1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved remote access connection manager error 126

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by rudymill, 2009/10/23.

  1. 2009/10/23
    rudymill Lifetime Subscription

    rudymill Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/08
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    In trying to install an laptop card for ATT wireless, we've discovered that the Remote Access Connection Manager won't start. The error message 126 : the specified module cannot be found.

    Any ideas on what to do?
     
  2. 2009/10/24
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,977
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2009/10/24
    rudymill Lifetime Subscription

    rudymill Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/08
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    OK, going into the registry, the RasMan folder, which I assume is remote access system manager, and then into parameters, led me to %systemroot%\system32\rasmans.dll. I looked in the Windows\system32 folder and found the rasmans.dll in that folder.

    So I wondered if the dll was corrupt. I went to my desktop (both run XPsp3), copied the rasmans.dll, and transferred to the laptop. When I tried to copy the rasmans.dll, it asked if I wanted to overwrite; I said yes, then got an error message: "cannot move rasmans: A file with the name you specified already exists. Specify a different name. "

    So I tried to delete rasmans.dll first. The error message read: "Cannot delete rasmans: Access is denied. Make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use." Well, I'm the administrator, so I thought I would have access. And I can't get remote access working, so I don't know what would use the dll file. Is there some other way to replace a file, in DOS or something so I don't have to use Windows?

    FWIW: when I right click on rasmans.dll, it says at the top of the drop down list "register this component" and "unregister this component "; never seen those before.
     
    Last edited: 2009/10/24
  5. 2009/10/24
    rudymill Lifetime Subscription

    rudymill Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/08
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    My mistake. I found a registry folder Remote Access, which led to mprdim.dll. That was also in its' location; that one I was able to copy from the desktop and move over and replace. Still no go with Remote Access Manager.
     
  6. 2009/10/24
    rudymill Lifetime Subscription

    rudymill Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/08
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    A new problem: when I run services.msc to start the Remote Access, I get an error: "MMC has detected an error in a snap-in. It is recommended that you shut down and restart MMC ". I tell it to ignore, nothing happens: I then run services.msc again, and it starts....
     
  7. 2009/10/25
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,977
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    I'd run sfc /scannow from a command prompt to check the integrity of the system files.
     
    Arie,
    #6
  8. 2009/11/21
    rudymill Lifetime Subscription

    rudymill Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/08
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    still no go

    Ran the sfc/scannow and still having same problem.
     
  9. 2009/11/22
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,977
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Start registry editor (Start > Run & type regedit, click OK).

    Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SYSTEM \ CurrentControlSet \ Services \ RasMan \ PPP \ EAP and delete entries other than 13, 25, and 26.
     
    Arie,
    #8
  10. 2009/11/22
    rudymill Lifetime Subscription

    rudymill Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/08
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Well, services.msc runs correctly, but I get the same error with remote access conn manager: Error 126
     
  11. 2009/11/23
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,977
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Check \windows\system32 and make sure these files are present:

    • rasman.dll
    • rasmans.dll
    • rasppp.dll
    • raschap.dll
    • rastls.dll

    Also, did you remove any keys in response to my last post?

    Also try the item on line # 252: Restore Remote Access Connection Manager (right side)
     
  12. 2009/11/23
    rudymill Lifetime Subscription

    rudymill Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/08
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    I had removed a key called "4" in response to the last post.
    I found that rasppp.dll and raschap.dll were both missing. I copied them from my desktop and transferred to the laptop, rebooted, and voila. Remote access working. And now the ATT card is working.

    Thank you for being so patient. Problem resolved.
     
  13. 2009/11/23
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,730
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    I've marked this thread as 'Resolved', please see .....
     
  14. 2009/11/23
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,977
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    No problem, we'll try to get the problem solved...
     

Share This Page