1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

MP3 Plugin

Discussion in 'Firefox, Thunderbird & SeaMonkey' started by The Old Chief, 2006/09/04.

  1. 2006/09/04
    The Old Chief Lifetime Subscription

    The Old Chief Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/03/09
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    6
    I reckon I need some help. It probably don't matter but, for the record I am using Windows XP.

    My trouble is:..., I can not get MP3 files to play from a web page when using Firefox - Mozilla - SeaMonkey or Netscape.

    However, IE plays the MP3 files fine.

    I have used two different code setups in the web page and both work with IE but, not with the Mozilla based browsers

    One code is as follows:
    <bgsound src= "songs/01-town.mp3" loop=-1 ">

    Other coding is as follows:
    <bgsound src= "songs/02-stars.mp3 "><embed src= "songs/02-stars.mp3" autostart=true autoload=true width=0 height=0>

    NOTE:..Using either of the 2 codings with a WAV file and all browsers play the music.

    Switch it to a MP3 file and only the IE browser will work and play the music.

    I apparently need some MP3 type plugin for the Mozilla based browsers.

    I have been on the internet looking for different HTML codings for MP3 files and I have found other slightly different worded ones but, they won't work either.

    All help is appreciated:............. and Thanks
     
  2. 2006/09/05
    Ramona

    Ramona Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2001/12/31
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ray,

    This page has a very simple cross-browser code for MP3 files. Feel free to copy the code and plug in your own file name and information.

    None of the Gecko browsers, i.e., Netscape, Mozilla, Firefox, etc., recognize the BGSOUND code. There are many other codes for use with MP3 files. Check out this site for using M3U files, streaming multiple MP3 files, if you wish. Lot of Media information for embedded and streaming files HERE.

    You absolutely have to have a plugin for embedded and streaming media. I use QuickTime, RealPlayer, and Windows Media Player. My page above (TEST) will bring up QuickTime in Firefox, but in IE Windows Media Player comes up. There are also codes which can force Windows Media Player, etc.

    I think I may have mentioned this before, but for Firefox, you need the ActiveX Plugin, which is ONLY for Windows Media Player. This is not the dreaded IE ActiveX. Download HERE.

    Hope this helps just a little!
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2006/09/05
    Westside

    Westside Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2003/03/30
    Messages:
    4,506
    Likes Received:
    14
    I am using Winamp for as many files which a site allows me to play. It is my default for mp3., mpu and .pls files, but it can handle many other files. In addition I use the MediaPlayerConnectivity extention , which can be used in all gecko browsers. Since any external player sounds better than an embedded player, I use the extention in an external player. I have nothing about Quicktime, but several embedded players use Quicktime for mp3 file, but MPC will open Winamp.
    My gripe is with websites which look at the browser first, and reject the gecko browser, although I could play the music.
     
  5. 2006/09/05
    Ramona

    Ramona Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2001/12/31
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ray,

    These are the Media Player plugin files you should see in your plugins folder, which is located here: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugins

    Windows Media Player 9
    npwmsdrm.dll
    npdrmv2.dll
    npdsplay.dll

    ActiveX
    npmozax.dll

    Real Player Version 10.5
    nppl3260.dll
    nprjplug.dll
    nprpjplug.dll

    QuickTime Version 6.5.2
    npqtplugin.dll
    nsIQTScriptablePlugin.xpt
    QuickTimePlugin.class

    If you don't see similar files like the above in the plugin folders, then copy them from the Media Player Program folders. Also, you may have more updated programs, as I am still using Win 98SE.

    When you install a player, you can test it on various files here:
    Media Test Pages
    Audio, Video, & QuickTime Movies
     
  6. 2006/09/05
    Westside

    Westside Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2003/03/30
    Messages:
    4,506
    Likes Received:
    14
    Notice, from Ramona's message #2, that not all ActiveX plugins are created equal. There seem to be different download for each program, so the npmozax.dll file may not be usable, but there should be an error. I have WMP10, and Quicktime 7.0.x. The file names are the same.
    Winamp will place a npwinamp.dll file, in the plugins folder.
     
  7. 2006/09/05
    Ramona

    Ramona Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2001/12/31
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks Westside, for adding the WinAmp plugin. I have never used that player, and didn't know the name of the file.

    I was unable to get the ActiveX plugin to work in Fx 1.5.0.5, however, it works great on 1.5.0.6. This is the test page I use for the ActiveX plugin:
    http://members.aol.com/jrzycrim01/mozilla/wmp/wmpaxtest.html
     
  8. 2006/09/05
    Westside

    Westside Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2003/03/30
    Messages:
    4,506
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ramona, 1.5.0.5 contained a bug which prevented the use of the WMP plugin. Basically, it was the only problem with 1.5.0.5. Someone had goofed, thus 1.5.0.6 came out very soon after 1.5.0.5.
    Interestingly, your link opens WMP10, because I have activated the MPC extention.
     
  9. 2006/09/06
    The Old Chief Lifetime Subscription

    The Old Chief Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/03/09
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks Ramona and Westside for all the info you have posted relative to MP3 files and the little probllem I am having.

    I been fighting this thing most all evening and thought I had it conqured but, then it blew up for some reason and perhaps it is me. I think you know, I'm self taught and the only way I ever do most software things is by trial and error.

    Ramona suggested I visit "Nunsio's Little Place on the Web" which I did and extracted the following code:....

    <OBJECT ID= "MediaPlayer1" CLASSID= "CLSID:22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95" CODEBASE= "http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cab# Version=5,1,52,701" STANDBY= "Loading Microsoft Windows® Media Player components..." TYPE= "application/x-oleobject" width= "280" height= "46 ">
    <param name= "fileName" value= "http://www.domain.com/music/music.m3u ">
    <param name= "animationatStart" value= "true ">
    <param name= "transparentatStart" value= "true ">
    <param name= "autoStart" value= "true ">
    <param name= "showControls" value= "true ">
    <param name= "Volume" value= "-300 ">
    <embed type= "application/x-mplayer2" pluginspage= "http://www.microsoft.com/Windows/MediaPlayer/" src= "http://www.domain.com/music/music.m3u" name= "MediaPlayer1" width=280 height=46 autostart=1 showcontrols=1 volume=-300>
    </OBJECT>

    I do a section of my High School Web Site (Alumni Site) and I thought it would be fun to have a few of the old songs we grew up with in the 40's and 50's and have not heard in years posted to the web site for us old folks to hear another time or two.

    I noticed the code is using the full URL path to get to the MP3 files and that gave me some concerns because after the main home page the school web site requires a login and pass word and I wasn't sure if using the full URL path was going to work because the songs are being posted in the private part of the alumni web site just for our listening pleasure.

    Because of my concern, I started out by building me a setup on my personal web site to see if I could eliminate the URL path in the coding and possibly also elimate the Control Panel. Control Panels just confuse us old folks.

    I took just one song and I revised the coding to do just that and bingo I had a web page that would play with all the browsers from A to Z and that even included Netscape Version 4.76 which I still have on the computer.

    I already had 6 web pages for 6 songs on the school web site which I had used the embedded codes with and that only worked with IE.

    So, I revised those 6 web pages to use the revised coding from Nunzio's web site and then darn some songs played and some didn't.

    I had one stinking song that would play 5 words and stop. but then it finally went to working. The Mozilla browser would play 3 or 4 out of the 6 songs.

    Firefox played them all after the song "Our Town" quite hanging up.

    It's now 1:30AM and after about 7 hours of messing with it and it getting late with me tired I am not sure which of the browsers work and which don't.

    I didn't want to wait until I get the bugs all worked out to reply to your kind help.

    So, let it be known I am making progress and I will get back with you.

    After I had the one song play on all the browsers perfectly with no problems I got into revising the web pages and have not as yet looked into the Plugin side of the house.

    I have a test site on my personal web site and you can review what I been doing and how I set it up at www.raysmyth.net/music if you desire to do so.

    Take Note that some of the links on the bottom of the pages will not work because these are the pages from the school site that I am revising and working with to get the MP3 coding to work.

    You will also notice the pages tell you how the code was revised.

    Also be reminded that the coding from Nunzio's site which I showed above requires you to make a M3U file to go with each of the MP3 files which I did of course.

    I think I am pretty close to having the thing fixed. but, like I said it got late and I got tired.

    Being 72 is no fun so don't get old. AND Thank you both again.
     
  10. 2006/09/06
    The Old Chief Lifetime Subscription

    The Old Chief Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/03/09
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    6
    UPDATE - Still Up -- I went back and reviewd the plugin's and I did not have the Windows Media dll files installed in Firefox, Mozilla or Seamonkey so I copied them over from the Windows Media 9 Folder to the Plugin folder for each of the 3 browsers.

    All the Quick Time files were already in the plugin folders of each of the 3 subject browsers.

    Real Player is not allowed on my computer.

    ActiveX -- Not too familiar with this one but there is not a "apmozax.dll" on my computer - I do have an ActiveX folder somewhere down the line in the path of Adoba Reader program but, no file.

    With all the back and forths I did, I couldn't keep up with what was what. But, I have now gone back and here is the circumstances.

    All the browsers NS v7.02 - NS v4.76 - IE - AND Firefox will play all 6 songs at www.raysmyth.net/music

    Mozilla and Seamonkey will not play any of the six songs.

    However, if you will go to www.raysmyth.net/music/song.html which is the first TEST file I did you will find that both Mozilla and Seamonkey will play that song.

    I thought I was loosing it because I had said that bingo it worked with all browsers from A to Z and then later on it blew up and wasn't working.

    If you will look at the source code in "song.html" you will find it has the full URL path using the http:// set up and I am assumming that is what is making it play with Mozilla and Seamonkey.

    However, the first song "Our Town" in the 6 song menu has the same full URL path same as "song.html" does and they will not play that song.

    I don't quite understand the problem right now. I do know the "Our Town" song is very large, has around 7,000.000 bytes while the others run from 2 mil to 4 mil. Perhaps that is why at first it would only play a few words and stop.

    Bottom Line, "It's the Computer World" and ain't it fun.

    AND I am happy to learn I havn't totally lost it all yet because I no longer think anything blew up. All the browsers worked with the "song.html" but, then when I went to working on 6 songs none of the codings worked with Mozilla and Seamonkey

    Tomorrow, I will test them with some of the smaller song sizes and see what happens.

    Thanks again for all the help -- Ray
     
  11. 2006/09/06
    Westside

    Westside Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2003/03/30
    Messages:
    4,506
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ray,
    I did not test Firefox, as it worked for you, as I understand. The plugin for ActiveX is npmozax.dll, but it should be for the specific program. In my experience, I could not just copy the file from the NS7.0.2 plugins folder, and paste it in a late Mozilla, and make it work.
    I don't have any Mozilla, but I have three Seamonkeys, on my computer, all in different folders, and with different profiles. I tested the six song set, and, as I mentioned in my first reply, since I have the MediaPlayerConnectivity extention in all my programs, the songs, automatically opened WMP10, and played.
    I am not sure that the ActiveX plugin is even needed, or if the Windows Media Player files are needed in Firefox, which, presumably looks for the plugins files, but you must have the correct files in Mozilla and Seamonkey. I have a plus, in using the MPC extention, and, I prefer the sound in WMP anytime over an embedded player. For me the songs play fine.
     
  12. 2006/09/07
    The Old Chief Lifetime Subscription

    The Old Chief Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/03/09
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    6
    Mr. Westside, In regard to your last message as well as your first. I had not gotten around to doing anything about a MPC extension/plugin because I had been doing all the other things you and Ramona suggested I do.

    So happens, I too am a big fan of Winamp and been using a free version of it for several years but, never was really locked in on it.

    But, Man when they came out with version 5.111 last October they really nailed it so I purchased the full blown new version and now I never use anything but Winamp for playing my own audio files. Of course it also burns and converts music files, so I now tell everybody, "Go get Winamp. "

    A newer version of Winamp came out a few months back and I downloaded it but, at the time I was using my Windows 98 Hard Drive and after installing the new version, it would not play with 98.

    After not being able to use it with 98. I never bothered to install it on the XP H/D. Version 5.111 has been doing everything just fine so I figured why bother.

    With the above said, tonight I went and got the MPC file using the link you provided.

    Hate to tell you that I got the MPC installed and it now sort of loads Winamp upon arriving at a web page but, it will not play the web pages with the music.

    I have made some screen prints and ask if you don't mind to take a look at www.raysmyth.net/westside to see what I did. there are 5 screens or webpages showing the MPC file I downloaded and the install process I went through and the results I had.

    I don't guess I really have a problem. Most of my old classmates are probably using IE anyway and I don't plan on posting but, a few songs from our time period to the school web site just for the fun of it.

    However, if the coding I have been using works with most of the browser then why can't we make it work with Mozilla and Seamonkey especially since it does work with Netscape all the way back to version 4.76

    I would like to know which version of Winamp your using. Perhaps, I should try this newer version with my XP H/D.

    Well at any rate that is where I now stand with making web pages play MP3 files.

    Thanks for all the help -- Ray
     
  13. 2006/09/07
    Westside

    Westside Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2003/03/30
    Messages:
    4,506
    Likes Received:
    14
    The current version of Winamp is 5.24. I, also, bought the Pro version, and you should be able to get it, although you will need the registration key to get it to work in another OS.
    I like Winamp, because of the fact that I have been able to chuck Yahoo!Music from which I purchased some albums, but will not even let me play them, unless I purchase a membership. I had burned a CD of each, and was able to rip them, and burn another copy.
    I played the music which you had on your link, very interesting to look at the stories behind. I have set MPC to Windows Media files with Windows Media Player, and WMP, indeed, opens, and plays the files. I have not looked at the additional info, but that is the starting point. I am not even sure how well Winamp handles WMP files, but it may not work, if WMP is selected as default for those file types. I will take a look at your settings, to see if anything else is a problem, but I played the music with Windows Media checked, and to use:
    c:\Program files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe

    Ok. I checked the link, and, I see that the first song, one of my favorites, has these properties: http://www.raysmyth.net/music/songs/01-town.m3u. m3u are playlist files, which are selected to play with Winamp, but if I have WMP selected, WMP will play the song. Rechecking the website, I can see a black band of MPC, and if I close it, I uncover the embedded player, which is of the WMP type.
    If I uncheck WMP, the internal player will play.
     
    Last edited: 2006/09/07
  14. 2006/09/07
    Ramona

    Ramona Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2001/12/31
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    2
  15. 2006/09/07
    Westside

    Westside Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2003/03/30
    Messages:
    4,506
    Likes Received:
    14
    Unlike Rays' files, Ramona's test page plays in Winamp, but if I disable my MPC extention, it will open a Quicktime player. Ray's player is of the WMP persuasion.
     
  16. 2006/09/08
    The Old Chief Lifetime Subscription

    The Old Chief Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/03/09
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ramona and Westside --- In regards to each of your last two messages, I sure am confused, bewildered, messed up and tired.

    I just spent all last night rebuilding a new web page setup one song at a time and darned if I don't get some songs to play and some don't using the same code. In fact, the entire web page is the same except for the song name.

    I have approached this thing from every direction and then turned it over and done it again.

    I have two computers and my primary computer with XP SP2 and Seamonkey 1.0 will not play the test page Ramona provided at: http://home.att.net/~cherokee68/TEST.html

    However, I just learend my old computer with Win-98 SE and Seamonkey 1.0 on it will play the test page at: http://home.att.net/~cherokee68/TEST.html

    In my 19 years, 5 months of owning a PC I have never run across any thing like this when nothing is consistent. Usually it either works or it doesn't.

    I am about ready to go back to the old original embedded coding and if only IE can play the songs on my High School Web Site, so be it.

    This escapade sure has lowered my opinion of SeaMonkey and Mozilla.

    Why the Internet Browsers and the HTML coding can't have some standerdized coding is beyond me.

    Guess you can tell, I am quite frustrated. -- Ray

    PS: I have some other things to do so I have to drop this for now but, I will be back on it in a few days and take one more stab at it.
     
  17. 2006/09/08
    Ramona

    Ramona Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2001/12/31
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ray,

    The above should read: "This escapade sure has lowered my opinion of IE, as it does NOT use the W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) standard code, as do all Gecko browsers!

    Westside can play the MP3 on my TEST page, and he also runs Windows XP, but without SP2. I run Windows 98SE...

    P.S. An Article on this very subject:
    http://news.com.com/2100-1032-5088642.html
     
  18. 2006/09/09
    Westside

    Westside Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2003/03/30
    Messages:
    4,506
    Likes Received:
    14
    I have had SP2 for several months. I will double check my signature, but I think that it says so there.
     
  19. 2006/09/09
    Ramona

    Ramona Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2001/12/31
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oops! :eek: Sorry Westside, I'm so used to you saying that you don't have SP2, I failed to notice your signature!
     
  20. 2006/09/09
    Westside

    Westside Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2003/03/30
    Messages:
    4,506
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ramona,
    I hesitated for over one year, but, after I was assured that no implosion would take place, I proceed it to install it. But, basically,, I am overriding all the security stuff, which is of not much use outside IE.
    Probably, what made me download it, was theuprising of Zone Alarm, from which I recovered, but never used it again. The Windows Firewall worked fine, until I decided to go with Sygate.
     
  21. 2006/09/09
    The Old Chief Lifetime Subscription

    The Old Chief Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/03/09
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well, I'm suppose to be taking care of some other business but, I got back into this MP3 bit this afternoon and evening.

    Ramona, I could not say IE because there is no room for my opinion of Microsoft products to get any lower.

    I dislike any and all Microsoft Products. I use them only when there is no other convenient option. NUFF SAID!!

    Regarding the MP3 situation, I have over the last few days become confused because as I said I have approached this thing from all different directions and tried so many different things it all got to running together.

    Please remember since it is web pages for my high school web site, I am attempting to make the pages work with as many different browsers as possible.

    I decided this afternoon to make a new TEST site and use one song and test the different coding I was aware of which is only five. (Sort of)

    To make it easy, Each test page has the MP3 part of the coding showing on the page by changing the <-> brackets to (-) brackets.

    I then tested the coding with each browser and put the results on the bottom of the test page.

    The first two test pages have coding your provided in your first message and then there is 3 other test pages.

    The sixth page uses the same coding as does the TEST-2 page except I revised it to my desires.

    When you and Mr. Westside have time and if you like, you can go to www.raysmyth.net/test and review what I have done and see the results of the different borwsers on the bottom of each test page.

    All the browsers play TEST-2 except Seamonkey and even it does but, in a weird way caused by the Media Player Conectivity doo hickey I installed.

    My revised coding on the sixth page should not have effected some of the browsers as it did and I need to look into that further but, it appears the coding on the 2nd and 6th page comes closest to working with all browsers.

    Again Thanks for all the help --- Ray
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.