All. After the folder has been extracted open the regular folder. Run the autoruns.exe program by right clicking on it and selecting Run as administrator. When you open the program click the Logon Tab then post a screenshot of all the startup entries on the Logon Tab in your next reply.
     
  10. 2018/05/17
    Bigalx58

    Bigalx58 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/05/29
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I hope this is OK.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. 2018/05/18
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    In Autoruns on the Logon Tab remove the following items:

    Java Update Scheduler
    CCleaner Monitoring
    Chromium
    OneDrive
    Both Google Chrome entries

    Then reboot the computer and let me know if there is any change.
     
    jholland1964 likes this.
  12. 2018/05/18
    Bigalx58

    Bigalx58 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/05/29
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I'm assuming that I have to uncheck those items to remove them. I did that and rebooted and the computer froze during the shutdown :(
     
  13. 2018/05/18
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Are you running 'bare bones' during this repair? (all peripherals disconnected).
     
  14. 2018/05/18
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Even though you have removed them from autorun that does not mean they were stopped when you tried the shut down, they very likely were still running at that time, which would cause the freeze. Were you able to get the computer to actually shut down and then reboot? If so, have you tried another reboot?
    Can I ask what security programs do you have running all the time?
     
  15. 2018/05/19 at 01:17
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    To actually remove those items you have to highlight them and click on the red X button in the program to delete them.

    I would also like to see what 3rd party services you have running on the machine. Click Start< type msconfig in the Start search box and hit enter. When the System Configuration window opens, click on the services tab and click the checkbox that says to hide all Microsoft services. Take a screenshot of that tab and post it in your next reply.

    You screenshot should look like this:

    upload_2018-5-18_23-17-20.png
     
  16. 2018/05/19 at 11:26
    Bigalx58

    Bigalx58 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/05/29
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I need more clarification about the 'bare bones" suggestions, please. The security programs are: windows defender, windows firewall, UAC..all set to recommended levels. I removed the suggested items from the 'logon' tab using the 'red x delete' suggestion...and will try to see if the computer shuts down...will let you know later. Sys config screen shot attached.
    P.S.
    Things haven't changed :( .I still have to shut down the computer using the power button.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 2018/05/19 at 11:40
  17. 2018/05/19 at 14:26
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Click Start< type Services.msc in the Start Search box and hit enter to open the services window. Double click on each of those 3rd party services in the services window and set the startup type to disabled except for the Super Anti-Spyware service. When you open the msconfig window and select the hide all Microsoft services checkbox there should only be the Super Anti-Spyware service showing up in the System Configuration Utility services list. Do NOT disable any of the Microsoft services though. Once that is done, reboot the computer and see if there is any change.
     
  18. 2018/05/19 at 18:10
    Bigalx58

    Bigalx58 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/05/29
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    When I opened services window, I find maybe 100 services...how do I determine which are 3rd party services? Except for Microsoft services, it seems to me that I would have to disable all of them? BTW, Super AntiSpyware was not on my services list. Sorry for being difficult.
     
  19. 2018/05/19 at 19:31
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    (all peripherals disconnected). Any USB drives e.g. external HDD storage. internal HDD's not running C: drive. Printers. Web cams.

    A barebones PC is a computer that has minimal components. A typical barebones system includes a case, motherboard, CPU, hard drive, RAM, and power supply.
    The idea is to have as little as possible likely to cause interference during trouble shooting/repairs. Naturally the keyboard and mouse are essential.
    So anything not essential should be disconnected while carrying out trouble shoot/repairs.

    Can be very confusing but I think Evan will probably advise msconfig is the easier one for you to understand.
     
  20. 2018/05/20 at 10:54
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    In your attachment of msconfig, though it was not running and had the check mark removed, SUPERAntispyware is listed in your services:
    SAS Core Service is SUPERAntispyware.
     
  21. 2018/05/20 at 19:08
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Look in the System Configuration window again and make sure hide all Microsoft services is checked which will ONLY show the 3rd party services that are installed on the computer. You already showed me the screenshot of the services tab in the System Configuration window and I told you to disable just those services that were shown in the screenshot that you posted except for the Super Anti-Spyware service. So open the Services.msc window, which shows ALL of the services running on the computer including all the Windows services, but I want you to disable ONLY the 3rd party services and leave the Microsoft services alone.

    Then reboot the computer and see how it performs.
     

Share This Page