1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved What is causing inverted black triangle, centre of screen?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by BobbyScot, 2018/08/07.

  1. 2018/08/07
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    I notice a small black coloured inverted triangle is showing constant on the centre of the monitor screen. Is this a pixel fault?
     
  2. 2018/08/07
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    No. A bad pixel would appear as a dot, not a defined, geometric shape like a triangle.
     
    Bill,
    #2

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/08/07
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Bill, definitely appears as a small black coloured triangular shape or a half a dot. Strange, this still appears when computer is closed down, but monitor remains powered up. Bobby.
     
  5. 2018/08/07
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    That is odd. Maybe you accidentally pressed the monitor's OSD (on screen display) menu or some other button? You might unplug the monitor's power cable for a few seconds then plug it back in and see what happens.
     
    Bill,
    #4
  6. 2018/08/07
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Bill, carried out what you suggested, unfortunately fault is still eminent. Monitor is a Packard Bell Viseo 230Ws. Three clickable switches located underneath bottom of monitor screen. Pressing these switches show different random steps, Volume, Brightness. No Instructions where included with the monitor.
     
  7. 2018/08/07
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Bill, uninstalled/reinstalled NVIDIA graphics card latest software. Fault remains, I would guess it is more likely be with the monitor, but I could be wrong.
     
  8. 2018/08/07
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    How old is the monitor? All the references I found said this particular monitor was first released for sale in Jan. 2006 other than that any other listings about it were dated 2010 which would make it 8 years old at least.That model is no longer for sale except some place like eBay.
     
  9. 2018/08/07
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    JH. Monitor is 8 years old. I tried several times to obtain information on Packard Bell Viseo, but Defender or Malwarebytes kept Web sites from opening marking them as PUPs or could damage my computer. Finally found a site that gave suggestion to try and gently tap screen surface, several times with an object like rounded end of a pencil. With little chance of success I tried this tip -- well it has certainly done the trick as the small black triangle shape, has disappeared completely from the off centre of the screen. It is hoped, to be permanent fix. Bobby.
    Thanks to all who responded, appreciated.
     
  10. 2018/08/08
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    That is weird. That tapping trick or light rub with a finger I've seen work before with a stuck pixel. But again, a stuck pixel would show up as a dot, not a geometric shape. So it would seem you had several stuck pixels. That would lead me to suspect that monitor is failing. You may not get another black triangle, but I would not be surprised if something else does not decide to appear and "stick" around.
     
    Bill,
    #9
  11. 2018/08/08
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Bill, certainly, today the triangular black shape is not imminent and long it may remain so. When I noticed the black shape remained visible on the screen after computer was powered down, it had to be the monitor at fault. Most probably, monitor will pack in for good and hopefully replaced for under £200. My personal requirement is primarily general use and watching videos. Bobby.
     
  12. 2018/08/08
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    If me, I would not wait and would start looking out for sales. I think for what you are planing to use it for, you have lots of under £200 options, as seen at NewEgg UK.
     
    jholland1964 likes this.
  13. 2018/08/08
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Bill, many thanks for Web page on monitors, appreciated. One model caught my eye BenQ BL2405HT. I have very little knowledge of Monitors and will certainly be grateful as to your own experiences with monitors. Only one make is certainly out HP, their after sale is non existent, through my personal dealings with HP shows.
     
  14. 2018/08/09
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Benq is a reputable brand.
    That said, I tend to stick with Samsung first then Viewsonic but mainly because I have had really good luck with them. I am not a gamer and if I want to watch a movie, I have a 55" LG OLED out in the living room for that.

    One thing I insist on is height adjustment - sadly, most monitor stands don't support it. I don't understand why. Desks don't have height adjustment. And most people adjust their chair height based on their body size and keyboard height. So I insist on monitors that let me set the height most comfortable for my neck.

    The main thing you probably need to look at is inputs. And that will depend on the outputs of your computer's graphics solution. If you only have DVI for a digital output, for example, you might want to look for a monitor with a DVI input. Adapters are available, but I prefer to avoid them if possible.
     
  15. 2018/08/09
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Bill, yes you make valid pointers to remember when considering buying a new monitor. I needed to obtain a 2" thick board to raise my monitor of the computer desk, as you say no height adjustment are available and this certainly applies to my 8 year old monitor. My maximum space area for monitor on computer desk is 22" and adequate for my use. I use this room as it is the furthest room away. Video watching is in my case, use of surround sound which can be a little loud at times. I am not quite sure what cable is used, cable with 9 hole connector both ends, computer is just over a year old.
     
  16. 2018/08/09
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    That sounds like the old D-Sub or VGA connector. You want to move away from that if possible as that is the old, very old, analog interface. Digital is the way to go so you will need DVI, HDMI, or DisplayPort for that.
     
  17. 2018/08/09
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Description of the Packard Bell 23in on the Web, connections are DVI and standard D-sub. I must heed your suggestion to not replace a new monitor with these connections
     
    Last edited: 2018/08/09
  18. 2018/08/09
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,877
    Likes Received:
    327
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 Gaming X 3G Review - Tom's Hardware
    There is a view on this display of the connectors on the Graphics card - 1 x DVI and HDMI connectors - there is no 9 pin connector!
    All my Monitors have 2 connector options - DVI and VGA. The VGA is a standard 15 pin connector.
    Bobby did you mean your "old" monitor had 9 pin connector?

    You will only get new monitors with HDMI or DVI or possibly VGA.
    Please explain further if I have interpreted your quote wrongly.
     
  19. 2018/08/10 at 08:36
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    I am unsure, other than this computer is over a year old and the monitor was not replaced at the time, but kept and still in use. I have checked the Packard Bell Viseo again and certainly has no 9pin connector, but more like 15 pin. All said and done, monitor at present in use, functions satisfactory. Black mark in question is no longer visible. Reading information on monitors other than manufacturers name, 1ms or 4ms or 6ms response time varies according to price. I would guess response time will be the highest for Gamers, that I am not a "gamer".
     
    Last edited: 2018/08/10 at 13:24
  20. 2018/08/10 at 09:45
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    I think (hope!) you added an extra "not" in there. You need to make sure any new monitor does have the necessary connectors.

    Sorry, when you said 9 pins, I was thinking 15 (the VGA below).
    [​IMG]

    So you need to look at the back of your computer. If you have a graphics card, look in the expansion slot area. If you are using integrated graphics, look in the rear I/O section where all your cables connect. See what video connections you have and go from there. Or consider getting a new graphics card and monitor. That said, with a new card, you will also need to make sure the power supply is big enough to support it.
     
  21. 2018/08/10 at 13:28
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Card fitted with computer and according to Device Manager is NVIDIA GeForce 1060 3GB, and presumably fitted by HP in my HP OMEN computer. Cable connecting computer and monitor are 15 pin o[……..]o. both ends cable black 2metre long. Up to this minute, both monitor and graphics card are working satisfactory.
     

Share This Page