1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

unable to reset IE settings

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by cisco, 2011/04/09.

  1. 2011/04/09
    cisco

    cisco Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/09
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    guadalajara, mexico
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Vista Ultimate IE9

    Tools/Internet Options/Advanced/Reset/Reset
    then there a red x next to applying default settings.

    What can I do?:confused:

    Tx-
     
  2. 2011/04/09
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,734
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2011/04/09
    cisco

    cisco Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/09
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    guadalajara, mexico
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Fix It can't help me. I have the latest Service Pack.
    I also can't run any programs. example: malwarebytes.
    I downloaded exe fix but I get the same popup message.

    The popup tells me the parameter is incorrect.

    When I was trying to take care of the first problem I went into the computer/properties/secutity area. I don't know how I did it but I removed Special permissions and don't know how to return it. I have all other boxes ticked. I think my problems are in this area somewhere.
     
  5. 2011/04/09
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,734
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    I am not familiar with Vista, but I suggest you restore your System through System Restore to a point prior to these problems.
     
  6. 2011/04/09
    cisco

    cisco Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/09
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    guadalajara, mexico
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I am in Safe Mode now and I can access the programs but still can't reset the defaults.
    I ran Malwarebytes. Nothing detected.

    Just finished System Restore. Didn't help me with my problem.
     
    Last edited: 2011/04/09
  7. 2011/04/09
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,734
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    I can't help you with any changes you made to Special Permissions - I have never used Vista and Windows 7 is somewhat different and I would say that with your posted experience you should not have ventured into that area.

    If this is a case of permissions run IE as an Administrator (right click on IE in Programs > Run as Administrator and see if you are able to reset IE.

    It would help to know why you feel that you need to reset IE.
     
  8. 2011/04/09
    cisco

    cisco Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/09
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    guadalajara, mexico
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I need to return to safe mode. Be right back.
     
  9. 2011/04/09
    cisco

    cisco Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/09
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    guadalajara, mexico
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    I'm back in safe mode. Can't reset the defaults.

    I wanted to reset because, when I'm not yet in IE and click on a desktop icon it won't open. When I open IE everything is fine. I was trying to correct this problem by resetting and the more I tried the deeper in trouble I got.


    .
     
  10. 2011/04/09
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,734
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Is it only the IE icon which fails to function or all Desktop icons?
     
  11. 2011/04/09
    cisco

    cisco Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/09
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    guadalajara, mexico
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    All Desktop icons. My IE icon is in the quick launch. No problem opening IE.

    Going into All Programs I can't open anything in there.
     
    Last edited: 2011/04/09
  12. 2011/04/09
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,734
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    In that case I suggest you start a new thread in the Vista forum titled ' Cannot start programs from Desktopicons or All Programs'.

    This is a Vista problem not IE.
     
  13. 2011/04/09
    cisco

    cisco Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/09
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    guadalajara, mexico
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    OK but I started in the Vista forum and was moved into here but I'll try it again. Thanks for trying to help me out.
     
  14. 2011/04/09
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,734
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Agreed - I originally thought it was an IE specific problem.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.