1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Seamonkey Font Issue

Discussion in 'Firefox, Thunderbird & SeaMonkey' started by car13lin, 2017/08/09.

  1. 2017/08/09
    car13lin

    car13lin Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/08/12
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Seamonkey; last 2(?) releases, Windows 10:
    Example: I copy and paste a You Tube title and link into an Email. The title appears in the Email in a very large font size. If I highlight and click the small "A" ONCE to reduce size it becomes very small skipping several increments. Clicking the large "A" will not bring it up in increments. It immediately returns to the very large font size. ???

    I did not have this problem before the last 2(?) Seamonkey Releases.

    Thanks-
    Carl
     
  2. 2017/08/09
    Steve R Jones

    Steve R Jones SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    11,835
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    I've never used Seamonkey... But, you could paste the title into notepad first...then copy that and paste into the email... That or change the format of the email to plain text.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/08/09
    car13lin

    car13lin Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/08/12
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks for your suggestions.
    As I mentioned this was not happening with Seamonkey until about 2 updates ago. I do a lot of this and I'd like to find out why this is happening. I can always go back to a version which I liked very much...2.32 (?). I've been using SM from one of the earliest versions.
     
  5. 2017/08/09
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,431
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Does SeaMonkey have the option > Insert > Link > in the Menu? I use this in Thunderbird.
     
  6. 2017/08/10
    car13lin

    car13lin Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/08/12
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks for responding.
    No, I couldn't find option > Insert > Link >. I looked in Help, too.

    This is how the problem looks. If I hit reduce, "A", once it goes to the size of the link
    F-35: Pierre Sprey vs Lt Col David 'Chip' Berke debate
     
  7. 2017/08/10
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,431
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    I've just Googled SeaMonkey Email views as I don't use it. When you want to write an email, the Insert and Format options are greyed until you enter the cursor in the text area. If I wish send an email to a friend with a URL attached, using TB email I click on Insert when I've started typing my text. Then I type a name for the link - then paste the URL in the Link entry area and Insert.
    This should be the same for SeaMonkey. If your text increases in size - have you got the option in Help to Restart with Addons Disabled? or Run in Safe Mode?
     
  8. 2017/08/11
    car13lin

    car13lin Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/08/12
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thank you again! I'll try your suggestions and mark my problem as solved.
     
  9. 2017/08/23
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    When you copy text from a Web page you are copying HTML formatted text. The formatting is controlled by the Web page HTML code and style sheet which you do not see. Thus when you paste the text into an application that uses HTML formatting, such as an email program, you are pasting the formatted text, not plain text. In Thunderbird, when the cursor is active in the compose area one can right click and select "Paste" or "Paste Without Formatting" (same if use the Edit menu). I don't know if Seamonky email has that option. Paste will always result in formatted text, the same formatting of the HTML code used in the Web page, to the best of the email program's ability to duplicate how it looked on the Web page. So, if don't want formatting, use "Past Without Formatting if have that option, else paste into Notepad first.
     
  10. 2017/08/24
    car13lin

    car13lin Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/08/12
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    THANK YOU! Your suggestion works! :) !

    Didn't have the problem with older versions. That's the price of progress.
     

Share This Page