1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Set a larger type size in Firefox for Win 7 x64

Discussion in 'Firefox, Thunderbird & SeaMonkey' started by loninappleton, 2014/06/03.

1. 2014/06/03
    loninappleton

loninappleton Inactive Thread Starter

I am going blind reading screens in a new install of Win 7. I am a noob with this
    OS. It has many screen settings.

But I am writing in here b/c the answer given at Firefox was just unacceptable (nowhere) and didn't seem to do anything.

The goal is to stabilize the size of test at the usual Control + Plus keys.

I am not experiencing any of this hardship in XP but I use 800x600 comfortably on that OS.

In Win 7 the conflict seems to be high screen resolutuion (which is recommended)
    with the consequent microscopic type size OR fuzz gigantic Mr. Magoo icons down at 800x600.

What's the optimum settings for legibility on a 19 in CRT?

2. 2014/06/03
    antik

antik Well-Known Member

1024 x 768 would be my vote.

Windows 7 has ClearType font smoothing enabled by default because it looks better on LCD screens. If you are using a CRT you will get better results if you turn ClearType OFF.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/28790/tweak-cleartype-in-windows-7/

In Firefox, my settings (Tools > Options > General Tab)
    Default Font: Tahoma Size: 14

(Tools > Options > General Tab > Advanced)
    Proportional: Serif Size: 14
    Serif: Tahoma
    Sans-serif: Arial
    Monospace: Courier New Size: 13
    Minimum Font Size: 12

Budo likes this.

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2014/06/03
    TonyT

TonyT SuperGeek Staff

Rt click the Desktop > select Personalize > (on left) Display > set screen to 125%.

Budo likes this.
  5. 2014/06/03
    loninappleton

I fiddled with that. Also will try the initial reply above here.