1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Trouble accessing WORKGROUP in Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by wjburl, 2015/10/18.

  1. 2015/10/18
    wjburl

    wjburl Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/10/16
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    When all the computers on my LAN were running Window 7, I setup WORKGROUP. The computer I used to do that is no longer in use. I have a total of four computers on my LAN. I’ve kept Window 7 on my HTPC because I want to keep Windows Media Center. The other three were replaced With Windows 8 computers that have since been upgraded to Windows 10. I can access the HTPC shared folders from the Windows 10 computers, but I cannot access the Windows 10 shared folders from the Windows 7 computer or from another Windows 10 computer. I am asked to provide and account name and password. I enter the account name and password I use to login to those computers, but it fails. Before I upgraded to Windows 10 from Windows 8.1, I wasn't asked for the account name and password. What can I do to access the shared folders on the Windows 10 computers?
     
  2. 2015/10/18
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2015/10/18
    wjburl

    wjburl Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/10/16
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Evan Omo, I made the change suggested in the article to all my computers and still have trouble accessing one Win 10 computer. I can access that computer from one computer, but not the other two. I still get the popup asking for credentials when I try to access that computer from one of the Win 10 computer and the Win 7 computer. It is accessible from my Win 10 laptop. Otherwise, every computer can access the others. BTW, I also rebooted the computer that I can't access and the computer I am trying to access from after I made and saved the changes,
     
  5. 2015/10/19
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
  6. 2015/10/19
    Nchalada

    Nchalada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2014/08/13
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Are you using a Microsoft ID to login to the Windows 10 machines? I've found, even in the Beta of 10, that if you have a Local Account, rather than the MSID, to login to, that sort of networking hassle goes away, for the most part.
     
  7. 2015/10/19
    wjburl

    wjburl Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/10/16
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    All my Win 10 computers were setup with my MS account. Everyone has full permissions on the shared items.
     
  8. 2015/10/19
    wjburl

    wjburl Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/10/16
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Is there a way to start all over without doing a clean OS install on all my computers? I notice that the left panel of File Explorer has a Homegroup icon. If I click on it, I get an option to create a Homegroup. Is this something I should consider and if I did, would there be WORKGROUP conflicts? None of the computers in use now were in use when WORKGROUP was created.
     
    Last edited: 2015/10/19
  9. 2015/10/19
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
  10. 2015/10/19
    wjburl

    wjburl Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/10/16
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Local accounts didn't help. I'd like to emphasize that I didn't have a problem before I upgraded from Win 8.1 to Win 10.
     
  11. 2015/10/19
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Try creating a HomeGroup instead and see if you can access the network shares that way.
     
  12. 2015/10/19
    wjburl

    wjburl Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/10/16
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I'll give the Homegroup a try. It may be a day or two though. Thanks.
     
  13. 2015/10/20
    wjburl

    wjburl Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/10/16
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I created a Homegroup with the following results showing under the Homegroup icon in the File Explorer:
    A. Win 10 computer can see A and C
    B. Win 10 computer can see A, B, C and D
    C. Win 10 computer can see A and C
    D. Win 7 computer can see B

    However, now that I've created the Homegroup, I can access most of the computers listed under the Network icon in File Explorer. There's still a couple of problems, but I can now do what I was trying to do earlier. The problem isn't completely resolved and I don't understand why the creation of a Homegroup did what it did, but for the most part, I can sync data on other computers the way I was operating before the Win 10 upgrade.
     
    Last edited: 2015/10/20
  14. 2015/10/21
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Do all the computers have the same security software installed? Are any of the machines using a 3rd party firewall?
     
  15. 2015/10/22
    wjburl

    wjburl Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/10/16
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Evan Omo, I thought I was only running MS's security SW and firewall, but I discovered that computer B (in the list above) was running SUPERAntiVirus program. I stopped the program and now the only problem I have is accessing Computer C from the Win 7 computer. It's something I can live with at this point. BTW, Computer C is a Dell Inspiron Laptop. All the othe computers are my own builds. Thanks, I think I'll mark the thread solved.
     
  16. 2015/10/22
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Alright then. Thanks for the update. :)
     

Share This Page