1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

[Tried Windows 8, didn't like it, and went back to Windows 7]

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by rytona, 2012/12/05.

  1. 2012/12/05
    rytona

    rytona Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/02/01
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Midlands England
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Well i bought it and installed it . Tried it and thought i do not like it.
    Put 7 back on and 8 is in my cabinet until i get a load of time to reprograme myself.
    I suppose if you are totally new to 8 it's ok but i did give a sigh of relief when 7 started up.:eek:
     
  2. 2012/12/05
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    I was not at all keen on 8 when I ran the Public Preview - it was far from intuitive, but have since bought a laptop with 8 installed and with one simple software addition -Start8 - it is now boots directly to the desktop complete with Start button/menu just like Win 7 and the Metro screen is now not omnipresent The laptop can now be used just like Win 7 - there are revisions to the GUI in 8, for example, the ribbon bar (aka Office) in File (Windows) Explorer, but that's not a downer for me!
     
    Greg Golden likes this.

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2012/12/05
    catilley1092

    catilley1092 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2009/08/13
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Sorry to hear that, I've been running Windows 8 since 02/29 (when CP was released), & for all intents & purposes, it became my default OS on that day. What attracted me to the OS, even though it was a preview, was it's sheer speed, even on low spec hardware.

    Until shortly after 8 RP was released on 05/31, I ran the OS w/o a Start Menu replacement. I simply winged it on Day One, enough to navigate the OS fairly comfortably. Honestly, I had no issue with this, & likely wouldn't have changed, except for some friends had suggestions for me.

    About the first week or so of June, I was introduced to Classic Shell, which by chance, unlike many of the other Start replacements, wasn't created for Windows 8. It was created to give Windows 7/Vista users faster access to functions & apps. I was impressed & have been using it since. Has made my Windows 8 experience a more positive one.

    If by chance, you were dual booting Win 8 RP (or CP) with Windows 7, you didn't have to give up your installed OS (Win 7). The upgrade or clean install (preferred method) could have, & can still be if you have a Win 8 RP install disk & COA, installed as a dual boot. Then install Windows 8 Pro over that, making sure not to format it prior to the install, but as a part of it.

    This allows you to learn Windows 8 at your pace, yet have a fallback in Windows 7 SP1, a proven OS that's still selling quite well. I doubt that Windows 8's usage will surpass that of Windows 7, even considering it's fast start. The question, can MS keep the pace up with 8, Win 7 was a solid seller for many consecutive months after release, even at higher pricing.

    I feel that if you add an app like I or PeteC suggested, that will go a long ways towards learning Windows 8. I have it on two computers on opposite ends of the spectrum (one low end, one with more robust hardware), & it performs well on both.

    You can even run it within a VM, if you have enough free computer resources to do so. If your current install of Windows 7 is 64 bit, on a CPU that runs at 2.0GHz or above (preferably dual core, minimum) & 6GB or more RAM, that should do. It would possibly run on 4GB RAM, however performance will suffer on both the host & guest OS.

    If you're running Windows 7 Ultimate, there's an even better way of running it virtually, but that's beyond the scope of my expertise. However, there may be other members who has an answer for this.

    Or if you have more than one drive bay, it can be installed on another drive. Or another computer, the upgrade license can be moved to a spare one. There are options, no need to waste a Windows license, especially one for $40 (or $15).

    Cat
     
    Greg Golden likes this.
  5. 2012/12/06
    wildfire

    wildfire Getting Old

    Joined:
    2008/04/21
    Messages:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Dundee, Tayside
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    With Pete & Cat here. Like you I had misgivings about Windows 8 when I bought my laptop (particularly the intrusive Metro start screen) but using Classic Shell helped a lot.
     
  6. 2012/12/06
    EL CONJUNTO

    EL CONJUNTO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2005/02/21
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    Almost intermediate
  7. 2012/12/08
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Hey Cat,

    Where do you find a Win 8 license for $15 or $40? The best price I've seen is at Staples, of all places, and they want $69 for it.

    Thanks,
    -a.
     
  8. 2012/12/08
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
  9. 2012/12/08
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
  10. 2012/12/08
    catilley1092

    catilley1092 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2009/08/13
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    The link that Admin posted above is for the $40 upgrade.

    I bought my granddaughter a notebook for school this past August, & through that purchase, I was given a discount for which I used on my second upgrade (money is tighter close to the holidays). Note that the discount does not have to be used on the purchased computer, any that is eligible for the upgrade qualifies. Both were clean installed, the option to create media is given after the initial setup was completed.

    I highly advise all users to take this option while available, as it costs $15 to get a DVD afterwards, & 3 to 4 weeks to receive it afterwards (in the US). Besides, a Clean Install tends to run better anyway.

    Cat
     
    Greg Golden likes this.
  11. 2012/12/09
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    And it also explains how to get the $14.99 if you qualify...

    I also explain that there's no need to order a DVD, you can burn one yourself with the download.
     
    Greg Golden and catilley1092 like this.
  12. 2012/12/09
    catilley1092

    catilley1092 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2009/08/13
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    That's right, that's the only time to burn it (a one shot deal), & store the ISO in a couple of places if needed again. At some point, the DVD will be needed, & possibly the ISO also.

    I installed Windows 8 Pro via the Windows 7 USB DVD download tool, that I created after I saved the ISO, & burned a DVD for repair purposes.

    Though I did order the DVD set that was in the link, it was more or less for a keepsake item, as Windows 8 represents the hugest change with Windows since '95 was released, the beginning of a whole new era of computing. It contains both 32 & 64 bit DVD's, & it's now in my safety deposit box at the bank, with copies of emails containing the COA's for each, & WMC.

    I'd rather have it & not need it, than the other way around. Plus, it's good to keep a copy in a safe place away from home. My original recovery disk sets are there too, I have copies at home.

    To those who are finding Windows 8 difficult, you're not alone. It's new, & like anything else as such, a learning process in involved. Apps such as Classic Shell can go a long way toward making learning easy. Once one's booting straight to desktop, one can see the familiar Windows environment, only a faster & more secure one.

    There's also plenty of assistance on this Forum, there's no shame in asking. Bing & Google can be of help also.

    Cat
     
  13. 2012/12/09
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Disagree - if you take the option to save the ISO you can burn the image as many times as you like.
     
  14. 2012/12/09
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
  15. 2012/12/09
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    I have never had real joy with burning those ISO images. Don't know why, but they never work once I've done it.
    Oh well.
    -a.
     
  16. 2012/12/09
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Greg Golden likes this.
  17. 2012/12/09
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Alex

    I use Nero 10 - Recorder > Burn Image

    Have also used ISOburn
     
  18. 2012/12/10
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Thanks, Pete.

    I'll give it a try.

    -a.
     
  19. 2012/12/10
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Hey everybody,

    Thanks so much for your posts - they're all helpful.

    A special thanks to Arie, who has put up with a lot in dealing with me. Arie, you're the best!

    Enjoy the Holidays!
    -a.
     
  20. 2013/01/27
    AlexH

    AlexH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/09/05
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Outside Daytona Beach, FL
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    I finally did get Win 8 at the low Microsoft price, and added a DVD for the extra $10. Also was able to burn it onto a flash drive which will boot and install it, too.

    But I am so sorry.

    I have seen people here say it does work well on low spec hardware; I have a dual CPU Intel running at 2 GHz for each. But only 2 GB Ram. There must be a way to make this thing run faster, but I don't know that way yet.

    Silly question: do you set your advanced memory to manage by the OS, or do you go by the old Microsoft guidelines of 1.5 RAM to 3.0 RAM for the paging file? And do you use Ready boost along with that?

    I need to give this puppy as much as I can, because even using Black Viper for guidelines, my system is slower than I care to admit.

    Any guidance will be very much accepted ... after y'all stop laughing, that is.

    Cheers!
    -a.
     
  21. 2013/01/27
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Suggest you up your RAM - 2 GB is MS's minimum requirement and like all OS's they tend to crawl on MS's minimum requirements.

    Let Windows manage virtual memory - I've never used Ready Boost so can't comment.
     
    AlexH likes this.

Share This Page