1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved My HDD is not a USB Thumb Drive

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by arthur277, 2018/09/12.

  1. 2018/09/12
    arthur277

    arthur277 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/01
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Chatham, Kent, United Kingdom
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    In order to save installing Windows 10 I cloned a copy from an SSD. Now I cannot update this copy of Windows 10 Pro because I keep getting a message to say that Windows 10 cannot be installed on a Thumb (Flash) drive. This is not unique to this drive as a number of SSDs that I have tried to use are either not recognised as SSDs or some programs treat them like HDDs and try to defrag them. How can I convince this Windows 10 that this HDD really is an HDD? Or will I have to reinstall Windows 10?

    The installed version is Windows 10 Pro 32bit V.1511 OS build 10586.1176.
     
  2. 2018/09/12
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,923
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Did you actually clone to a SSD?
    I've cloned from a 250GB SSD to a 500GB SSD without any problems.
    I used AOMEI to do the job.
    You are way behind in W10 version - W10 Pro 64bit Version 1803 OS Build 17134.254 is what I have installed.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/09/13
    arthur277

    arthur277 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/01
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Chatham, Kent, United Kingdom
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks for the reply, retiredlearner. I cloned FROM an SSD to a 160GB HDD. So the problem appears to be that in cloning I transferred the drive type coding from the SSD to the HDD and so Windows 10 thinks that the OS is now on an SSD/Thumb Drive. In fact it is running the present version very well (except for the usual trouble with EDGE NOT WORKING! UGH!). But in addition I have also found that Windows 10 mis-identifies some makes of SSD as thumb drives, and obviously this HDD as a thumb drive.

    So although Windows 10 tries to download and install the 1803 version of Windows 10 PRO, it is faced with the SSD/Thumb drive problem and the update fails.

    In the old days of DOS it was possible to access the sectors on a drive and of course Unix identifies drives differently from MS, but how does one access thes drive typing markers? If it can't be done I shall just have to bite the bullet and reinstall on another drive and wipe this one in the hope that it somehow corrects it type markings.

    Incidentally I have tried unsuccessfully to fix Edge using the Powershell method, but it does not work. Error messages saying that certain paths cannot be found etc. Why is Edge such a difficult browser to get working? When it does work its pretty average anyway.
     
  5. 2018/09/13
    savagcl Lifetime Subscription

    savagcl Geek Member

    Joined:
    2003/06/09
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    USA ILL
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    I have used a Macrium Reflect backup (full) from a HHD to a SSD and then physically replaced the HHD with the SSD and it works fine including any new updates...
    savagcl
     
  6. 2018/09/13
    arthur277

    arthur277 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/01
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Chatham, Kent, United Kingdom
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    It was quite a while ago that I did the transfer so I do not remember what software I used to clone the drive. So you were fortunate in your choice, savagcl ! I am continuing to try and get a back up done before I wipe the disc. I have used Macrium so perhaps I will use it again. Thanks for the tip.
     
  7. 2018/09/13
    arthur277

    arthur277 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/01
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Chatham, Kent, United Kingdom
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I have now reinstalled Windows 10 and the OS seems happy to be updated so Problem Solved. Even Edge is working!
     
  8. 2018/09/13
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,923
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Thanks for your reply.;) Good to know you are all OK again.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.