1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved WiFi Speeds

Discussion in 'Networking (Hardware & Software)' started by hawk22, 2017/07/13.

  1. 2017/07/13
    hawk22

    hawk22 Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/31
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Chelsea Aus.
    Computer Experience:
    "hanging in there"
    In short, Laptop is Dell Inspirion1440, Router is DLink dual band ac 1900 3 Antennas.
    Currently I use a dual band ac 600Mbps USB Dongle for WiFi on the 5GHz band.
    My question is and I think I know the answer, but I would love to hear it from a qualified person, my networking skills are nothing to be proud of.
    Since the laptop has only USB2 ports would an ac1200 Mbps USB dongle give me a noticable improvement of WiFi speed or would I need to have USB3 for that to happen.
    Would upgrading to ac1200Mbps be a waste of money.
    Thanks
    hawk22
     
  2. 2017/07/13
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    If you are using it only for internet, don't bother until your internet speed is blazing fast & this is the only wifi gadget you are using and you are sitting within few feet of the router. These are theoretical speeds.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/07/13
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    If I needed a new adapter, I would buy the latest technologies for future proofing. But I would not buy a new adapter if my current one still worked. And I note that Dell already supports 802.11n which is probably faster than your ISP already provides.
     
    Bill,
    #3
  5. 2017/07/13
    hawk22

    hawk22 Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/31
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Chelsea Aus.
    Computer Experience:
    "hanging in there"
    I previously had the laptop on the 2.4GHz band and I felt a improvement in speed by changing to the 5GHz band, and yes most of the time the laptop is on my desk with the router just above on the wall, but when I checked 2 rooms away I still have a good signal on the 5GHz band.
     
  6. 2017/07/13
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    What ISP in Aussie is providing 1200 Mps Bill? Ookla Speed Test will indicate what you can get. I'm on Fibre-Optic and max of 300Mps but I never see that on a test.
    Fritz!Box Fon Model WLAN 7360 Router/Modem.
     
  7. 2017/07/14
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,713
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Facts:
    USB 2 or USB 3 won't make any difference for adapter rates.
    Internet rates are governed by the ISP, not the router or adapters.
    Internet rates are also governed by Web servers' configurations.
    I know of no ISP that provides rates that adapters are capable of utilizing fully.
    Wifi rates are entirely theoretical. No adapter is capable of achieving its stated maximum in real world conditions, there are too many variables.
     
  8. 2017/07/14
    hawk22

    hawk22 Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/31
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Chelsea Aus.
    Computer Experience:
    "hanging in there"
    Agreed, but why in my opinion did I notice a definite increase in speed by changing my laptop from 2.4 GHz to 5GHz.
     
  9. 2017/07/14
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
  10. 2017/07/14
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    An excellent read rsinfo. ;) I think the article should help Bill (hawk22) to decide what he needs. Long waves versus Short waves. Thick walls versus thin walls.
    Thread start states WiFi speeds and I find speed depends on traffic (other users) and time of day. You could install the very best devices and still suffer with speed delays for the reasons I noted.:eek:
     
  11. 2017/07/15
    hawk22

    hawk22 Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/31
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Chelsea Aus.
    Computer Experience:
    "hanging in there"
    Yes I already had read that article before I changed my Laptop to the 5 GHz band. What that article does not clearly explain though is, in devices selecting the band.
    My Router is dual band both bands are enabled laptop always selects 5GHz, my Logitech Squeesbox I use to stream music of the laptop only operates on the 2.4 GHz band, I don't have to do anything the Squeesbox automatically uses the 2.4GHz band while the laptop operates on the 5GHz band.
    That article does not make that clear. Not in my opinion anyway.
    Yes Neil time of day makes the biggest difference in my situation, just after School finishes.
     
  12. 2017/07/15
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    The selection of bands depends on the device in question. Some devices latch onto the strongest signal irrespective of band & some others may have a preference for a particular band. It's manufacturer defined & thus can't be "explained".
     
  13. 2017/07/15
    hawk22

    hawk22 Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/31
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Chelsea Aus.
    Computer Experience:
    "hanging in there"
    That is correct rsinfo. My Logitech Squeesbox Touch is 2.4 GHz only, set by manufacturer. When I first changed to the 5 GHz band I didn't know whether my Squeesbox would work or not.
     

Share This Page