1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved [Trying to remove "bloatware" from Asus Eee PC 1025C Flare]

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices' started by Rothbury, 2012/11/25.

  1. 2012/11/25
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi guys, Newbie here.

    Was reading on here about the bloatware on the asus and what to uninstall. Took some of the advice and subsequently got a message on start up " Init xml file failed ". Have put some of the bloatware back on hoping that would fix the problem but no luck. As soon as you click on the OK button it goes away and resumes as normal. I am running W7. I noticed this was a question that was asked back in 2010 but really haven't seen a solution.

    Can anybody tell me how to get rid of the message? All contributions are appreciated.
     
  2. 2012/11/26
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,685
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi Rothbury, Welcome to Windowsbbs! :)

    It sounds to me like there is a startup program that is broken and is no longer running on startup properly.

    Click Start< Run and type msconfig and hit enter. After the System Configuration window opens, under Startup selection make sure the Normal Startup option is selected. If it is not then select it and click on Ok.

    Then download and run Autoruns. Save the Autoruns zip folder to your desktop. After you download the zipped folder on your desktop, right click the zipped folder and click Extract All. After the folder has been extracted, open the regular folder. Run the autoruns.exe program by right clicking on it and selecting Run as Administrator. When you open the program click the Logon Tab and then highlight and remove the program that is present in the list. Autoruns displays startup items that are missing in yellow so most likely your startup file that is missing will be listed there. You can also remove any other entries that you no longer want to start up with Windows 7.

    Also please enter your System Details. It helps us in answering your questions.

    Note: A common error is to forget to show your System Details in your profile:

    Make sure to do the above when entering your System Details, thanks.
     
    Last edited: 2012/11/26

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2012/11/26
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Sorry, did everything you suggested. Even clicked on all the tabs in Autoruns to see if I could find it but everything was normal. Found a couple yellowed items in "Everything" and remedied them but nothing in "Logon ".

    It is not affecting the normal operation of the netbook, it is just annoying to have it there every time you login and it disappears when I click the "OK" button.

    Do we have any other alternatives?
     
  5. 2012/11/27
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Reinstall .NET framework 3.5.
     
    Arie,
    #4
  6. 2012/11/27
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Actually don't have it on. Just .NET Framework 4 Client Profile and Extended.
     
  7. 2012/11/27
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    .NET Framework 3.5.1 is part of Widows 7.

    Check Turn Windows features on or off (from Programs and Features).

    Another option is to do a system restore to a time/date prior to uninstalling stuff.
     

    Attached Files:

    Arie,
    #6
  8. 2012/11/27
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    OK, got it but how would I uninstall and then reinstall if it doesn't show in "uninstall a program ".

    From memory this was the recommendation from the forum when I searched, but it was dated about two years ago.
     
  9. 2012/11/27
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,685
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    In the Turn Windows Features On or Off window, if the .NET Framework checkbox is not checked that that means that the component has been uninstalled. To reinstall it simply check the .NET Framework 3.5 checkbox and click on Ok when done. When you are prompted to restart the computer, go ahead and do so.
     
  10. 2012/11/27
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    So conversely if I unblue the box against .NET framework, it will uninstall it, then I just go back in after restart and check the box on .net and it will install. Correct?
     
    Last edited: 2012/11/27
  11. 2012/11/27
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    OK Did all that, ie system restore, uninstall and reinstall .NET and still have the message.
     
  12. 2012/11/28
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Well, then I have no other ideas except a full system 'reset', i.e. back to manufacturer defaults.

    Probably means you'll have to do a System Recovery. Note that'll mean you have to backup any user data you want saved, as a recovery usually means all data will be lost.
     
  13. 2012/11/28
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Ok Guys, well, thanks for the effort. If something pops into your mind I will check back regularly
     
  14. 2012/11/28
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,986
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Maybe search your registry for init.xml or just *.xml in the startup locations. Maybe that'll give you a clue.

     
  15. 2012/11/28
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Nah. Tried all that without success. Found .xml files in Office but no Init.xml. Incidentally, I tried the same process on my main computer and it came up with the same result. This would lead me to believe that it was possibly in some of the bloatware that was taken off the netbook and has broken some link. Like I said earlier it does not seem to affect the operation of the netbook. I may try putting the bloatware back on if I can remember what I took off.
     
  16. 2012/12/08
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    post the contents of: (highlight each key > rt click > export)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
     
  17. 2012/12/08
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    @TonyT, Hi I used to live just across the river in Bethesda MD.

    OK I tried that and have them in a file but I see nowhere to upload them to this message. There are no buttons to import and if I copy/paste they just show exactly the same as above ie HKEY etc, etc. Can you help me out here.
     
  18. 2012/12/08
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,603
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    Copy/paste the contents of the file...
     
  19. 2012/12/08
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "GfxServiceInstall "= "C:\\windows\\system32\\GfxCUIServiceInstall.vbs "
    "Adobe Reader Speed Launcher "= "\ "C:\\Program Files\\Adobe\\Reader 9.0\\Reader\\Reader_sl.exe\" "
    "HotkeyMon "= "AsusSender.exe C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\HotkeyService\\HotKeyMon.exe "
    "HotkeyService "= "AsusSender.exe C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\HotkeyService\\HotkeyService.exe "
    "SuperHybridEngine "= "AsusSender.exe C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\SHE\\SuperHybridEngine.exe "
    "CapsHook "= "AsusSender.exe C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\CapsHook\\CapsHook.exe "
    "Eee Docking "= "C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\Eee Docking\\Eee Docking.exe autorun "
    "VAWinAgent "= "C:\\ExpressGateUtil\\VAWinAgent.exe "
    "IgfxTray "= "C:\\windows\\system32\\igfxtray.exe "
    "HotKeysCmds "= "C:\\windows\\system32\\hkcmd.exe "
    "Persistence "= "C:\\windows\\system32\\igfxpers.exe "
    "RtHDVCpl "= "C:\\Program Files\\Realtek\\Audio\\HDA\\RtHDVCpl.exe -s "
    "ETDCtrl "=hex(2):25,00,50,00,72,00,6f,00,67,00,72,00,61,00,6d,00,46,00,69,00,\
    6c,00,65,00,73,00,25,00,5c,00,45,00,6c,00,61,00,6e,00,74,00,65,00,63,00,68,\
    00,5c,00,45,00,54,00,44,00,43,00,74,00,72,00,6c,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,65,00,\
    00,00
    "ASUSPRP "= "C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\APRP\\APRP.EXE "
    "BCSSync "= "\ "C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office14\\BCSSync.exe\" /DelayServices "
    "iSeriesCharge "= "AsusSender.exe C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\USBChargeSetting\\iSeriesCharge.exe "
    "Adobe ARM "= "\ "C:\\Program Files\\Common Files\\Adobe\\ARM\\1.0\\AdobeARM.exe\" "
    "SunJavaUpdateSched "= "\ "C:\\Program Files\\Common Files\\Java\\Java Update\\jusched.exe\" "
    "ASUS Sync Loader "= "\ "C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\ASUS Sync\\asusUPCTLoader.exe\" -startup "
    "ASUSWebStorage "= "C:\\Program Files\\ASUS\\ASUS WebStorage\\3.0.130.270\\AsusWSPanel.exe /S "
    "WD Quick View "= "C:\\Program Files\\Western Digital\\WD Quick View\\WDDMStatus.exe "
    "AVG_UI "= "\ "C:\\Program Files\\AVG\\AVG2013\\avgui.exe\" /TRAYONLY "
    "Logitech Download Assistant "= "C:\\Windows\\system32\\rundll32.exe C:\\Windows\\System32\\LogiLDA.dll,LogiFetch "

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents]
    @=" "

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\IMAIL]
    "Installed "= "1 "
    @=" "

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\MAPI]
    "NoChange "= "1 "
    "Installed "= "1 "
    @=" "

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\MSFS]
    "Installed "= "1 "
    @=" "
     
  20. 2012/12/08
    Rothbury

    Rothbury Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/11/25
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Qld., Australia
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "Sidebar "= "C:\\Program Files\\Windows Sidebar\\sidebar.exe /autoRun "

    Hi guys, Don't ask me how I did it but I copied them onto a memory stick and transferred them onto the main machine. Just wouldn't let me do it on the netbook.

    Anyways I sure hope you can see something in there that is amiss.

    Cheers.
     
  21. 2012/12/09
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    1. Go to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    2. Highlight the key > rt click > Export > save as hklm-run.reg (this is for backup purposes and can be restored if need be)

    3. rt click and delete these unneeded startup items:
    Adobe Reader Speed Launcher "= "\ "C:\\Program Files\\Adobe\\Reader 9.0\\Reader\\Reader_sl.exe\
    Logitech Download Assistant "= "C:\\Windows\\system32\\rundll32.exe C:\\Windows\\System32\\LogiLDA.dll,LogiFetch
    "IgfxTray "= "C:\\windows\\system32\\igfxtray.exe "
    "RtHDVCpl "= "C:\\Program Files\\Realtek\\Audio\\HDA\\RtHDVCpl.exe -s "

    FYI, what these things do:
    SuperHybridEngine.exe = Asus power management
    GfxServiceInstall = script that starts the graphics service
    Adobe Reader Speed Launcher = supposed to load Adobe Reader faster but really doesn't do anything noticable
    HotkeyMon, AsusSender & HotkeyService & CapsHook = used to load Asus programs & utilities & specialized keyboard buttons and button combinations.
    Eee Docking = Asus toolbar on Desktop with shortcuts to programs.
    VAWinAgent = Express Gate Utilities = loads certain Asus utilities and also proviodes a mini operating system on a chip with limited software, i,e, browser, skype, photos, games, messenger.
    IgfxTray = Intel Graphic control panel link in system tray.
    HotKeysCmds & Persistence = part of Intel graphics package.
    RtHDVCpl = Realtek audio control panel & volume control.
    ETDCtrl = ETD Ware TSR Enhancements = touchpad driver & utility.
    ASUSPRP = Asus registration & prompt to register.
    iSeriesCharge = part of Asus Sender
    Adobe ARM = Adobe auto update
    SunJavaUpdateSched = auto update
    ASUS Sync Loader & ASUSWebStorage = Asus backup and sync to the cloud.
    WD Quick View = utility for network discovery of WD drives.
    Logitech Download Assistant = auto detects and installs updated drivers for Logitech devices.

    4. Use msconfig to prevent all the Asus stuff from loading at boot, one at a time until the error message no longer appears, but don't disable SuperHybridEngine or VAWinAgent.

    Whenever I get an Asus laptop to setup for a client I usually get rid of ALL the Asus stuff except its power mgmt utilities & Express Gate Utilities.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.