1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

NT4 Service Pack 6a (SP6a)?

Discussion in 'Legacy Windows' started by Antony, 2011/03/22.

  1. 2011/03/22
    Antony

    Antony Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/01
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Hello all,

    I hope this post does not breach the forum rule.

    Can anyone please guide me (or provide me) a place to obtain Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 6a (SP6a)? From what I read on Microsoft's website, I need SP6a to run IE 6.

    This link, http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc767869.aspx , I believe is the official link to obtain Service Pack 6a, except when I click on either link (56-bit or 128-bit, http://www.microsoft.com/ntserver/nts/downloads/recommended/sp6/allsp6.asp ), it showed:
    This Cnet download link gives SP6 instead of SP6a as titled. And the other Cnet download link does not work for me.
     
  2. 2011/03/22
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Just google win nt sp6a for sites that still have it.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2011/03/23
    Antony

    Antony Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/01
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Thank you for the suggestion. I tried searching for the file on Google, and I am still unable to locate a download location that is working.
     
  5. 2011/03/23
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
  6. 2011/03/23
    wildfire

    wildfire Getting Old

    Joined:
    2008/04/21
    Messages:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Dundee, Tayside
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Pete your link above (after taking an age to load) refers back to microsoft downloads and SP6A appears to have disappeared.

    Antony try Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 6a, CNET is not an official MS site but the download is available just be sure to scan for malware before installing.

    EDIT: Scratch that, I just read your original post (I jumped in half way through the thread) and you're correct the link above is for SP6 :(

    I'll keep looking.

    2nd EDIT: The CNET link may be right after all, have you tried installing it?
     
    Last edited: 2011/03/23
  7. 2011/03/23
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Looks like you're right - I got a download window and stopped at that point :)
     
  8. 2011/03/23
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Seems every site is connecting back to Microsoft & MS doesn't seem to be offering this download anymore.
     
  9. 2011/03/24
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,916
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Since Windows NT Server 4.0, Terminal Server Edition Service Pack 6 is out of support lifecycle it'll be hard to find a copy & you'll have to take a chance downloading it from unknown sources, not something I would ever do.

    Time to dump NT 4 has long come & gone!
     
    Arie,
    #8
  10. 2011/03/25
    Antony

    Antony Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/01
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Thank you for the suggestions. Sorry for the delay in response (it was the iPad 2 launch day here in Australia and I had to secure one).

    Well, the Windows NT 4.0 was actually a virtual machine under Parallels Desktop 6 for Mac. I do not use that as a main operating system, nor the major Windows virtual machine.
     

Share This Page