1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved No WIFI or Wired connection

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by MrBill, 2017/07/19.

  1. 2017/07/19
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Got a friends laptop and it won't connect to WIFI or wired. When I look in the system Settings/Network & Internet, the Airplane mode is listed, that is all that is listed and it is on. Can't shut it off. My Win 10 lets me shut it on and off and also has WIFI listed there and his doesn't. Can't figure out what is going on. When I plug the RJ45 in, it doesn't make a sound like anything happened.

    This PC was upgraded from 7 to 10 months ago and this just happened. Windows Defender was updated a couple of days before this happened. I had put MBAM on it and when he did the upgrade and told him to update it weekly. Well, that didn't happen.

    He has quite a bit of stuff stored on it from doing Ancestry stuff that he save on the PC. I told him months ago to also back that up to a thumb drive or something. That didn't happen either.

    Any suggestions.
     
  2. 2017/07/20
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Sadly, you told us nothing about this notebook. Moving in and out of airplane mode requires slightly different steps if Dell or HP for example.

    See: Google

    My worry is Ethernet does not work either. I don't see why that would be tied to airplane mode - but that may just be due to my inexperience with airplane modes.
     
    Bill,
    #2

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/07/20
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Done been that Google route. Wireless/WIFI is not a choice. Only thing like I mentioned before is that Airplane mode is the only option there and it won't turn off.

    The Laptop is an Asus X551M that has been upgraded from Win 7 to Win 10 64 bit months ago and all worked fine till earlier this week.
     
  5. 2017/07/20
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Bill,
    #4
  6. 2017/07/20
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Yes I did. I don't have Power Management tab.
    General Tab says this devise is working properly.
    Resources Tab says No conflicts.

    I Have uninstalled the drivers for both and rebooted and they were reinstalled to no avail
     
  7. 2017/07/20
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Hmmm, not sure what to say then and sadly, I have other commitments until tomorrow. Hopefully someone else will come by with some suggestions.

    OT but in your sig, you say "MSE (Win 10)". MSE does not run on Windows 10. Only W7 and before.
     
    Bill,
    #6
  8. 2017/07/20
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Fixed the MSE
     
  9. 2017/07/20
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,714
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
  10. 2017/07/20
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Cat on the keyboard? :eek::oops:;)
     
  11. 2017/07/20
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    The problem is that I can't turn Airplane mode off either in Settings or using the fn and the F2 key. Acts like the fn key is locked or not functional. No animals in the house.

    I have tried several Google things that said that they would work and nothing so far.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 2017/07/21
  12. 2017/07/21
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    In W10 Desktop > Notification icon > Expand > Airplane Mode > is this where you cannot turn off?
    Is the F12 key damaged?
     
    Last edited: 2017/07/21
  13. 2017/07/21
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    That is one of the places that I have tried. Also with the fn the f2 key which is airplane mode. f12 is volume control up/louder.
     
  14. 2017/07/22
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Have you tried the operations in Page 63 of the Owner Manual link in Tony's Post? Page 81 is another option - Refresh - won't lose anything.
     
  15. 2017/07/22
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    First thing that I found before I got on here is what was on Page 63. Doesn't work. Page 81 says Win 8 but will probably work on this upgraded from Win 7 to 10 months ago. Will check it out tomorrow.
     
  16. 2017/07/23
    Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/10
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Try: Go into the BIOS setup program, expand the major group "Outboard Devices", then click on "Integrated NIC" and change the setting to "OFF". That prevents Windows from even detecting the ethernet chip and so the driver that blocks the ethernet is never loaded
     
    Ken,
    #15
  17. 2017/07/24
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Nothing I have done or tried works. He picked it up today and will let me know what to do. He is looking into a new laptop. Told him that I would wipe the old one clean after he get bookmark/favorites and address off the old one.

    Thanks for the help. Google must be getting tired of me anyways. :eek:
     

Share This Page