1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Win 7 update problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by JAK, 2017/07/19.

  1. 2017/07/19
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    My friend had her Win7 64 bit Home Premium updated auto by MS. Many issues developed. We did a sys restore and it seemed to take care of things. After a few days she called and the comp boots to desktop but then it immediately goes to a black screen over the desktop. If she turns the monitor off and back on she can see the desktop for a brief glance. Tried booting to safe mode but it does the same thing...black over the desktop and not able to act on anything there.

    She didn't have a Win 7 repair disc so I made one and mailed it to her which she got today. She put it in but nothing happens. So tried to access bios to change boot order, but can't get in with f1, f2, f10, f12, esc, del, ins, ctrl-alt-esc, etc. Had her hold down several regular keys on boot to force bios. Nothing gets us to bios to access that cd first. Thoughts?
     
    Last edited: 2017/07/19
    JAK,
    #1
  2. 2017/07/20
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    I take it you mean it received an Auto W7 Update?
    Can you provide more info on
    If it had been due to the update - an uninstall of the update should have been the 1st. job.
    More info about her comp would help. How old is it? Make, Model and specs.
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/13853/windows-lifecycle-fact-sheet
    Was this a legit WU for W7?
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/07/20
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    It's a refurbished HP DC7900 I got for her from Walmart. Worked fine since 2014. There were several updates and I thought a system restore would work since it was before all of the updates. They were auto updates through Windows update for W7.
     
    Last edited: 2017/07/20
    JAK,
    #3
  5. 2017/07/20
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    When the machine first boots up. A black screen with the HP logo that is known as the HP splash screen. Press the ESC(Escape) key right away when the splash screen appears. A menu will show F9=Change boot order. There are other options on the menu just read the menu and choose the F(Function) Key associated with the option you want to use.
     
    lj50,
    #4
  6. 2017/07/20
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    I'll have her try tomorrow, but the logo flashes so fast she hasn't been able to catch it. Her Pause button won't pause it.
     
    JAK,
    #5
  7. 2017/07/20
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi JAK. Have a look at my guide, for repairing Windows 7 and follow the instructions from the section labeled:

    If the Windows Repair All in One tool does not repair your issue with Windows Vista or Windows 7 then follow these steps:

    Let me know if the computer works successfully after performing those steps that I have outlined in my guide.
     
  8. 2017/07/21
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    That is nice and comprehensive. She's 100 mi away, and only has the one comp, and can't get into safe mode - or bios to change order to cd first, so if I can't get her running somewhat I'll have to wait till I can get the comp from her. She can get to safe mode actually, but just like regular desktop, once she's there a black screen overlays it and it can't be accessed.
     
    Last edited: 2017/07/21
    JAK,
    #7
  9. 2017/07/21
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    She just called and after rebooting several times it booted to desktop and everything works! We set several restore points. Tried to go to f12 to change boot order but it won't go in there. It just restarts Windows right away. Is there anyway to go to bios and change order other than reboot process?
     
    JAK,
    #8
  10. 2017/07/21
    Christer

    Christer Geek Member Staff

    Joined:
    2002/12/17
    Messages:
    5,905
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Sweden
    Computer Experience:
    I'm trying!
    Check the motherboard manual for the key(s) to get into BIOS. Many use the DEL-key but it varies.
     
  11. 2017/07/21
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    Like I mentioned we've tried everything (f1, f2, f10, f12, esc, del, ins, ctrl-alt-esc, etc) but it still won't go to bios. Whatever you enter just goes to Windows start. Her boot screen says to enter f10. I will try to find the hdd from hers.
     
    Last edited: 2017/07/21
    JAK,
    #10
  12. 2017/07/22
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    Called and black screen is back. Still can't get to bios.
     
    JAK,
    #11
  13. 2017/07/22
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    What's the Product Number(example P/N=WA999UA#ABA) It's located on the bottom of the machine. The Model number you provided HP DC7900 doesn't help much. When I ran model HP D7900 I came up with approximately 50 different P/Ns. Take a look at this: HP DC7900 Technical Reference Guide
     
    Last edited: 2017/07/22
  14. 2017/07/23
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    I will have the computer in my possession tomorrow.
     
    JAK,
    #13
  15. 2017/07/24
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    Yea, I changed the cmos battery and it changed boot order and things running well right now. Play with it a bit to see if all is good.
     
    JAK,
    #14
  16. 2017/07/25
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    I was wondering if it was a motherboard issue. (battery, in this case)

    Hope it solves your problem.
     
    Last edited: 2017/07/25
  17. 2017/07/25
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    Looks like everything is ok after battery change. Now I have boot order ready for next time to use the repair disk! thanks
     
    JAK,
    #16
  18. 2017/07/25
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Thanks for letting us know. :)
     
  19. 2017/07/26
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    Guess it's not resolved! The original issue with Windows update is still not a go. The comp runs fine. I've run SFC and Repair and several other things, but Update will not update KB 4025341 keeps failing with error code 800B0100. Looked on internet and there are many discussions of the difficulty in loading this update.
     
    JAK,
    #18
  20. 2017/07/26
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
  21. 2017/07/28
    JAK

    JAK Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/19
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    inter
    Interesting. Her desktop came up fine with no black screen overlaying it now and everything was working. I was able to use Teamviewer and download both of those updates from your solution article on hers. But they were both already installed it says...even though they don't show up in the installed updates list. Then I did Win update and there is that KB4025341 again that started all the issues. So I told her let's leave it all alone for a couple weeks and see if MS does something to that update to fix it. So many others are having issues with it as well. So for now it's working and auto updates is off. I checked my comp that I'm typing on right now and I have that update on board and no issues.
     
    JAK,
    #20

Share This Page