1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

[Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2008 game not working on Windows 8?]

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Squid48, 2014/03/01.

  1. 2014/03/01
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Does anyone know why it wont work on Win 8 ?
     
  2. 2014/03/01
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,470
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi, go to the EA Sports web site and check for updates there. I had to do that with an earlier TW version for XP/Vista. Neil.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2014/03/01
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks Neil, looking into it.
     
  5. 2014/03/05
    dwarfer66

    dwarfer66 Inactive

    Joined:
    2010/12/05
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Westen Australia
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    I could get it to install, but when I actually went to play all I got was a black screen with the game still running, could not find a fix.
     
  6. 2014/03/05
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
  7. 2014/03/05
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Yes tried that,
    It loads but wont display courses.
    I wondered if there was a fix??
     
  8. 2014/03/05
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    What version of Directx do you have installed?

    Specs say for XP and Vista. May not work on Win 7 or 8.
     
  9. 2014/03/05
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    how do I find which version of Direct X I have ??
     
  10. 2014/03/05
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
  11. 2014/03/05
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks,
    It says direct x 11
     
  12. 2014/03/05
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,470
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi Squid48, It would help us if you took the time to fill in your System Details. (under UserCP) and don't forget to scroll to the bottom of the page and SAVE before closing out.
    MrBill, we have another piggyback on this problem (dwarfer66) something I found:
    I have TW08 istalled from DVD
    With Nvidia 560Ti it works fine in Windows 7 and Windows 8

    With AMD Radeon 7870 it works fine in Windows 7 and crashed in Windows 8 with the known two windows "the game does not support..." "Directx is reporting.... "
    I think the problem is limited to Radeon 6000 and 7000 series.

    This why it helps to give us your System Details.
    I've read quite a few reports where Nvidia Cards seem to work OK - but ATI Radeons are having a hiccup in W8/8.1. Even the latest ATI drivers don't seem to be the answer at the moment. Neil.
     
  13. 2014/03/06
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I did it I think although its not yet shown up as My System like yours is ?
     
  14. 2014/03/06
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    You either didn't save it or did something wrong. It doesn't show.
     
  15. 2014/03/07
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Ok. its there now...:>)
     
  16. 2014/03/07
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,470
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Download this: Belarc Advisor - Free Personal PC Audit
    Belarc Advisor will show your full hardware details which you need to display in your System Details. The model numbers of your graphics card is necessary. Not just Radeon. Neil.
     
  17. 2014/03/08
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks Neil. Have updated. Cheers Rodney.
     
  18. 2014/03/08
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,470
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    You're welcome. If you have a query with another comp, just remember to tell us what the specs are for the problem comp. We can try and find more exact answers for you. Neil.
     
  19. 2014/04/22
    Squid48

    Squid48 Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2011/01/14
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Have sorted problem by Adding another Hard Drive with XP on it.
    Now I switch to XP to play my games.
    Thanks for all your help.
     

Share This Page