1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Script Error

Discussion in 'General Internet' started by lordrayne, 2017/07/09.

  1. 2017/07/09
    lordrayne

    lordrayne Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/08/17
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Estepona, Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    A friend, operating Windows 10 keeps getting the under-noted interruption, time and again, mainly on Facebook and a dating site called 'Plenty of Fish'. How do we either:

    a). Rectify the error? and/or
    b). Just stop it interrupting?
    pain.jpg
     
  2. 2017/07/09
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Any help here? Facebook
    Facebook
    Any specific browser that they use? Or all browsers?
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/07/10
    lordrayne

    lordrayne Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/08/17
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Estepona, Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I'll have to get back to you on that - she really is not that computer literate and that is why I'm acting as a proxy.
     
  5. 2017/07/10
    lordrayne

    lordrayne Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/08/17
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Estepona, Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    The dear lady uses Internet Explorer but only gets the 'Script Error' while going onto Facebook or Plenty of Fish.
     
  6. 2017/07/10
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Have you checked IE > Settings (gear wheel) > IE Options > Advanced > Browsing > Script debugging?
     
  7. 2017/07/10
    lordrayne

    lordrayne Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/08/17
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Estepona, Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    No, but I will get her to do it. When she gets there, what should she be looking for and - having found it - what next?

    Your help so far, is much appreciated, retired learner. I guess I'm learning to be retired!
     
  8. 2017/07/10
    lordrayne

    lordrayne Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/08/17
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Estepona, Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I've followed your path and found this:
    Slide2.JPG
     
  9. 2017/07/10
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Yes. Try and see if it works. You can always check them again if there is no success.
    P.S. Shut down and restart comp when you make changes.
     
  10. 2017/07/11
    lordrayne

    lordrayne Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/08/17
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Estepona, Spain
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thank you, that seems to have sorted it.

    By the way, the problem only manifested itself on those websites via Internet Explorer. No problems when accessed via Google Chrome.
     
  11. 2017/07/11
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Things to learn when you retire should include keeping up to date with the electronic gadgets. :eek:o_O:D That way you can keep up with the grandchildren. ;)
     

Share This Page