1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

No Internet Connection

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Dingus, 2017/10/29.

  1. 2017/10/29
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi all.
    As my screen says, I have no internet connection.
    I had to reload Windows XP after my PC crashed.
    I can connect to my network but just not the Internet. This is on wireless or cable.
    I've disabled the authentication.
    I've also disabled encryption.

    See the attached photo.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 2017/10/29
  2. 2017/10/29
    markp62

    markp62 Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/05/01
    Messages:
    4,004
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    733
    Location:
    Coppell, TX
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    After reading the post about the sale, and with not much other available info, I suggest checking the date & time.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/10/29
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi Mark. Thanks, the date and time are both spot on.
     
  5. 2017/10/29
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,457
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    How is it set up in Control Panel > Internet connections? Are your drivers all installed after your "crash"?
     
  6. 2017/10/29
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Yes all driver, except video, are there and working.
     
  7. 2017/10/30
    Steve R Jones

    Steve R Jones SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    11,848
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Did you actually install the chipset and network adaptor drivers?
     
  8. 2017/10/30
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Yes Steve. I installed them all from the original installation disc.
     
  9. 2017/11/02
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,457
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
  10. 2017/11/02
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi Dingus. If you right click on the Local Area Connection and click on Status and then click on the Details button, what is the IP Address that shows under IPv4 Default Gateway?
     
  11. 2017/11/04
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks Terminator.
    I've tried both static and Dynamic IPs but nothing helps.
    I've also tried using different subnet addresses.
     
  12. 2017/11/04
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Retired learner thanks. Long time since we spoke.
    I can connect ok using other browsers, just not IE.
     
  13. 2017/11/05
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Ok, but does Windows XP show you an IP address that is associated with the connection? If so what does Windows show you?
     
  14. 2017/11/06
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi Even.
    I can find an IP in properties in Network connections.
    I've tried static and dynamic (DHCP)
     
  15. 2017/11/06
    felicityblue

    felicityblue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2014/09/09
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Maybe you need help from a professional IT. Bring your laptop to the store and have them set up.
     
  16. 2017/11/07
    Dingus

    Dingus Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/02/03
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Scotland
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    felicity, I wish. It's a PC
     
  17. 2017/11/07
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Click Start< All Programs< System Tools< Command Prompt and type the following commands and hit enter after typing in each command.

    netsh int ip reset

    netsh reset winsock

    Reboot the computer and see if your Internet connection works.

    Also what is your routers IP address? Can you ping your router?
     

Share This Page