1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

The ordinal 173 could not be located in the dynamic link libary iertutil.dl

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bevkoof, 2010/06/19.

  1. 2010/06/19
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    i had been trying to solve my adobe problem so i un-installed IE7 THROUGH REVO FORCED UN-INSTALLATION.
    Nothing came out after i accessed my account and i can only access thing useing the task-msger .
    I then visited so many forums to get solution.
    I followed the instruction on the link :
    Download iertutil.dll and Normaliz.dll from http://down-dll.com/


    Then put them in c:\windows\system32

    CURRENT PROBLEM !
    Now a new message box pop out and it says :
    The ordinal 173 could not be located in the dynamic link libary iertutil.dll .
    My screen is still the same , i have to run things useing TASK-msger .The ordinal cannot be found kept coming out in things i use etc opera, task msgr.


    Windows Information
    Microsoft Windows XP
    Service Pack 2
    Registered Owner: admin]
    Registered Organization:
    +++++
    i have tried these things too..
    1)

    Then put them in c:\windows\system32
    2)
    Then type cmd and press OK. After that, type in SFC /SCANNOW /QUIET in the command line and wait for it to finnish. Reboot after it's done, and report if it works.

    What should i do?
    Please dont say to installation of window. Just one month back i paid my vendor to format my pC.
    And i personally don't have window installation CD.
    Please help. :confused::mad::(
    ++++++++++++
    +++++++++++
    This is old age problem. i have read all forum problems related to iertutil.dll, still unsolved?
     
  2. 2010/06/19
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    If you have System Restore running use it to revert back to before the stage where you force uninstalled IE 7, which you will have gathered was not a wise move.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2010/06/20
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.

    hi Pete, Thanx 4 ur reply.
    Sorry to ask but what does it mean by system restoration? I had thought mean reinstalling window xp. Please explain it.
    1) Can i still restore it? Though i tried through Glary undelete, it shows the file but unable to restore it? (Again what is the use of Glary undelete).

    2) Nither i can access any of my software except internet or install any, so even i can't utilize System optimizer.
    thnx again
     
  5. 2010/06/20
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    1) Is there any method where i can install trial version of Window XP sp2 or sp3?
    2) There is any link which can guide me in installation?
     
  6. 2010/06/20
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    System Restore does not reinstall Windows - it restores your system to an earlier point in time. If you can access System Restore chose a point prior to 'uninstalling' IE7.

    How to restore Windows XP to a previous state

    Windows XP System Restore Is Easy to Use

    If, as you say ....
    can you start the computer in Safe Mode? ....

    If so ....

    How to start the System Restore tool by using the safe mode option with the Command prompt in Windows XP

    To be honest you have totally fouled up your system :(

    When you delete a file only the reference to it in the file system is removed - the file remains on the hard drive, but the space occupied by it is marked as available for writing. This means that any continued activity on the computer which involves writing data to disk can overwrite the file. Once overwritten it cannot be undeleted.
    There is no such thing as a trial version of XP -that OS is no longer available. The only time when trial versions are available from MS is when a new version of an OS is close to completion. Then a time limited Release Candidate is made available to the public, essentially for testing by a multitude of users to iron out any bugs. Once the OS becomes available retail there is no free lunch :)

    Without a copy of XP you are almost up the creek without a paddle.

    The only possibility is to borrow a copy of XP of the same service pack level as yours - SP2 and make a Repair install using your COA number. A Repair install does not affect your data or installed programs, but, as always, a current backup of your important data should be maintained in case disaster strikes.

    BTW - when you get the computer up and running normally you must install SP3 - as of the middle of July SP3 is a requirement for accessing Windows Update and obtaining the latest security patches and fixes.
     
  7. 2010/06/20
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    Hi Pete,
    Thanks for ur reply. I read all the three pages suggested by you. I learned something about System Restoration, i was unaware. Thanks.
    here my problem is-
    Neither i can access start menu, accessories, control panel nor F8 mean safe mode. i am totally handicapped depend on task Manager only. So let me know how to access System Restoration through task manager.
    thanks again
     
  8. 2010/06/20
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Try ....

    Task Manager > File > New Task - in the Open box type (or copy/paste) %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe > Enter
     
  9. 2010/06/21
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    i did; result-

    1) System Restore has been turned off. You want to turn on. YES


    2) The ordinal 173 could not be located in the dynamic link libary iertutil.dll apears thrice. then

    3) System Properties (dialogue box, disable by group policy)- Showing: all drives turned off unable to access.

    Now?:confused:
     
  10. 2010/06/21
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    hi Pete,
    is there any method to format my "C " drive through Window XP2; if i can store it in Hard drive w/o disturbing other drives?
    (Should i ask this question in a new thread?)
     
  11. 2010/06/21
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    It is unfortunate that System Restore was not running as that was a viable option to restore the computer to an operating state.

    As I see it you have one remaining option as I posted above .....
    I have no idea of the cause of ....
    except to suggest that your computer may be infected and in the state it is in now it would appear that you would be unable to run the software required for analyss by our malware analysts.
     
  12. 2010/06/21
    goddez1

    goddez1 Geek Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    618
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Computer Experience:
    Depends on area.
    Hi bevkoof,

    Due to normaliz.dll blooper, explorer shell is not loaded/running. Using taskmanger as you had previously, try> file>new task> browse to c:\windows and click on Explorer.exe. Perhaps if you can get the shell running you will have better success at getting past ie error. If so, may I suggest you install or reinstall IE.
     
  13. 2010/06/21
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    If XP is on the C:\ drive you cannot format the drive through Windows as it is in use running the OS.
     
  14. 2010/06/22
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    Thanx Ann, 4trying to solve my problm.

    i did-
    Reply- "The ordinal 173 could not be located in the dynamic link libary iertutil.dll apears thrice. ":(
     
  15. 2010/06/22
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    Thanks Pete, but there has to be some method! While Googling, i came across a article about
    1)formatting by using Pen Drive as a bootable medium. Is it possible w/o damaging pen drive? (no, i can't take that risk).
    2) i have down loaded Window XP sp2 & Sp3 from Microsoft Website.
    A)Does it work? Is it free?
    B)or do we need key later-on?
    3) if yes! can't i maKE a bootable CD out of it and format my C;/ drive and install Win Xp2 from 'this' CD?

    Guys, you have solve my problem, i am not a person who easily give up. Please..
    Thanks
     
  16. 2010/06/22
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    From post #1 ....
    Which begs the question - why do you want to format your C:\ without a CD to re-install Windows?

    SP2 & SP3 which you have downloaded from MS are just the Service Packs containing all the patches, etc issued since SP1 - there is no operating system in the downloads. So, no, you cannot make a bootable CD from a Service Pack.

    I can offer one last thread of hope before you give up on this .....

    I don't have an installation CD for Windows XP - what if I need one?

    apart from what I have posted twice already ....
     
  17. 2010/06/28
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    Even my CD writer was not working, so ultimately i reinstalled my window xp by my vendor. after that i checked (so i could save & keep back-up) "iertutil.ddl & normaliz.dll" files but unable to find one. If it is not there then why it had created so much problem for me?
    Second i am using Advance system care's "creating restore" everyday. Will it safe way?
     
  18. 2010/06/28
    goddez1

    goddez1 Geek Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    618
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Computer Experience:
    Depends on area.
    Hello bevkoof,

    I can try to answer at least part of the above thread. You've mentioned a recent reinstall of XP and trying to search for and find the files that originally caused your problem: iertutil.dll and Normaliz.dll. These wil be hidden files until you change your options to reveal such.

    Your problem maybe forgetting to change your options for hidden files.
    Before searching for a file or folder, make sure these folder option>view settings are in place:
    *Go to My Computer>Tools>Folder Options>View tab
    *Under the Hidden files and folders heading:
    *Select Show hidden files and folders.
    *Uncheck Hide protected operating system files option.
    *Also, make sure there is no check mark beside Hide file extensions for known file types.
    * Click OK.

    Use windows built in search or better yet.....
    Optional Recommendation: Download and install Ransack: (In my personal opinion: a better, faster, more reliable "file and folder" search tool than windows built in search)
    http://www.mythicsoft.com/agentransack/

    Any other comments I would make would be, "you need to back up more than these 2 files! "Advanced system Care" and system file protection should keep these safe but that is only as good as your "system restore" or "file protection" are working. If you have learned anything from this experience it should have been, "You can't rely on this layer of protection, alone ". I just don't have the time to spare, at this moment, that this topic would take. This subject has been covered many times, here, and can be found in the archives. Other members may point you in the right direction also.

    Looks like you have a lot of work ahead of you yet, besides your own oem manufacturer, software, and hardware updates, XP apparently needs to be updated to sp3 now. Time, patience and good luck to you. :)
     
    Last edited: 2010/06/28
  19. 2010/06/28
    bevkoof

    bevkoof Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/06/19
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    India
    Computer Experience:
    I don't know.
    NOPE! i knew it could be the reason, but i tried again, "show all folders ", no result!! there is no file like that!! How come?
     
  20. 2010/06/28
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Out of interest I searched my XP box running XP SP3 and IE8 - there are 17 instances of iertutil.dll.

    One in System32, 5 in various KB updates plus others.

    On my Windows 7 box there are 4 instances, including System32.

    I don't have IE7 installed on any of my computers so have no idea if the file is present in that and suggest that you install IE8 with it's enhanced security features. You really should - IE 9 is just around the corner :)
     
  21. 2010/06/28
    goddez1

    goddez1 Geek Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/12
    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    618
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Computer Experience:
    Depends on area.
    Hi again,

    I also have these and I'm pretty darn sure you do to. As suggested the iertutil.dll may be IE version specific. May I suggest you pick your battles for now. You really need to not put the cart before the horses. Take your time, do yoga, deep breath, or what ever helps to keep you calm. Do your xp updates, particularly hardware (video, sound), OEM manufactured and recommended updates, and most importantly XP's. Then backup...backup.... and backup the backup.:D

    I see in another forum/post you are complaining of a Firefox bog problem. Updating IE may take care of this. Firefox and IE share many of IE's settings. Latest/updated IE, Java, flash, Silverlight... Oh my! :eek:
     
    Last edited: 2010/06/28

Share This Page