1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved W7 is able to start only with Repair Disc inserted

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by scgoh123, 2016/09/20.

  1. 2016/09/20
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    When I turned on my laptop after months (without CD), it just gave me a BLSOD.
    Then I did startup repair with the repair CD, ran memory diagnostics, but it said 'no problems detected'
    After that I restarted my laptop, forgetting to remove my repair CD. Then W7 booted up as usual!

    However, when I removed the repair CD while I boot up my laptop today, it stucked at the boot screen for five minutes, then it returned me this error message:
    http://i.imgur.com/csF7YMw.jpg
    (I know when Windows failed to boot up and the error message is from WINDOWS BOOT MANAGER, the time has come for my old laptop. Thank goodness 90% of my data is backed up)

    It's pretty unusual because Windows is supposed to boot from HDD instead of relying on CD. Tried safe mode but no avail.

    What should I do?
     
  2. 2016/09/20
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi scgoh123. Follow the instructions in my guide and start from the section under If the Windows Repair All in One tool does not repair your issue with Windows Vista or Windows 7 then follow these steps and let me know how everything goes.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/09/20
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    This time I tried to boot from my repair disc again.
    However, it took forever to go into command prompt. The machine hanged.
     
  5. 2016/09/20
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Upon booting from the CD you should be able to access the Command Prompt. On what step does the computer hang?
     
  6. 2016/09/20
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    10 minutes to boot from CD, then after I selected 'system recovery options', then the system hanged.
     
  7. 2016/09/21
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Make sure you have all external peripheral devices removed from the computer such as printers or other USB devices and then try again.

    If the same thing happens then download SeaTools for DOS and burn the .ISO file to a CD and boot the computer using your newly created Seatools CD.

    Once the computer boots from the Seatools CD, see if the hard drive passes the Long Generic Test.
     
  8. 2016/09/25
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    It took forever to run the long generic test.
    I think it's the failing hard drive that causes the problem.
    Is it possible to make it as a slave drive for my new laptop? (I will just buy an external case and transfer the remaining 10% of the files to my new laptop)
     
  9. 2016/09/26
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Just use this device to hook up your hard drive as an external hard drive so you can get the data backed up.
     
  10. 2016/09/26
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    Isn't it similar to this?
     
  11. 2016/09/26
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Yeah it is but as long as you can plug it in via a USB port to the computer then you are good.
     
  12. 2016/10/08
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    Okay thanks Evan Omo! Sorry for the late reply because I was dealing with mid-terms last week.
    I think I'll put this thread as 'resolved' for a while, because my old laptop is not with me now.
    Admin, can you KIV this thread until I got my hands on the laptop? Thanks
     
  13. 2016/12/14
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    Bumping
     
  14. 2016/12/14
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    Thanks Admin.

    Finally I got my hands on the laptop! I inserted the repair disc, but it performed system restore instead when I pressed 'System Recovery Options'.
    After rebooting, my laptop miraculously works!! But after the next cold boot it shows the same error message again.
    I tried to use Seatools for DOS, but don't know why it refused to burn to CD or USB. In the end I used WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostics for DOS (since my HDD is WD), ran the extended test, but no error found, even though after 5 hours of scanning. I tried restarting the PC after that, when it comes to Startup repair, it powers itself down suddenly.

    In short words, my laptop refuses to boot normally.
    Ruling out failing HDD, what should I do next?
     
  15. 2016/12/14
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    If you have ran through my guide of repairing your Windows installation and you still can't get Windows to boot normally then it looks like a clean install of Windows is in order.
     
  16. 2016/12/15
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    Last night I tried the method that you show in post #2. When I attempted to repair BCD at the first time, it doesn't work, because BCD by default is write-protected (since it's system files) and I need to add the following line : "C:\Boot\BCD attrib -s -r -h" in order to continue. Maybe you can add this to your guide. Just my suggestion though.

    And another weird phenomenon happened. Windows is installed in C: drive by default, but in command prompt it shows in D: instead. Is it normal?

    By the way, after I performed the steps as shown, windows booted up miraculously!! After trying a few times, yes it works!!

    I didn't modify any BCD files, MBR and these stuffs months ago. Why BCD files will corrupt after leaving my laptop unused for months? This is not normal right? Is it an indicator that my HDD is failing? Or any other reasons?
     
  17. 2016/12/15
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    It could be the hard drive going out that is a possibility.

    Go ahead and run chkdsk /r from an elevated Command Prompt and type Y to allow Windows to perform a disk check the next time you reboot the computer. Then reboot the computer to allow Check Disk to run. Also make sure to back up any important data to an external hard drive if you haven't done so already.
     
  18. 2016/12/19
    scgoh123

    scgoh123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/04
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Singapore
    Computer Experience:
    Still Improving
    Okay.
    Thanks and that concludes my problem.
    Thanks Evan Omo!
     
  19. 2016/12/19
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    You are welcome. :)
     

Share This Page