1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Mozilla Firefox (5) Shortcut?

Discussion in 'Firefox, Thunderbird & SeaMonkey' started by James Martin, 2016/10/24.

  1. 2016/10/24
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Most weird thing has appeared in my laptop's shortcut tray.

    My Mozilla Firefox tray shortcut is named Mozilla Firefox (5) if you hold the mouse over it. I've tried to rename it to just Mozilla Firefox in the properties box under the general tab, but if I do that, a message pops up and asks me if I want to rename the pinned shortcut to Mozilla Firefox (6).

    I tried unpinning the shortcut, and pinned a new one, but the name stays the same.

    I've included a screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 2016/10/25
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    You may have more than one Firefox shortcut pinned to the Taskbar and Windows may only be displaying one of them. Go to:
    YOUR-USER-FOLDER\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\Taskbar and see what's there. Try to rename the Firefox shortcut there by right clicking the icon & selecting Rename.

    Note: you must have Folder Options > View tab > Show hidden files enabled to see the AppData directory, or just paste this path into an Explorer window:
    Code:
    %AppData%\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\Taskbar
     
    James Martin likes this.

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/10/25
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,431
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Gee Whiz, mine shows the same!:eek:o_O "If it ain't broke" :cool: FF version 49.0.2 is working fine without any problems. Neil.
     
  5. 2016/10/25
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Firefox worked just fine, Neil, but I wondered if something was amiss - like more than one installation, or remnants of an old installation.
     
  6. 2016/10/25
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Here's what I found in the Taskbar folder...

    firefox issue.JPG

    I deleted the excess FF icons and left the correct one, but it doesn't show up in the tray. If I try to pin a new one to the task bar, it is listed as FF (2), and it a second icon is created in the Taskbar folder too. I'm a bit perplexed about this.
     
    Last edited: 2016/10/25
  7. 2016/10/26
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Check:
    Users\Default\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch
    also there may be a similar path in Users\All Users\........
     
  8. 2016/11/09
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Get back to you ASAP, Tony. I am waiting on a replacement screen.
     
  9. 2016/11/16
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    I had to re-create a Firefox shortcut in the folder you linked to,Tony, and it appears that all is well now. Thanks much. Never knew this folder existed before.
     

Share This Page