1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Seamonkey Messes Up Google

Discussion in 'Firefox, Thunderbird & SeaMonkey' started by Ken, 2018/09/10.

  1. 2018/09/10
    Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/10
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Google works fine, but on 2 different computers with WIN10, it has the page rearranged from other browser presentation. Google.jpg
     
    Ken,
    #1
  2. 2018/09/10
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/09/10
    Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/10
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    That problem is somewhat different and signing in or out or using safe mode did nothing. The second computer is a fresh 2.49.4 install and has no history or accounts.
     
    Ken,
    #3
  5. 2018/09/10
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Most likely the problem is NOT seamonkey, it is Google. Google displays its content based upon the browser info sent by the browser itself, i.e. the UserAgentString, which is read by code in Google pages. That's why I said to try the solution in that second to last post on that page, e.g. override Google domain so it sees your seamonkey browser as this: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/7.0; rv:11.0) like Gecko
     
  6. 2018/09/11
    Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/10
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks, I now understand your reasoning. I tried the fix twice on the fresh install computer, where the risk of any new issues arising would be low.
    I verified the change was implemented, but the Google problem remains.
     
    Ken,
    #5
  7. 2018/09/12
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,796
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Understood. Do you have the latest seamonkey version?
     
  8. 2018/09/12
    Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/10
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Yes, 2.49.4.
     
    Ken,
    #7

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.