1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Sleep & Mouse Delay

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by joe645, 2017/03/26.

  1. 2017/03/26
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I have a Levono All-In-One computer running Window 10. I thought I might have a viirus but Broni said no. My problem is two-fold. One if I leave the computer inactive it will naturally go into a sleep mode. When I return to use it by moving the mouse, nothing happens for sometime over a minute or even two. The HD light doesn't seem to blink during this time except the screen will go from black to a light haze, then after a time the desktop will appear. Then on many occasions, the chose app will appear but the mouse sticks or moves in a jerky way. It's almost like the CPU was running at 100% but I have proven that is not the case. i don't know if the one problem is connected to the other but they do happen at the same time.
     
  2. 2017/03/26
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi joe645.

    Lets see what is starting up with your machine.

    Please download Autoruns. After you download the zipped folder on your desktop, right click the zipped folder and click Extract All. After the folder has been extracted open the regular folder. Run the autoruns.exe program by right clicking on it and selecting Run as administrator. When you open the program, click the Logon Tab and then post a screenshot of all the startup entries on the Logon Tab in your next reply.

    Also go to Control Panel< System and Security< Power Options and set your power plan to high performance if you haven't done so already.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/03/27
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks. Your suggestions would be great and more than likely give you the info you need . . . if my computer was working normally. First, After downloading Autoruns, there is no "Exract All" there is a Extract Here and to other places but no All. Second, after right clicking autoruns.exe and then clicking the Logon Tab, the mouse freezes or becomes unusable. If I save the file, it only comes back as corrupted. Third, going to Control Panel , there is "System" there is "Security and Maintenance" but neither has Power Options. My W10 must be a different version than yours.
     
  5. 2017/03/27
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    This Lenovo All in one comp is not the one in your Profile! Was it supplied with the W10 or has it been upgraded from an earlier MS OS?
    In Control Panel > Power Options ;)
     
  6. 2017/03/27
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    You must have a different program for extracting zip files. Right click on the Autoruns.zip folder and click on extract here then. Then after the folder has been extracted, open the regular folder and then run the Autoruns.exe program.
     
  7. 2017/03/27
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Actually, the Lenovo is my wife's computer that is why I never added it to my profile. It came with Windows 8 and was upgraded to W10 but has the modifications for Start and Classic Shell.
    I use WinZip. I will give it another try in the morning. Thanks.
     
  8. 2017/03/27
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
     
  9. 2017/03/29
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I thank you both for your suggestions and help but it looks like I can't accomplish what you need to help me. The computer just won't cooperate. It freezes, mouse stops, can get a screenshot of log file.I guess it is the repair shop for me.
     
  10. 2017/03/29
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Why don't you use the built in Refresh or the W10 Fresh install?
     
  11. 2017/03/30
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I really don't want to do a fresh install. I uninstalled a lot of old apps that I haven't used for a while and cleaned up my start menu. In looking over the disk management, I discovered an odd thing. It seems that my HD has 7 partitions. They are labeled; Recovery Partition, EFI System Partition, OEM Partition, Recovery Partition, Recovery Partition, Recovery Partition and Windows 8_OS (C:) NFTS Partition. Truthfully, I have never touched this since buying the computer. Seems a bit odd don't you think. I still am having mouse delay problems but no as often and a minute or two delay in an app connecting.
     
  12. 2017/03/30
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Seems odd you have 4 Recovery Partitions. Lenovo will have installed 1 for that purpose which brings it back to as new (out of the box) condition. My HP Notebook has 1 Recovery partition on the HDD which is protected from Deletion. I wonder whether Evan can help you free up some space as I would be keen to remove unnecessary data. W8 and recovery would not be required.
     
  13. 2017/03/30
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    So can you run Autoruns and take a screenshot of the Logon Tab or not? Is there a certain step that you are confused by? If so please let me know so I can help figure it out.

    Regarding the partitions in Disk Management, can you post a screenshot of the Disk Management window so I can see what partitions can be removed?
     
  14. 2017/03/31
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I hope I have sent what you need. Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. 2017/04/01
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    In Autoruns, remove the following items:

    HD Audio Background Process (both entries)
    Realtek HD Audio Manager
    CyberLink Media Library Service
    Dolby Profile Selector
    MyHeritage Family Tree Builder
    Intel Services Manager
    Lenovo Black Silk USB Keyboard
    jnesoft
    PowerDVD RC Service
    MUI Start Menu Application
    Wondershare Studio
    Microsoft Bing Service
    CCleaner
    Google Update Core
    Microsoft OneDrive
    TomTomHome
    Webshot Photo Manager
    Windows Mail
    Microsoft Windows Media (the yellow highlighted entry at the bottom of the screenshot)
    Web Platform Customization

    Your Autoruns screenshot is not showing all of the entries. There are a few more that I need to see so can you scroll down and take a screenshot of the remaining entries, thanks.

    In Disk Management, see if you can remove all the partitions labeled Recovery Partition and OEM Partition. Leave the other ones alone.
     
  16. 2017/04/01
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Okay, I am going to have to send 9 screenshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. 2017/04/01
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    last set.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. 2017/04/01
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Those partitions give no delete access. Only the EFI and Windows do.
     
  19. 2017/04/02
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    In Autoruns on the Logon Tab, you can remove the Windows Mail entries and on the Everything Tab you can remove all of the entries that are highlighted in yellow.

    When you finish removing those items, post a fresh screenshot of the Autoruns Logon Tab here in your next reply.

    For removing those partitions, download and run EaseUS Partition Master Free and use that program to delete the partitions that I mentioned that you should remove.

    Once you remove those partitions, post a fresh screenshot of the Disk Management window here in your next reply.
     
  20. 2017/04/02
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    First 5 of Autoruns;
     

    Attached Files:

  21. 2017/04/02
    joe645

    joe645 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/01/26
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    What Happens Here - Stays Here!
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Last set of Autorun and EPM screenshot. Found no option to delete unallocated partitions.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page