1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Internet Explorer Has Stopped Working

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by lj50, 2017/07/06.

  1. 2017/07/06
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    I can't access Windowsbbs.com without getting Internet explorer has stopped working tried everything on google nothing seemed to work. even system restore stopped working I can access form my laptops but not my desktop(listed in my system specs). I can access using firefox. but not Internet Explorer 11. I'm baffled.
     
    lj50,
    #1
  2. 2017/07/06
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/07/06
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    I already went through google the only website i get the message on is Windowsbbs.com no problems with any other websites I'm on the the desktop now posting this using Firefox.
     
    lj50,
    #3
  5. 2017/07/06
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Sorry LJ. I don't use IE - been with Mozilla for years. ;) Neil.
     
  6. 2017/07/06
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    Do I understand correctly that IE does open but that you can't get anywhere with it? Do you by any chance have the COMODO Firewall (free) loaded? About a month ago I couldn't get IE to open at all and after getting a lot of help here I found out that deleting COMODO was the fix. That may not be your situation, though.
     
  7. 2017/07/07
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Do not have COMODO Firewall. The only website I am getting that message is with this website Windowsbbs.com. No problems accessing any other websites. The only way I can access Windowsbbs.com if I am using Firefox. As a last resort i tried to perform a system restore. That did not complete and I got an error code 0x0000043. I even had a tech from Norton uninstall Norton Internet Security with Backup using the removal tool. and still could not access Windowsbbs.com. We then went to about 20 different websites and could access them without any problem. We reinstalled Norton and could still access any website without any problems BUT Windowsbbs.com.
     
    lj50,
    #6
  8. 2017/07/07
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    If there any more suggestions please feel free to offer them. If not, I may have to resort to reinstalling the OS
     
    lj50,
    #7
  9. 2017/07/07
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    PM Arie?
     
  10. 2017/07/08
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    I can get on with my phone and laptops. It's just the desktop. There is nothing wrong with the website. It's something with the desktop that happened 2017-07-05 between 0800-1600Hrs.
     
    lj50,
    #9
  11. 2017/07/08
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Have you tried MBAM or Ccleaner? Have you run sfc /scannow?
     
  12. 2017/07/08
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Checked for malware=clean deleted local temp, windows temp, Internet temp, internet history, CCleaner, Disk clean up sfc /scannow(using cmd.exe) check disk without antivirus. I can't remember everything I found on google. Nothing worked. Tried System Restore but that failed to complete showing an error code 0x0000043. tried everything fix I could think of and even on google but nothing seemed to work.. I might have to bite the bullet and reinstall the OS. Unless you or anyone else can think of anything else.
     
    Last edited: 2017/07/08
  13. 2017/07/09
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    First thing I would check is to disable any/all add-ons in IE and see if that fixes the problem.
     
  14. 2017/07/10
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Arie it didn't I reinstalled the OS I was getting on Windowsbbs.com I had five or six updates left and one of them might be the culprit. Checked and can't seem to find which one it is. As I started getting the Internet Explorer has stopped working message. On the bottom Informational strip shows: A problem with the web page caused Internet Explorer to close and reopen the tab. Event Viewer Event ID: Error, Task Category (100), Level Error. Key Word: Classic. Faulty Application Path C:\Program Files(x86)Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE. Faulty module path C:\Windows\System32\MSHTML.dll. Tried looking for a fix couldn't find one. For right now I am access Windowsbbs.com using any of my three laptops and my phone which I rarely use to access the internet. As for the desktop I can only access Windowsbbs.com using Firefox.
     
  15. 2017/07/11
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    The culprit was KB4022168
     
  16. 2017/07/12
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    So far so good. Downloaded and installed KB4025341. It fixes the problem KB4022168 caused. Thanks to all who responded.
     

Share This Page