1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved win10 Local Session Manager 4+ hours

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by savagcl, 2016/03/04.

  1. 2016/03/04
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Windows 10, 64-bit home edition, Version 1511 (OS build 10586.71)


    It happened again - doing the latest cumulative update and looks good until
    i shutdown,update, and reboot.

    Boot hangs in the "Waiting for Local Session Manager" screen. i have let this
    run for 4+ hours with no change (and i have a pretty fast system).

    Searching the web shows lots for this problem only not for win10.

    Good thing i have maximum reflect- can restore drive c in about 7 minutes.

    Getting pretty ticked at MS force feeding of updates!

    Any info (from anywhere) about this problem?

    thanks,
     
  2. 2016/03/04
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    I like many of my friends and people on here and other Message boards are not having any of the problems you are having. I am wondering if you have a corrupt download of Win 10 causing all these problems. :confused:
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/03/05
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi clif, I've just had the latest W10 update on my HP 1000 Notebook - running Version 1511 OS Build 10586.122 absolutely no problems.
    I've had Cumulative Updates KB3124263 (install date 15/01/2016)
    KB3124262 ( " " 7/02/2016)
    KB3135173 ( " " 16/02/2016)
    KB3140743 ( " " 3/02/2016)
    Plus 5 other updates since Jan 1st 2016. It might pay to run sfc /scannow to see if you have Files missing. Neil.
     
  5. 2016/03/05
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Bill,
    #4
  6. 2016/03/05
    MasterChief

    MasterChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2015/08/01
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    I had a similar problem back in august and all the trouble shooting was worthless on the upgrade and the trouble shooter couldn't find nothing wrong. I finally wiped it and installed a fresh copy and updates worked fine on that pc.
    I personally am fed up with updates breaking things. The latest 07Office update has broke Aero Lite Themes which in turn created a two tone windows explorer.
     
  7. 2016/03/05
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Sorry you are having such bad luck with updates but the fact of the matter is, the vast majority of users are not having any problems at all. I currently have 6 systems here and have never had an update break anything (and I too have Office 2007 installed on 3 of them).

    In fact, I migrated all my systems to W7 back in 2009 and it was then I started letting Windows automatically down updates and I then installed them when I was ready - with never a problem. Then I migrated to Window 8 when it came out and decided to give automatic updates go with the default settings on all systems (that is, auto download and install). Again, no problems. And now, all my systems are running W10 and still, not one issue where an update broke anything. And again, that is how it works for the vast majority (100s of millions!) of users.

    Yes, a few have had problems. And those few have been very vocal and of course, the IT press is happy to blow those few cases WAY out of proportion so it seems the problem is much worse and more widespread than it really is. :mad: :(

    As far as Aero Lite, not sure what to say about that other than Microsoft hid it by default for reasons we don't know and you must have manually made it available or used a tweaker like Winaero to enable it.

    So you made changes that Microsoft might not have anticipated (especially with such a "legacy" software suite like Office 2007. Not making excuses - just a possible explanation.
     
    Bill,
    #6
  8. 2016/03/05
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    OK, I just wasted 4 hours installing the latest build, keeping my stuff tho.
    Not sure what build is being installed (Build 10586.122?).
    As stated before: Windows 10, 64-bit home edition, Version 1511 (OS build 10586.71) works perfect on my sys. If i could turn off that accumulative
    update, my sys would be running great but alas, we don't have that option.

    I Dl'ed the media creation tool, created a USB stick with latest(?) build Ran it
    with next bootup and all goes well until i hit: "Please wait for Local Profile Manager ".
    The circles just keep turning, turning, turning and never gets out
    of the local profile manager!

    Did another image restore (Macrium Reflect) and every thing works,
    Don't use AREO at all, don't use Office (use Libre office).

    Windows update troubleshooter found nothing. I can't run this on the
    latest version because of the loop.

    Still looking!

    Thanks for the assist,
     
  9. 2016/03/05
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    sfc /SCANNOW C: found nothing to fix.
     
  10. 2016/03/06
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,916
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Have you tried a 'safe mode' startup?
     
    Arie,
    #9
  11. 2016/03/06
    MasterChief

    MasterChief Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2015/08/01
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    To stop your pc from updating go to Settings\Network&Internet\WiFi\Advanced Options and turn off "Set as metered connection ".
    Then when you want you go to Update and select a update you wish to be installed. This way you have control over what is downloaded. :D
     
  12. 2016/03/06
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    WiFi does not show in settings, My desktop sys is hardwired to to internet.

    What does show in settings is VPN, Dial-up, Ethernet and Proxy.
    My connection is using Ethernet, No where can i find a "set as metered connection ".
    But, I'll keep looking.

    thanks,
     
  13. 2016/03/06
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Arie,

    System will boot in safe mode after the update but i get this message -

    This app can't open.
    Get Started can' be opened using the built-in admin account. Sign in with a
    different account and try again.

    Only problem is, I'm the only user!
    I wil look at creating a new admin user account somehow.

    thanks,
     
  14. 2016/03/16
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    local session manager (again)

    Still not doing that update. Still gets to "Local Session Manager" and loops,
    loops, loops!. Build 10586.164 just won't work on my system. Previous build
    works great tho.

    I even went back to 8.1 plus about 80 updates then let it install W-10 again
    and watched it start looping again.
    System worked great until this build.

    A search show multi-problems but mostly dealing with servers (which i'm not).
    I did have to get my comcast modem replaced just prior to this problem
    starting up.

    I have run out of things to try (as far as my limited knowledge, that is).

    Anyone???

    thanks,
     
  15. 2016/03/16
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Uncheck that update so that it won't ask or try to install again.
     
  16. 2016/03/17
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,916
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Sorry clif, but all my searching also leads to the notion that this is either domain (as in a server connected PC) or Windows Server issue.

    Where it me, I'd probably check my account settings. Try making a new account. If that has the same problems, I'd choose for a fresh install.
     
  17. 2016/03/17
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Will give it another shot!

    thanks,
     
  18. 2016/03/18
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Arie,

    I re-installed 8.1, did all updates and installed win10, version 1511,
    build 164.

    During power-on, now all i get is some normal startup messages followed by a spinning circle that never finishes.

    A net search shows some people did have this problem (no solutions i can
    understand tho) and as you said, it seems to be related to a domain or
    home group.

    Looking at CP>System, all i see is work group. How can i tell if I'm using
    a domain or home group?

    thanks,
     
  19. 2016/03/18
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,916
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    You won't be on a domain.... I'm out of ideas.
     
  20. 2016/03/19
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Me too!

    I'll give this a rest for a while.

    I can still run the previous build just by powering off the the PC (instead of shutdown).
    Even if the update does sneak in, it only takes 7-8 minutes to do a restore back to the
    usable build.

    Will close this topic and give MS time to settle down...

    Thanks All,
     
  21. 2016/04/10
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Ok, last post about this.

    I have no idea what changed but the last DL of build 164 appears to have got
    me past the "local session" loop.

    All seems to be working good now but i did notice that my HD is now a
    dynamic disk, all partitions. Have no idea why the HD would change from basic
    to dynamic. While response is a little faster, i am not in a RAID config.

    It works, so i'm good with it.

    Thanks for all the help,
    clif
     

Share This Page