1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

res://ieframe.dll/navcancl.htm

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by pccoach, 2010/03/28.

  1. 2010/03/28
    pccoach Lifetime Subscription

    pccoach Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/05/09
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Recently when going to the Internet I have a delay in loading the page with res://ieframe.dll/navcancl.htm showing in the address bar. I copied and searched online finding what seemns to point to spyware and phishing. I have AVG Internet Security (paid version). I recently started using Advanced System Optimizer as well. Appreciate any ideas of how to correct. Thank you!
     
  2. 2010/03/29
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    I am always very leary of any program which claims to optimise a system - you have little idea what they are doing and what the side effects may be. In your case that may be where the trouble arose.

    navcancl.htm is effectively Navigation Cancelled - without knowing which OS you are running or which version of IE I am only guessing as to the possible solution.

    See if this fits the bill (IE7 on Vista) ....

    Navigation is canceled when you browse to Web pages that are in different Internet Explorer security zones

    We encourage all members to complete their System Specifications which help us to help you :)
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2010/03/29
    pccoach Lifetime Subscription

    pccoach Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/05/09
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks for your post.
    Sorry about not posting the specs-here they are:
    O/S --Windows 7 Ultlimate 64 bit
    IE8 - V8.0.7600
    motherboard--ASUSTek Computer INC. NODUSM3 1.05
    processor --2.60 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
    memory 2048 Megabytes Installed Memory
    Hard drive space
    1470.80 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    865.53 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space
    Optical drive TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H652L ATA Device [CD-ROM drive]
    Display NVIDIA GeForce 210
    Monitor NEC LCD1760V
    network connection cable via Linksys dualband gigabit router

    I too am suspicious of packages that optimize however I will still use them after checking out their capabilities and reviews for convenience.

    one other thing...the title on the page states that the res://ieframe.dll/navcancl.htm is an Error Issuing Command to Google Toolbar.

    And I found this link http://www.google.im/support/forum/p/Toolbar/thread?tid=23af87eed99a7dd7&hl=en
    Will follow the steps they recommend to see if they help. thanks for your assistance. Take care. barb
     
  5. 2010/04/25
    pccoach Lifetime Subscription

    pccoach Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/05/09
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Well I found something that eliminated the navigation canceled error. played with the addons and found that disabling the google toolbar eliminated the error. interesting. Plan on sending an email to google. also reset settings to default settings first.

    I turned all addons OFF and then added google sidebar, notifier, helper and then the last one I added was Google Toolbar and the error returned. so maybe it's coincidence. don't know.

    anyway....thought you would like to know how this was resovled. thanks!
     
  6. 2010/04/25
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Thanks for the update - I've not had any issues with the Google Toolbar on my x64 Win 7 system - so far :)

    Please mark this thread as 'Resolved', see .....
     

Share This Page