1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved IE has stopped working

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by BOBBO, 2017/05/22.

  1. 2017/05/22
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    When my wife tries to open Internet Explorer she gets an error message that IE has stopped working. In the probable details window she gets this:


    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: IEXPLORE.EXE
    Application Version: 11.0.9600.18666
    Application Timestamp: 58f30f27
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_0a9e
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
    Exception Code: 80000003
    Exception Offset: 003b0d06
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 0a9e
    Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    Additional Information 3: 0a9e
    Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

    Read our privacy statement online:
    Windows 7 Privacy Statement

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

    Her system is virtually the same as mine, so I'll include my specs in my signature. Any ideas what is causing IE to not open? Solution?
     
  2. 2017/05/22
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,713
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Usual cause? Malware. Secondary cause is usually a driver rolled back to an earlier version after a Windows Update, or some other Windows Update has fouled things. You could try a system restore to a point when all was working well.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/05/22
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    Thanks, TonyT, for replying. You changed the wording in your response, and I took your prior advice and opened a thread in the Malware forum about my wife's IE problem. I should have mentioned before, that prior to submitting my initial post I ran a Norton A-V scan and it came up clean. I hope I haven't messed things up by neglecting to mention that step. I should also have explained that this IE problem arose a couple weeks ago when my wife was on a trip, and at that time I advised her over the phone to do a Restore but there were no prior status dates to restore to. We tried to update IE, but since we couldn't open it we couldn't use it to get any IE updates. We restarted in Safe Mode with Internet Functionality, and IE opened then. But in normal mode IE still won't open. Does that give you anything more to work with?
     
  5. 2017/05/23
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,713
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Try safe mode with networking again > IE > Tools Menu > Manage addons > none will be active but view what's there. There may be one that's malicious or corrupted or unknown. Set to never load if find one.
     
  6. 2017/05/23
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    I'll do that ASAP, ToniT, but right now I have a malware (RogueKiller) scan results display on the screen that I ran last night for broni on the Malware forum and I'm reluctant to shut down that computer until broni responds.
     
  7. 2017/05/28
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    Tuesday of this past week I opened a thread in the Internet Explorer forum, asking why Internet Explorer in my wife's laptop wouldn't open. Here's the link to that:

    IE has stopped working

    I was then referred to the Malware forum and spent 5 days with broni working on cleaning that laptop of any possible malware. Here's the link to the first of 3 pages there:

    Active - Is malware making IE to stop working?

    My wife's laptop has been found to be clean of any malware, all programs have been updated and they all work except IE still won't open and I still get the error message that IE "failed to connect to a windows service." Why won't IE open? I sure would appreciate any help sorting the problem out.

    (My wife's laptop is set up virtually the same as my desktop, so for what use anyone might make of it I'll display the details of it in my signature below.)
     
  8. 2017/05/28
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Bill,
    #7
  9. 2017/05/28
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
  10. 2017/05/28
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    When I checked that out last Tuesday, I saw that doing the reset involves starting IE and then working from within it. The trouble is, I can't get IE to start. I didn't notice at the time that there may be a workaround if IE can't be started.

    And I did download and install a new version of IE, but it won't open any better than the previous installation did.

    Any idea what service the error message says can't be connected to?

    A lot has gone through my mind in the past week, but I vaguely recall one of the times I booted up in Safe Mode with Networking and I was able to get IE to open then. If that did happen, any significance to it? It may have been at that time that I disabled some add-ons.
     
  11. 2017/05/28
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Can you start it in some other user profile ?
     
  12. 2017/05/28
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    As far as I can tell, there is no other profile. My wife is the only regular user of that laptop. Occasionally I'll help her update something, but I do it within her profile. I wouldn't think anything done with an additional profile would do any good, because it's her profile that she uses and it's the one I'm hoping can be sorted out. Am I misunderstanding something?
     
  13. 2017/05/29
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    When I try to open IE, I get the IE has stopped working message and when I click on Details I get this:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: IEXPLORE.EXE
    Application Version: 11.0.9600.18666
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_0a9e

    There's more to it than that, but it won't let me copy and paste it, so I typed the parts I thought might be most useful.
     
    Last edited: 2017/05/29
  14. 2017/05/29
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Is your computer using ATI/AMD video ? A quick search threw up this as a possible culprit.
     
  15. 2017/05/29
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,916
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
  16. 2017/05/29
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    Not that I know of. How do I find out? I typed it into the Search bar and nothing showed up. Does that mean my wife is not using it?
     
  17. 2017/05/29
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    Arie: I did a Restart in Safe Mode but got an error that I wasn't connected to the Internet and I had to do a Restart in Safe Mode with Networking. IE opened then and worked OK. I then performed a clean boot and IE would not open, I got that same error message and the Details showed the same APPCRASH display. I tried to open SeaMonkey and it wouldn't open, either. I was able to open NAV but it wouldn't complete checking for updates. Malwarebytes also would open but not complete checking for updates.

    Should I perform the steps now to get back to having the laptop start up normally?
     
  18. 2017/05/29
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Open command prompt as Administrator & issue sfc/scannow command. Reboot after it's done & check again. Some system file could have been corrupted.
     
  19. 2017/05/29
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    Did as you suggested. The scannow ended with "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations." After a restart, got the "Failed to connect to a Windows service" message again. Tried to open IE, got the "Internet Explorer stopped working" error message again.

    When I did the restart, I noticed the log-off took a long time because it said,"Waiting for explorer.exe" What's odd about that is that IE had never opened. Significant?

    I just did another restart and again logging off had to wait for explorer.exe to close -- briefly this time, but I hadn't attempted to start IE. Is it running every time at boot-up?
     
    Last edited: 2017/05/30
  20. 2017/05/30
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Why don't you create a new user account (local) & see if the problem occurs there too. That would narrow down the problem.
     
  21. 2017/05/30
    BOBBO

    BOBBO Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    California
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate *sigh*
    OK, I created a new user account. IE still won't open and gives me that same "Internet Explorer has stopped working" warning and the same "APPCRASH" in View problem details. SeaMonkey opens OK. NAV and Malwarebytes both open and update OK.
     
    Last edited: 2017/05/30

Share This Page