1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Microsoft Security Essentials vs Norton Internet Security

Discussion in 'Security and Privacy' started by IvanH, 2012/01/03.

1. 2012/01/03
    IvanH

IvanH Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Is it adequately safe to replace Norton Internet Security by Microsoft Security Essentials? What are the residual risks?

2. 2012/01/03
    MrBill

MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

I have been runnine MSE or 7 PC's since it came out. Love it. Wouldn't look back unless something happened bad. 4 of them the Grandkids get on and go any place any time they want. And the best part of it that I like is that it is FREE...

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2012/01/03
    IvanH

Thanks Mr Bill for your prompt response. I've been using Norton security products for over 10 years but in last two years I have been annoyed by their promotion, emails and ghostly popping up windows telling me the expiry dates are coming. When I clicked for "decide later ", it still continues bringing up a browser forcing me to renew. It's really, really disturbing.

Microsoft Security Essentials is free. I like it's free not just because of saving money, but also it gives me a peace of mind when I'm working on my computer. Enough is enough. That's why I am considering discontinue running a disturbing Norton product on my computer.

If Microsoft Security Essentials is mature enough, I'll just discontinue NIS when it expires. Any more experience to share?

5. 2012/01/03
    leushino

leushino Well-Known Member