1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

TeamViewer

Discussion in 'Web Applications & Cloud' started by Dingus, 2016/01/28.

  1. 2016/01/28
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi folks.
    I have TeamViewer installed on my PC. This keeps disconnecting after a period of inactivity. I often transfer large files from one PC to my other one. As they are large (.CR2) files this can take a long time.
    I would like to be able to leave TeamViewer connected without having to keep moving the mouse from time to time to keep the connection live.

    Does anyone know if this is possible?
     
  2. 2016/01/28
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    How far apart are your comps? Wouldn't it be easier to set up a Local Network to transfer info between comps?
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/01/29
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    They ain't that distant. About a mile.
    It's not the transfer of files. I use FileZilla which stays connected. I need to monitor the remote while it's all happening.
     
    Last edited: 2016/01/29
  5. 2016/01/30
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Are both units running the latest Teamviewer versions?
     
  6. 2016/01/30
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Yes. Ver 11
    Apparently Ver 10 didn't have this problem.
    I tried going back to 10, but I think there may be something left over when I uninstalled 11. Perhaps in the registry. Whatever is there doesn't let 10 do as it used to.
     
  7. 2016/01/30
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough

Share This Page