1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Solved ramnit - but unusual situation

Discussion in 'Malware and Virus Removal' started by sama, 2016/01/09.

1. 2016/01/09
    sama

sama New Member Thread Starter

[Solved] ramnit - but unusual situation

Hello to all - I'm new here. I was impressed by what I've read here. Maybe somebody here can help me. MANY thanks in advance if so!!

Actually I use linux. I also use wine, which is a windows emulation layer, and in that I use windows programs. I have no experience with windows at all.

I installed (windows version) a gui frontend to bootstrap called Mobirise. Normally I check anything before installing but this time I forgot. After installing it I tested it briefly (ran it) then checked it with clamav, which reported:

~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/Mobirise/Qt5Core.dll: Win.Trojan.Ramnit-6068 FOUND
    ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/Mobirise/Qt5WebKit.dll: Win.Trojan.Ramnit-6196 FOUND

Wine doesn't do any kind of sandboxing, so I'm now freaking out, because everything I read about ramnit says it tries to steal things like bank passwords! And that it's particularly dangerous.

Would any of you know whether I'm in any danger?? That is, can ramnit do anything in my special case?

I should add that I never used root privileges when installing Mobirise. Also as soon as I got that clamav report I uninstalled Mobirise, deleted the entire ~/.wine folder then uninstalled wine and reinstalled it. But I just don't know enough to know whether ramnit might have been able to modify/infect anything elsewhere on my drive before I deleted Mobirise.

Thank you so much for any expert advice!!!

sama,
  2. 2016/01/09
    broni

broni Moderator Malware Analyst

Welcome aboard [​IMG]

I'm not very familiar with your setting but...
    1. Ramnit is not curable
    2. It could be false positive.